Current journal contents
ENGL 4830ENGL173ENGL255
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Literature (in English) 

This guide covers all genres of American and British Literature
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/literature  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal Articles             Print Page
  
 

Why Articles?

Articles about literature, also called "criticism" or "secondary literature," appear in periodical publications called journals, which are generally published at regular intervals, e.g. monthly, quarterly, or annually.  Articles are good sources for:

  • most recent research on a topic
  • coverage of very narrow topics, such as one poem
  • understanding more about the author
  • getting an overview of critical reception of a work
 

E-Journals

The Libraries subscribe to hundreds of literature journals in digital format. To review e-journal holdings, check MARQCAT subject: English language and literature e-journals.

Check MARQCAT by the journal's title to connect to online issues and tables of contents. Many of the current e-journals will provide tables of contents by e-mail or RSS. See for example: Callaloo, Postmodern Culture, or Shakespeare Quarterly.

 

 
 

Current journal contents

To see selected tables of contents for literature journals, use the drop-down choice in this page's tab. Learn more about RSS feeds for journals of interest.

 

QuickSearch in Literature & Arts Journals

Quick Search in Literature & Arts Article Databases
for: 

 

 

Secondary (Journal) Articles

  • Literature Online (LION)  
      
    Use the "Criticism & Reference" link in the left bar. LION includes all citations in the Modern Language Assn. Int'l. Bibliography (MLAIB) and its British counterpart, ABELL, from 1920 to current. Full text of articles from over 230 journals.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index  
      
    Part of Web of Science; covers 1980 to present. Unique Cited Reference Search feature allows "forward" searching by locating articles that have cited an older document.
  • Academic Search Elite  
      
    Broad coverage of most disciplines from 1980s to present.
  • Book Review Index  
    1965 to present
  • Humanities Index International  
      
    Coverage of more than 1,700 journals; good for history and American Studies views of topics in literature.
  • Humanities in ProQuest  
      
    Popular magazine and scholarly journal articles on a wide range of arts and humanities topics, 1986 to present.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text  
      
    Covers literature topics among a wide array of humanities-related journals from the U.S., Africa, and the Caribbean, as far back as 1900.
  • New York Review of Books  
      
    Literary review of books and issues in American life, culture, and the arts; complete text and archive dating to 1963.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Full text backfile of over 400 key journals, including language and literature; complete database, topical segment, or individual journals are fully searchable.
  • Literary Reference Center  
    Comprehensive database on authors and their works from antiquity to the present. In addition to hundrends of fulltext journals, the database contains books, encyclopedias, and reference works.
  • Project MUSE  
      
    Coverage of hundreds of humanities journals, current content (dates vary, about 5years) only.
  • World Shakespeare Bibliography  
    Shakespeare-related scholarship from 1961 to present.
 

Getting the Articles

The Libraries subscribe to over 24,000 journals, most in electronic format. There are a variety of ways to find out if the Libraries subscribe to the journals you need.

If you already have the citation to an article:

  • Use MARQCAT. Search by Title and enter the title of the journal, NOT the title or author of the article.

If you are looking at citations from within a database:

  • Use the FindIt@MU icon in the citation you are interested in. This will open another window and do one of two things

    • Display a list of databases with links. This indicates the FindIt widget may have found a source for electronic copy of the article. Click on the link to determine if a full text option is located.
    • Displays only a link to MARQCAT. Click the MARQCAT link to search the catalog. The journal may be available in print or fulltext through a source not searchable by the FindIt widget.

If you do not find the journal using FindIt@MU or MARQCAT, request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

 
 

More about LION

Literature Online (LION) is the best and most important starting place for critical journals articles about all genres of literature. LION includes the complete contents of MLA International Bibliography and Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) from 1926 to present. In addition to the complete indexes, links are provided to the full text of hundreds of journals.

From the LION home screen, click on "Criticism & Reference" in the left column; then select "Criticism" on the next screen; the resulting search screen will allow a combined search of MLAIB and ABELL. 

If a citation doesn't provide a link to full text option, be sure to use the Findit@MU icon to search MARQCAT for journals, books, and chapters not included in LION.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a broad search of diverse scholarly literature--papers, theses, books, and articles, presented in a weighted relevancy ranking. Help with Google Scholar and Advanced Search Tips.


(search results open in a new window)
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait