Anatomy & Physiology
- Actin Myosin Crossbridge 3D Animation San Diego State U.
- American Society for Gravitational and Space Biology Indiana State U.
- Anatomy Atlases Curated by Ronald A. Bergman, Ph.D.
- AnatQuest
National Library of Medicine
Visible Human Project - Basic Neural Processes Tutorials Hanover
- Digital Anatomist Project Interactive
Atlases Department of Biological Structure, U. of Washington, Seattle
Brain, thoracic organs and knee - The eSkeletons Project
Includes human, gorilla and baboon skeletons as well as glossary and self-test. - Histology
Loyola U. of Medical Education Network (LUMEN)
Slides of human tissue with descriptive text - Human Embryology
Animations Dr. Valerie O'Loughlin, Indiana U.
Includes pre- and post-tests for the embryology of several systems. - Hypermuscle: Muscles in
Action U. of Michigan
Multimedia demos of muscle movements (adduction, extension, etc.) - NPAC/OLDA Visible Human Project Viewer Syracuse U. and U. of Adelaide (Australia)
- Net Anatomy
- Skull Anatomy Tutorial Gateway Community College, Arizona
Immunology
- Cancer Immunology Cancer Research Institute
- Microbiology and Immunology On-line U. of S. Carolina School of Medicine
- The
Immune System National Cancer Institute
Slides and text; part of the Understanding Cancer series
Pathology
- The Museum of Human
Disease School of Pathology, U. of New South Wales, Australia
Images of 24 diseased tissues with point-and-click descriptions, histories, and comments - The Urbana Atlas of Pathology U. of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign
- WebPath: The Internet Pathology
Laboratory for Medical Education
Contains images, text, tutorials and more. - Your Genes, Your Health: A Multimedia
Guide to Genetic Disorders Dolan DNA Learning Center, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
*requires Flash Player and QuickTime Player
Google Tips & Tricks
- Use the Advanced feature of Google to be more specific in your search
- Type "intitle:" to search only page titles.. Try intitle:digital divide (no space!)
- Type "inurl:" to search only the web address of a page. Try inurl:raynor
- Type "related:" to find pages that Google thinks are related in content. Try related:www.marquette.edu/library
- Type "search tips site:" to specify a site to search within. Try search tips site:www.usps.com international shipping
- Access Google Directory at directory.google.com
- Type "site:" to return results from a specfic domain. Try site:.org library
- Type "intext" in Google News to pull terms from the body of the story
- Type "define:" to access the built-in dictionary
- No Calculator handy? Type 12*78 and hitting search will give you the answer
- The calculator also converts measurements and currency. Try 200 pounds in euros
- Type weather and a location or zipcode to get a four day forecast.
- By attaching a postcode at the end of your search will give you results for your inquiry
- Type time and a name of place to find the time anywhere in the world
- Enter a statistics-based query like "population of Britain" and it will show you the answer on top of the results
- You can search foreign sites by clicking "language tools" on the right of the search box which allows you to choose what countries sites to translate your query to.
Neuroscience
- Allen Brain Atlas
- Atlases of the Brain U. of Utah
- Brain Facts: A Primer on the Brain and Nervous System Society for Neuroscience
- Basic Neural Processes Tutorials Hanover College
- Brain Architecture
Management System USC
BAMS is a resource for information about neural circuitry. It contains neuroanatomical nomenclatures for the rat, human, macaque, cat, and mouse. - Brain Facts: A Primer
on the Brain and Nervous System Society for Neuroscience
64-page booklet in PDF - Brain Facts and Figures
Average measures of the nervous system and its blood supply as well as sensory apparatus - Brain Info U. of Washington
- Brain Maps.org Center for Neuroscience, UC Davis
- Comparative Mammalian Brain Collections
- Dictionary of Cognitive Science U. of Alberta
- Edinburgh Mouse Atlas Project (EMAP)
Embryonic development of the mouse brain - Electronic Atlas of the Developing Human Brain (EADHP)
- High Resolution Mouse Brain Atlas Harvard
- Integrative Neurosciences Research Center Marquette U.
- Internet Handbook of Neurology Compiled by Katalin Hegedüs, MD, PhD
- Mouse Brain Library
Includes high-resolution images and databases of brains from many genetically characterized strains of mice - Neuroanatomy & Neuropathology on the
Internet Department of Neurology, University Medical School, Hungary
Links to many university resources - Neuroanatomy Interactive Syllabus Department of Biological Structure, U. of Washington, Seattle
- Neuroscience Database Gateway Society for Neuroscience
- Neuroscience Education Eric
H. Chudler, PhD, U. of Washington
Extensive list of links in all areas of neuroscience - Neuroscience Tutorial Washington U. School
of Medicine
Created for first-year medical students by Diana Weedman Molavi, PhD - Neurosciences on the Internet Neil M. Busis, M.D.
- The Whole Brain Atlas Harvard
Nutrition
- Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2005 U. S. Depts. of Agriculture & Health and Human Services
- Food and Nutrition Information Center National
Agricultural Library, USDA
Information on many levels, for consumers through health professionals - My.Pyramid.gov
Newest food pyramid with 12 categories taking into account gender, age and activity level - Nutrition.gov
Internet Search Tips
Try these to get more specific or broader results
Wild Card
- Use a * to include forms or variants of words in your search
- Example: type test* to search for test, testing, tests
Adding a ~
- Adding a tilde (~) to your search term will return related terms.
- Example: ~nutrition will search also nutrition, food and health
Adding a -
- Adding a negative (-) to your search term will take away that term in your search.
- Example: Pets -cats will not find web sites that focus upon cats as pets.
Phase Search
- By inserting quotes around an exact phase, you will search only the words you type in, in that exact order with no words in between term.
- Example: "consumer product chemistry"
Boolean Operators
- Using AND, OR, NOT can broaden or narrow a search depending on your inquiry. "AND" will give you results that contain both words. "OR" will give results about either word and "NOT" will not search the term preceding.
- Example: Summer AND Flower, Summer OR Flower, Summer NOT flower
Evaluating Websites
Depending on the purpose of your paper and your professor's guidelines, you may use online web sources. By applying these five criteria you can decide if they are appropriate for an assignement. Ask yourself the following questions:
- Authority
Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified?
Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor? - Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy
Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain or persuade)
Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view?
Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience? - Coverage
Are the topics covered by the site clear?
Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose?
Is sufficient evidence provides to support the ideas and options presented? - Accuracy
Are the sources of information stated?
Do the facts appear to be accurate?
Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field? - Currency
Are the dates included in the website?
Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's purpose? For you purpose?
Criteria list taken in whole from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.
Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait