Current Journal Contents
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Language and Linguistics  Tags: language linguistics  

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/language  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Start Here            Print Page
  

Quick Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

24/7 Live Help

Research Consultation

 

Getting Started

This guide suggests resources for the study of language. This page lists primarily reference books; use the blue tabs above for different types of sources.

Related Research Guides that may be useful include: Dictionaries and Thesauri

 

General Handbooks and Atlases

 

Classification and Index of the World's Languages Raynor, by C. F. Voegelin. Raynor Ref. P 203 .V6

Concise Encyclopedia of Languages of the World, ed. Keith Brown. Raynor Ref P29 .C636 2009

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics (online)

A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics, by David Crystal. Raynor Ref. P29 .C65 2008

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (2d ed., online), ed. Keith Brown. Comprehensive and international in scope. 

Encyclopedia of Semiotics (online via Oxford)

Ethnologue; Languages of the World, ed. Barbara F. Grimes (2 vols +CD-ROM) Raynor Ref. P 371 .E83 2000

Handbook of International and Intercultural Communication, Memorial Level 4 Lower P94.6 .H36 2002

Handbook of Language and Gender, Memorial Level 4 Lower P120 .S48H36 2003

International Encyclopedia of Communication (12 vols) Raynor Ref. P 87 .I49 2008

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (online via Oxford) 4 vols. also in Raynor Ref. P29 .I58 2003

World Atlas of Language Structures, by Martin Haspelmath et al. (1 vol + CD-ROM) Raynor Ref. P 143 .W67 2005

 

 

English Language Handbooks and Atlases

An Analytic Dictionary or English Etymology: An Introduction, by Anatoly Lieberman.  Raynor Ref. PE 1580 .L53 2008

Atlas of North American English: Phonetics, Phonology, and Sound Change, a Multimedia Reference Tool, by William Labov  (1 vol + CD-ROM) Raynor Ref. PE 2808 .L26 2006

Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language (online)

Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology (online)

Dictionary of American Regional English (4 vols, incomplete) Raynor Ref. PE 2843 .D52 1985--

Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed., 20 vols in Raynor Ref PE 1625 .O87 1989 Also available online 

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageSusan Hopwood
Contact Info:
Outreach Librarian
Raynor Memorial Libraries
414-288-5995
Send Email

Subjects:
Literatures in English

 

OED Word of the Day


Loading RSS Feed...
 

A.Word.A.Day


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait