Finding Plays
The first place to look for a play is MARQCAT, using a title search for the title of the play, such as Raisin in the Sun.
Second, do an author search in MARCAT, using the playwirght's name, last name first, to discover collections in which the desired play might be included, such as O'Neill, Eugene.
Two databases each contain thousands of plays in full text:
- Literature Online (LION); choose "Texts" in the left-hand navigation menu
- LitFinder
Inter-Play is an online index to plays in collected anthologies. Be aware that the call numbers refer to the index's producer, Portland State; note title or editor of the desired collection, then check MARQCAT for availability and Marquette's call number.
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections (Raynor Reference Desk PN 1655 .O88 1988) indexes collections published since 1900.
Handbooks and Guides
Finding Critical Articles
Literature Online (LION) is the best starting place for critical articles about plays and playwrights of all eras. See "More about LION" in the box at right.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full Text Articles and book chapters (full text) on all aspects of theatre and performance.
Web Sites for Drama
The Libraries' Research Guide for Performing Arts may also be helpful. Selected Internet sites include:
More about LION
Literature Online (LION) is the best and most important starting place for critical journals articles about all genres of literature. LION includes the complete contents of MLA International Bibliography and Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) from 1926 to present. In addition to the complete indexes, links are provided to the full text of hundreds of journals.
From the LION home screen, click on "Criticism & Reference" in the left column; then select "Criticism" on the next screen; the resulting search screen will allow a combined search of MLAIB and ABELL.
If a citation doesn't provide a link to full text option, be sure to use the Findit@MU icon to search MARQCAT for journals, books, and chapters not included in LION.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait