Current journal contents
ENGL 4830ENGL173ENGL255
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Literature (in English) 

This guide covers all genres of American and British Literature
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/literature  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Poetry             Print Page
  
 

Finding Poems

To find books of collected poetry in the library collection, use MARQCAT's subject headings, such as American Poetry, English Poetry, Haiku, Sonnets, etc. Collected works of a single poet will be found under author, such as Frost, Robert. The Browsing Collection on the 1st level of Raynor offers many collections of contemporary poetry.

Literature Online (LION) contains the complete text for tens of thousands of poems; begin with the "texts" search page. LION also contains over 800 audio/video clips of poems read by their authors or other poets: search the "Poets on Screen" page.

LitFinder includes the full text of over 125,000 poems.

Reference Books (help find poems in collections)

Columbia Granger's Index to African American Poetry, Rayor Reference PS 153 .N5C59 1999

Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected & Selected Works, Raynor Reference PN 1022 .C63 2004

Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies, Raynor Reference PN 1022 .G72 2002

Norton Anthology of Poetry, Raynor Ref PN 1174 .N6 1996

Oxford Book of American Poetry, Raynor Reference PS 583 .O82 2006

 

 

Poets.org RSS feed


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Finding Critical Articles (LION)

Literature Online (LION) is the best starting place for critical journal articles about poets, poetry, and specific poems. LION includes the complete contents of MLA International Bibliography and Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) from 1926 to present. In addition to the complete indexes, links are provided to the full text of hundreds of journals.

From the LION home screen, click on "Criticism & Reference" in the left column; then select "Criticism" on the next screen; the resulting search screen will allow a combined search of MLAIB and ABELL. 

If a citation doesn't provide a link to full text option, be sure to use the Findit@MU icon to search MARQCAT for journals, books, and chapters not included in LION.

 

Web Sites

  • The Academy of American Poets http://www.poets.org/
  • American Verse Project http://www.hti.umich.edu/a/amverse/
  • Bartleby.com: Verse http://www.bartleby.com/verse/
  • British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832 http://digital.lib.ucdavis.edu/projects/bwrp/
  • Electronic Poetry Center http://wings.buffalo.edu/epc/
  • EServer Poetry Collection http://poetry.eserver.org/
  • Favorite Poem Project http://www.favoritepoem.org
  • Internet Poetry Archive http://www.ibiblio.org/dykki/poetry/
  • Library of Congress: Poetry
  • Modern American Poetry http://www.english.uiuc.edu/maps/index.htm
  • PoemHunter http://www.poemhunter.com
  • The Poetry Archive http://www.poetryarchive.org
  • Poetry Archives http://www.emule.com/poetry/
  • Poetry.com http://www.poetry.com
  • Poetry Daily http://www.poems.com
  • Poetry Portal http://www.poetry-portal.com/styles.html
  • Poetry Society of America http://www.poetry-portal.com/styles.html
  • Poetry Tool http://www.poetryfoundation.org/archive/tool.poem.html
  • Representative Poetry Online http://rpo.library.utoronto.ca/display/index.cfm
  •  

    Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
    © 2008 Marquette University

    Description

      Loading content... please wait