Evaluating Websites
Depending on the purpose of your paper you may use on-line web sources. By applying these five criteria you can decide if they are sources to use. Ask yourself the following questions:
- Authority
Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified?
Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor? - Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy
Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain or persuade)
Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view?
Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience? - Coverage
Are the topics covered by the site clear?
Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose?
Is sufficient evidence provides to support the ideas and options presented? - Accuracy
Are the sources of information stated?
Do the facts appear to be accurate?
Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field? - Currency
Are the dates included in the website?
Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's purpose? For you purpose?
Criteria list taken in whole from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.
Where to Start
The Internet is filled with an enormous quality of information and here are some tips for you to find what you need within the World Wide Web. Remember, search engines only index a small part of the world wide web. To find more results search in a variety of sources.
Broad Subject
- Try an encyclopedia or similar reference site
Recommended Encyclopedias
Recommended Dictionaries
General Subject Area
- Use a targeted search engine
Recommended Search Engines
Well-Known Specific Subject
- Try a Directory
Recommended Web Directories
Recommended Database Directories
Very specific and Unusual Subject
- Try a General Search Engine
Recommended Meta-search Engines
Research Paper and Substantial Information from Several Sources
- Use a combination of several search engines, directories and other tools
Selected Internet Sources for Performing Arts
Google Tips & Tricks
- Use the Advanced feature of Google to be more specific in your search
- Type "intitle:" to search only page titles.. Try intitle:digital divide (no space!)
- Type "inurl:" to search only the web address of a page. Try inurl:raynor
- Type "related:" to find pages that Google thinks are related in content. Try related:www.marquette.edu/library
- Type "search tips site:" to specify a site to search within. Try search tips site:www.usps.com international shipping
- Access Google Directory at directory.google.com
- Type "site:" to return results from a specfic domain. Try site:.org library
- Type "intext" in Google News to pull terms from the body of the story
- Type "define:" to access the built-in dictionary
- No Calculator handy? Type 12*78 and hitting search will give you the answer
- The calculator also converts measurements and currency. Try 200 pounds in euros
- Type weather and a location or zipcode to get a four day forecast.
- By attaching a postcode at the end of your search will give you results for your inquiry
- Type time and a name of place to find the time anywhere in the world
- Enter a statistics-based query like "population of Britain" and it will show you the answer on top of the results
- You can search foreign sites by clicking "language tools" on the right of the search box which allows you to choose what countries sites to translate your query to.
Internet Search Tips
Try these to get more specific or broader results
Wild Card
- Use a * to include forms or variants of words in your search
- Example: type test* to search for test, testing, tests
Adding a ~
- Adding a tilde (~) to your search term will return related terms.
- Example: ~nutrition will search also nutrition, food and health
Adding a -
- Adding a negative (-) to your search term will take away that term in your search.
- Example: Pets -cats will not find web sites that focus upon cats as pets.
Phase Search
- By inserting quotes around an exact phase, you will search only the words you type in, in that exact order with no words in between term.
- Example: "consumer product chemistry"
Boolean Operators
- Using AND, OR, NOT can broaden or narrow a search depending on your inquiry. "AND" will give you results that contain both words. "OR" will give results about either word and "NOT" will not search the term preceding.
- Example: Summer AND Flower, Summer OR Flower, Summer NOT flower
Subject Librarian |
Nia Schudson, Associate Librarian
Research and Instructional Services
Send Email
Subjects:
performing arts, physics, women's studies
Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait