Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Biological Sciences  Tags: biology neurosciences genetics molecular_biology microbiology  

Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/biological_sciences  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web Sites             Print Page
  
 

Cell Biology

CELLS alive!
Brief introductions to many cellular topics, often with links for more information and keyword recommendations for searching
The Eukaryotic Cell Cycle and the Genetics of Cancer North Dakota State U.
Mitosis World U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Includes movies
Virtual Plant Cell U. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

 

Developmental Biology

Bill Wasserman's Developmental Biology Page Loyola U. Chicago
Virtual Embryo U. of Calgary (Canada)
Scroll down and click on Dynamic Development to reach educational modules to help you study
emap: Edinburgh Mouse Atlas Project
Includes diagrams & complete descriptions of the anatomical components at each Theiler stage. Goal: to standardize embryonic anatomical nomenclature for the mouse
Dynamics of Development UW-Madison
Embryology tutorials for Zebrafish, Amphibian & Sea Urchin

 

Genetics & Genomics

1-2-3 Genomics: a Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics Knowledge Base
Links to freely available internet resources organized into categories

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR)
CDC Office of Genomics and Disease Prevention

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

Cytogenetics Gallery U. of Washington, Seattle

DOEgenomes.org US Dept of Energy

Dolan DNA Learning Center, Cold Spring Harbor Lab
Illustrates basic concepts of genetics using multimedia presentations including:

DNA from the Beginning: An animated primer on the basics of DNA, genes, and heredity

DNA Interactive - describes the discovery of the structure of DNA

Your Genes, Your Health: A Multimedia Guide to Genetic Disorders

FlyBase: A Database of the Drosophila Genome Indiana U., in conjunction with the Berkeley and European Drosophila Genome Projects
Functional Genomics Science

Genetic Science Learning Center U. of Utah
Genetics - Scitable Nature
A free online educational resource for undergraduate biology studnets and educators

Genetics Education Center U. of Kansas Medical Center
Provides resources on human genetics and the human genome project for the non-expert

Genomics and Its Impact on Science and Society: The Human Genome Project and Beyond DOE
An introduction to basic genetics and biocomputing for the nonspecialist; includes a glossary

GOLD: Genomics OnLine Database
Largest available and most detailed monitoring of genome sequencing projects, both compete and ongoing

GROW - Genetic Resources On the Web
A search engine for a collection of evaluated web sites

Human Chromosome Launchpad Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Provides information about each chromosome

The Human Genome Resources National Center for Biotechnology Information

A Hypermedia Glossary of Genetic Terms

The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR)

Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes (KEGG)

Mouse Genome Informatics (MGI)
Includes the Mouse Genome Database, the Gene Expression Database, and the Encyclopedia of the Mouse Genome

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Entry point for Entrez, BLAST, OMIM, taxonomy & structural databases

National Center for Genome Resources

National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI)
Includes a glossary of genetic terms

 

General

actionbioscience.org Seven bioscience challenges
BIODIC: The Ultrastructure Website Free U. of Brussels
Contains scanning electron microscope images of cells, tissue, etc. from many organisms
Biology at the National Academies
Biology Links Harvard's Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology
BioTech's Life Science Dictionary
Glossary U. of California Museum of Paleontology
Includes Phylogenetics, Geology, Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Ecology, Life History, Zoology, Botany, and Paleogeography
Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Glossary of Biotechnology Terms
Kimball's Biology Pages John W. Kimball, PhD
Online biology textbook and glossary
Model Organisms for Biomedical Research National Institutes of Health
Women in Biology Dr. S. L. Forsburg of The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

 
 

Microbiology

All the Virology on the WWW
Includes the Big Picture Book of Viruses and Virology Courseware

Bacterial Infections and Mycoses Karolinska Institute, Sweden
Extensive list of links arranged by infectious agent

ICTVdB: The Universal Virus Database of the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses
Includes a Picture Gallery

List of Prokaryotic Names with Standing in Nomenclature Society for Systematic and Veterinary Bacteriology
MicrobeWorld American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
Microbes.info: The Microbiology Information Portal Maintained by Al Chan, Ph.D.
Includes many areas of microbiology. Features current news articles and hot topics.

World Data Centre for Microorganisms (WDCM)
A comprehensive directory of culture collections, databases on microbes and cell lines

 

Molecular Biology

BioHunt: Molecular Biology Finder
Searchable database automatically created by the "Marvin" molecular biology sites retrieval robot
Center for Molecular Modeling National Institutes of Health
Provides links to services that give 3-D views of molecules
Computational Molecular Biology at the National Institutes of Health
Major sequence- and text-based databases, analytical tools, lab protocols, and reference sources in molecular biology
European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)
ExPASy Proteomics Server Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics
ExPASy=Expert Protein Analysis System
Glossary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Online version of a 1997 print resource
Library of 3-D Molecular Structures NYU
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Entry point for Entrez, BLAST, OMIM, taxonomy & structural databases
Protein Explorer Eric Martz, PhD, U. of Massachusetts
3D images of molecules, includes
Atlas of MacromoleculesThe tmRNA Website Indiana U.
Yale's Center for Structural Biology Dept. of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry

 

Google Tips & Tricks

  1. Use the Advanced feature of Google to be more specific in your search
  2. Type "intitle:" to search only page titles.. Try intitle:digital divide (no space!)
  3. Type "inurl:" to search only the web address of a page. Try inurl:raynor
  4. Type "related:" to find pages that Google thinks are related in content. Try related:www.marquette.edu/library
  5. Type "search tips site:" to specify a site to search within. Try search tips site:www.usps.com international shipping
  6. Access Google Directory at directory.google.com
  7. Type "site:" to return results from a specfic domain. Try site:.org library
  8. Type "intext" in Google News to pull terms from the body of the story
  9. Type "define:" to access the built-in dictionary
  10. No Calculator handy? Type 12*78 and hitting search will give you the answer
  11. The calculator also converts measurements and currency.  Try 200 pounds in euros
  12. Type weather and a location or zipcode to get a four day forecast.
  13. By attaching a postcode at the end of your search will give you results for your inquiry
  14. Type time and a name of place to find the time anywhere in the world
  15. Enter a statistics-based query like "population of Britain" and it will show you the answer on top of the results
  16. You can search foreign sites by clicking "language tools" on the right of the search box which allows you to choose what countries sites to translate your query to.
 
 

Evaluating Websites

Depending on the purpose of your paper and your professor's guidelines, you may use online web sources. By applying these five criteria you can decide if they are appropriate for an assignement. Ask yourself the following questions:

  1. Authority
    Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified?
    Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor?

  2. Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy
    Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain or persuade)
    Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view?
    Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience?

  3. Coverage
    Are the topics covered by the site clear?
    Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose?
    Is sufficient evidence provides to support the ideas and options presented?

  4. Accuracy
    Are the sources of information stated?
    Do the facts appear to be accurate?
    Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field?

  5. Currency
    Are the dates included in the website?
    Is the information current, or at least still relevant for the site's purpose? For you purpose?

Criteria list taken in whole from: Ramage, Bean and Johnson. The Allyn and Becon Guide to Writing. 5th Ed. customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson Education, Inc., 2009: 602.

 

Internet Search Tips

Try these to get more specific or broader results

Wild Card

  • Use a * to include forms or variants of words in your search
  • Example: type test* to search for test, testing, tests

Adding a ~

  • Adding a tilde (~) to your search term will return related terms.
  • Example: ~nutrition will search also nutrition, food and health

Adding a -

  • Adding a negative (-) to your search term will take away that term in your search.
  • Example: Pets -cats will not find web sites that focus upon cats as pets.

Phase Search

  • By inserting quotes around an exact phase, you will search only the words you type in, in that exact order with no words in between term.
  • Example: "consumer product chemistry"

Boolean Operators

  • Using AND, OR, NOT can broaden or narrow a search depending on your inquiry. "AND" will give you results that contain both words. "OR" will give results about either word and "NOT" will not search the term preceding.
  • Example: Summer AND Flower, Summer OR Flower, Summer NOT flower
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait