Literature (in English): Long and Short Fiction

This guide covers all genres of American and British Literature

Need Help?

Ask us!

Reference Tools

The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction, 3 Volume Set by Brian W. Shaffer (general editor)
Call Number: Raynor Ref PR 881 .E48 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Check MARQCAT record for availability.
The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature by Robert Welch (Editor)
Call Number: PR 8706 .C66 2000
Location: Mem Level 5
Publication Date: 2000
Check MARQCAT record for availability. Abridged and updated edition.
The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature by Margaret Drabble; Jenny Stringer; Daniel Hahn (Eds.)
Call Number: PR19 .C65 2007
Location: Mem Level 4 lower
Publication Date: 2007
Check MARQCAT record for availability. 3rd ed.

Finding Long and Short Fiction

MARQCAT

use Title search and enter the title of a longer work, such as Great Expectations.
use Author search and enter the author's name, last name first, to discover both longer works collections in which the desired story might be included, such as Salinger, J. D.
use Word search and enter unique key words in the story's title, which may be found in the content notes or anthologies

The definitive source for locating short stories is Short Story Index, located in Raynor Reference PN 3373 .S47

Two online sources may contain the full text of desired stories:

Finding Critical Articles

Literature Online from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LION contains the full text of English and American poetry, drama, and prose from the Anglo-Saxon period through the twentieth century. Includes literary criticism, biography and reference sources.
Literary criticism includes ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, of scholarly books, articles, & reviews and the full text from 160 journals. Literary texts range from the seventh to the twentieth century. Journal full text covers from 1988 to the present.

Literature Online (LION) is the best and most important starting place for critical journal articles about fiction. LION includes the complete contents of MLA International Bibliography and Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) from 1926 to present. In addition to the complete indexes, links are provided to the full text of hundreds of journals.

From the LION home screen, click on "Criticism & Reference" in the left column; then select "Criticism" on the next screen; the resulting search screen will allow a combined search of MLAIB and ABELL.

If a citation doesn't provide a link to full text option, be sure to use the Findit@MU icon to search MARQCAT for journals, books, and chapters not included in LION.