Literature (in English): ENGL 2710 Intro. to Fiction

This guide covers all genres of American and British Literature

Need Help?

Start Here for Articles

These are the top choices for secondary critical articles in literature. To find full text of articles not included in the database, be sure to check MARQCAT for the journal title.

MLA International Bibligraphy (MLAIB, via ProQuest) is the top choice for scholarly journal articles, covering more than 5,000 journals since 1925.

On results listing, items may be marked for easy printing or e-mailing.
Citations to essays/chapters in books, need to check book's title in MARQCAT.
note MLAIB does not include book reviews

Literary Reference Center Contains biography, interviews, book reviews, etc. for authors from antiquity to the present day.

Use tabs in result list to narrow to biography, criticism, interviews, periodicals.
Consider the quality of each citation; not all are scholarly journals.
May have more articles than MLAIB for recent books/authors.

Searching for Articles on Literary Contexts

Marquette's libraries offer hundreds of databases for conducting a literature search. Use the drop-down list of databases by discipline to discover most-used places to begin. Also, use the discipline's research guide for other starting points, such as handbooks, encyclopedias, and similar reference books.

These three are the largest multidisciplinary databases:

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Searches 7000+ journals and magazines across all disciplines, mostly full-text. Emphasis on scholarly journals. 1985 - present.
Nexis Uni from Lexis Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VPN Required for Off Campus Access.
If above link does not work when on campus on wireless, use this link
Full-text sources on current events, business, law, and medicine.
Formerly Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.
It includes regional, national, and international newspapers; magazines; wire services; business publications (trade journals, corporate annual reports, tax sources); legal resources (law reviews, court cases, briefs, federal and state codes); government documents; medical information (medical journals); and reference sources (directories, biographical information). Coverage varies by title; very good coverage from the early 1990s to present, with some coverage as early as the mid-1970s.
ProQuest Research Collections from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Guest Access
Searches full-text of 7000+ journals and magazines across disciplines. Includes general interest, news publications, and scholarly journals. Late 1980s - present.
Proquest Research Collections is made up of several Proquest collections: AltPress Watch, Genderwatch, ProQuest: Asian Business and Reference, Biology Journals, Computing, Criminal Justice Journals, Education Journals, European Business, Health and Medical Complete, Medical Library, Military Collection, Psychology Journals, Religion, Research Library, Science Journals, Social Science Journals, and Telecommunications.

Can't Find it Here?

Trouble finding a DVD or book? Try the Milwaukee Public Library (MPL) catalog, CountyCat. Marquette students may obtain borrowing privileges at MPL. Ask for more information at the Raynor Information Desk.

Also, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) can locate and obtain both articles and books at no charge to the student. Place requests online using the ILLiad service.