Why background?
Background sources are encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc. that provide summary and factual information. These sources contain what is generally considered well established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding on which to build. Background sources can:
- summarize basic concepts and viewpoints
- provide historical context and relationships with other topics
- identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
- provide data, facts, formulas, etc. to support your research
Need Help?
IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation
Stop by In-person:
Service Hours
Encyclopedias
The Oxford Companion to the Body
Call Number: Reference QM7 .O96 2001
Provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them.
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine
Call Number: Reference R121 .O88 2001
All the major medical and nursing specialties are covered, and detailed attention is given to complementary therapies, national medical systems, and the historical development of medicine.
Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior Management, 2 vol.
Call Number: Reference R726.5 .E53 2004
Covers such topics as adherence to a doctors advice, emotions and health, obesity treatment and prevention, women's health, chronic pain management, stress, and social support.
Encyclopedia of Human Development, 3 vol.
Call Number: Reference HM626 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, 4 vol.
Call Number: Reference QP141 .E526 2005
Dictionaries
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Call Number: Reference R121.T18
Cyclopedic means that the entries are much longer. Includes Patient Care sections and dozens of appendices.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Call Number: Reference R121 .D73 2007
The 31st edition of this classic reference has more than 124,000 entries and over 1500 images--a third of which are in color.
Concise Medical Dictionary, 6th ed.
The entries are clearly laid out and jargon-free, making this book both accessible and informative. Over 10,000 clear and concise entries cover all major medical and surgical specialties.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution - Larry L. Mai, Marcus Young Owl & M. Patricia Kersting
Call Number: Reference QP34.5 .M24 2005
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing - 5th ed.
Call Number: Reference R121 .S8 2005
The fifth edition of this popular medical dictionary is thoroughly updated with more than 51,000 entries, featuring more of the medical terminology used in more than 30 of todays fastest growing health profession areas. Includes a bonus CD-ROM that contains all the features of the print edition.
Atlases
Atlas of Human Anatomy - Frank Netter
Call Number: Reference QM25 .N46 2006
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy
Call Number: Reference QM25 .G7 2009
McMinn's Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy - includes DVD
Call Number: Reference QM25 .M23 2008
Color Atlas of Physiology, 5th ed.
Call Number: Reference QP34.5 .S5313 2003
Human Body on File: Physiology
Call Number: Reference QP41 .H93 1996
The Brain Atlas: A Visual Guide to the Human Central Nervous System
Call Number: Reference QM455 .B633 2003
Color Atlas of Histology
Call Number: Reference QM557 .G38 2006
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait