Literature (in English): ENGL 4361 Colonial Literature

This guide covers all genres of American and British Literature

Need Help?

Welcome

This guide supports English 4510: Colonial and Early American Literature to 1798. Other pages that may be helpful include: Citation Help, Literature Databases (Primary Sources), and Ask A Librarian.

Sources on this page are licensed subscriptions limited to the Marquette community. Students may access these resources from off-campus locations by following login procedures here.

Primary Source Collections

Black Thought and Culture from Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Full-text books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the African-American community from the earliest times to the present.
Covers: black nationalism, miscegenation, the black athlete, civil rights, apartheid, the Black Panther party, the Negritude movement, the NAACP, birth control, the vote, urban ghettos vs. the rural South, strategies of protest and demonstration, etc.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 from Adam Matthew Pubs This link opens in a new window
Database of primary sources, mostly from Great Britain. Primarily "advice literature," also includes essays by contemporary scholars. 1450-1910.
Defining Gender includes indexing that directs researchers to larger holdings of similar literature available on microform.
Early American Imprint Series 1: Evans, 1639-1800 from Readex This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of publications, excluding journals and newspapers, produced in colonial America and the early republic. 1639-1800.
Also known as the "Evans Bibliography."
Early English Books Online (EEBO) from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in English, 1473-1700.
The collection contains over 100,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). A wealth of subject areas includes English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. The Basic search mode allows searching using a combination of the following fields: keywords, author, title, subject, bibliographic number (from the short-title catalogues), or date. More about EEBO.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) from Gale This link opens in a new window
An electronic edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world’s largest collection of microfilmed printed books. See also: Artemis Primary Sources.
The collection contains works and literature in seven broad categories: history and geography; social sciences and fine arts; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; reference works; and law. Covers more than 180,000 English and foreign-language works published in the U.K., along with thousands of important works from the Americas. With works from both major and minor authors of the period, this digitized collection of books, broadsides, sermons, pamphlets, bibles, and other rare materials offers researchers access to over 33 millions pages of text from the British Library and 1,500 libraries worldwide. Included in this resource are the complete works of 28 prominent eighteenth-century authors, such as Benjamin Franklin, Samuel Johnson, Thomas Paine, Alexander Pope, Adam Smith, Jonathan Swift, and John Wesley. The database features full text searching, plus search and browsing capabilities via keyword, general subject area, title, author, language, date, and more.

Empire Online from Adam Matthew
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the British Empire over five centuries by reproducing digital copies of primary documents. Documents are organized under five themes-Cultural Contacts, c. 1492-1969; Empire Writing &the Literature of Empire; the Visible Empire; Religion &Empire; and Race, Class &Colonialism, c. 1783-1969.
Gerritsen Collection from ProQuest
Books, pamphlets and periodicals documenting the evolution of feminism and the women's rights movement throughout the world.

Sabin Americana 1500-1926 from Gale This link opens in a new window
Online, full-text of books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents about the Americas. A standard source that includes some items in languages other than English. 1500-1926. See also: Artemis Primary Sources
Part of Artemis Primary Sources.

Historic Newspapers and Magazines

American Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches digitized images/text of American periodicals from 1740 to 1940. Coverage varies by title.
From the Center for Research Libraries. Full description here. Highlights:
  –  89 journals published between 1740 and 1800
  –  Many titles from the first half of the 19th century (including more than 20 women's magazines)
  –  118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras
  –  Trade magazines from the 19th and early 20th centuries
America's Historical Newspapers from Readex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.
Available here: Series 1: 1690-1876 and Series 3: 1829-1922.

17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers from Gale
Provides searchable full-text of early English-language news media for the period 1600-1800. The Learning Center contains more information about this collection.
more...less...
See Learning Center for more information.
Eighteenth Century Journals from Adam Matthew
Online, full-text database of 18th-century newspapers and periodicals published largely in Great Britain.