Current Journal Contents
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Language and Linguistics  Tags: language linguistics  

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/language  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles            Print Page
  
 

Why Articles?

Articles appear in periodical publications called journals, which are generally published at regular intervals, e.g. monthly, quarterly, or annually.  Articles are good sources for:

  • most recent research on a topic
  • coverage of very narrow topics and research reports

 Use the drop-down choice in this ("Find Journal Articles") tab to see selected journal tables of contents.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a broad search of diverse scholarly literature--papers, theses, books, and articles, presented in a weighted relevancy ranking. Help with Google Scholar and Advanced Search Tips.


(search results open in a new window)
 

Primary Article Databases

All library databases are available to MU users both on or off-campus. For questions aabout access or VPN see Access From Home.

  • Literature Online (LION)  
      
    LION contains the full text of the most important langugage and linguistics databases: MLA International Bibliography and ABELL--Annual Bibliography of Language and Literature
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete  
    Coverage includes several hundren international journals of language and linguistics
  • Linguistic Bibliography Online (1993--)  
    Covers books and articles in both theoretical and descriptive linquistics, including the interdisciplinary fields of psychology, sociology, anthropology, philosophy, and computer science.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Search (ISI)  
    Part of ISI's huge Web of Science, this database provides article bibliographies and useful linking to citing articles.
 

Secondary Article Databases

Use the following to find language- and linguistics-related articles in related subject fields:

Business:   ABI-Inform

Education:   ERIC

Sociology and Intercultural Communication:  Sociological Abstracts

Medicine: Medline (via OVID)  Medline (via PubMed)

Psychology and psycholinguistics:  PsycINFO

For broadest interdisciplinary journal coverage: ProQuest Research Library

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait