What Does Primary Mean?
Primary literature refers to original texts, which may include various formats--diaries, newspaper articles, or sermons, for example. Search MARQCAT to discover the library's editions of a particular author. The library collections on this page are digital collections of primary works--books and newspapers --mostly from earlier centuries.
Bibliography
ESTC (English Short-Title Catalogue) via the British Library, listing works in English 1473-1800
Milton Bibliography (1624-1799) Component of ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900) Networked index available for in-library use only
Full text collections
Literature Online (LION) includes a fully-searchable library of more than 250,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. From the main screen's left-hand navigation bar, click on "Texts."
LitFinder offers the full text of more than 135,000 poems, stories, plays, and more.
Important Digital Collections
Connection to these collections is limited to Marquette users, who may connect from off campus according to these procedures.
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Over 1,000 titles form a comprehensive collection of early English news media.
- 19th Century Masterfile The core sources of this database are Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906) and Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1902).
- American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900)
- Early American Imprint Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 The full text of almost 40,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides from the early years of the Republic.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) Digital page images of every work published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North American from 1473-1700
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) More than 150,000 English and foreign-language digitized books published in the U.K. during the century. One category dedicated to literature contains the complete works of 28 prominent authors, such as Samual Johnson, Alexander Pope, and Jonathan Swift.
- Empire Online History of the British Empire through five centuries of primary documents.
- Everyday Life of Women in America c1820-1900 Digital collection of periodicals, books, pamphlets, and broadsides encapsulate 19th and early 20th century political, social, and gender issues.
- Periodicals Archive Online
- Women Writers Online Out-of-print and manuscript works by women 1400-1850
Primary Materials (Books and Journals, Public Domain)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait