Style & Usage
For more suggestions, see also the Research Guide for Writing & Citing
- Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style (online)
- Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar (online)
- Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in English
- Oxford Dictionary of Idioms (online)
- The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English Raynor Ref. PE3721 .P323 2009
- Garner's Modern American Usage Raynor Ref PE 2827 .G37 2009
Dissertations
Doctoral dissertations may be a useful source for research topics not covered in books. All dissertations written at Marquette are available in full text; search MARQCAT using the author, if known, or the subject: English--dissertations.
For a search of international dissertations, including extensive full text of American dissertations, use Dissertations and Theses. If the full text is not available online, request a copy at no charge via Interlibrary Loan.
MARQCAT
MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries' catalog, lists books in print or digital format, as well as DVDs, videos, and databases the library owns. Enter search terms in this box or try some of the suggested subject terms below.
- Bilingualism
- Body Language
- Code Switching (linguistics)
- Corpora (linguistics)
- English Language--Discourse analysis
- English language--History
- English Language--Syntax
- English Language--Study and Teaching--Foreign Speakers
- Intercultural Communication
- Language Acquisition
- Language and Languages--Variation
- Language and Sex
- Nonverbal communication
- Second Language Acquisition
- Sexism in Language
To retrieve a list of e-books in the Libraries, use MARQCAT's subject search, English language and literature - e-books.
To discover books recently (last month) added to the collection, use MARQCAT's "Browse New Titles" feature, and the subject, "English."
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait