Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Getting Started
Use the blue tabs above to discover various types of sources for doing research. This guide covers all the tools needed for research in literature, including finding original literary texts and finding criticism about literary works. Related research guides that may help you include:
If you need more help, please consult with the staff at the Information Desk or use the links and services in the Need Help? box at left.
Here are some generic starting points:
- Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics Thousands of comprehensive essays on major authors, periods and genres. The author companions place each writer in literary and historical context.
- Oxford Reference Online: Literature Companions to American and British literature, Shakespeare, Writers, and more
- Literary Research Guide (James Harner) Raynor Reference PR 83 .H34 2008
More reference tools
- Oxford English Dictionary Online Exhaustive historical dictionary of the English language. The 20-volume printed edition is available in Raynor Reference
- Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature
- Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- Oxford Companion to English Literature
- The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms also in Raynor Reference PN 41 .B32 2008
- Oxford Companion to American Literature
- Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English (via LION)
Subject Librarian |
Outreach Librarian
Raynor Memorial Libraries
414-288-5995
Send Email
Subjects:
Literatures in English
Literary Theory
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism; authoritative online handbook with articles on individual theorists, critics, and theoretical schools and movements. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism (via LION)
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory (Routledge, 2009) Raynor Ref PN 98 .W64E53 2009
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait