Need Help?
IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation
Stop by In-person:
Service Hours
Getting Started
Use the blue tabs above to discover various types of sources for doing research. This guide covers all the tools needed for research in literature, including finding original literary texts and finding criticism about literary works. Related research guides that may help you include:
If you need more help, please consult with the staff at the Information Desk or use the links and services in the Need Help? box at left.
Here are some generic starting points:
- Cambridge Companions to Literature and ClassicsThousands of comprehensive essays on major authors, periods and genres. The author companions place each writer in literary and historical context.
- Oxford Reference Online: LiteratureCompanions to American and British literature, Shakespeare, Writers, and more
- Literary Research Guide (James Harner) View MARQCAT RecordRaynor Reference PR 83 .H34 2008
Also available online; link from MARQCAT
More reference tools
- The Cambridge History of Postcolonial LiteratureLocated in Raynor Reference PN56 .C63C363 2011 (2 v.)
View MARQCAT Record - Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature
- Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature
- A Dictionary of Literary SymbolsAlso available in Memorial Level 4 Lower PN56.S9 F47 1999.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature 1900-2003Also available in Raynor Reference PQ7081.A1 E558 2004.
- Encyclopedia of Medieval LiteratureAlso in Raynor Reference PN669.E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English (via LION)
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- Oxford Companion to American Literature
- Oxford Companion to English Literature (2009)
- The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Termsalso in Raynor Reference PN 41 .B32 2008
- Oxford English Dictionary OnlineExhaustive historical dictionary of the English language. The 20-volume printed edition is available in Raynor Reference
- Encyclopedia of Literary Romanticism (Facts on File, 2010)
- Literary Research and the Victorian and Edwardian Ages, 1830-1910: Strategies and Sources (Scarecrow Press, 2011)PR461 .V35 2011
View MARQCAT Record - Literary Research and the British Renaissance and Early Modern Period: Strategies and Sources (Scarecrow Press, 2010)PR421 .B68 2010
View MARQCAT Record
Literary Theory
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism; authoritative online handbook with articles on individual theorists, critics, and theoretical schools and movements. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism (via LION)
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory (Routledge, 2009) Raynor Ref PN 98 .W64E53 2009 View MARQCAT Record
Critical Terms for Literary Study (online content) Also available in Memorial Library Level 4 Lower PN81.C84 1995. View MARQCAT Record
Encyclopeida of Literary and Cultural Theory (3 vols in Raynor Reference) View MARQCAT record
Postcolonialism: A Guide for the Perplexed (Continuum, 2011) View MARQCAT Record
Literary Theory: A Guide for the Perplexed (Continuum, 2006) View MARQCAT record

Loading...
