Top Databases
- ABI/Inform Global from ProQuest Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, and a wide variety of other topics. Full text is provided for more than 600 of the business and management publications included in ABI-INFORM. 1971 to present.
- Business in ProQuest from ProQuestAll business databases available through ProQuest. Find information on accounting, taxes, banking, business in Europe and Asia, and more. Search in The Wall Street Journal and ABI-INFORM. Coverage varies by database.
- Business Source Premier from EBSCO
Provides full text from over 2,150 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more. - Wall Street Journal (1984-present) from Dow Jones The most frequently used daily financial newspaper in the US, it provides business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
Comments (0)
Additional Databases
- ABI/Inform Dateline from ProQuestIndex to local and regional business magazines, newspapers, and newswires focused on business. Especially good for researching smaller, local, and private companies. 1985 to present.
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry from ProQuestThis database covers more than 700 publications, mostly trade journals. It's designed to help researchers study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others. Mostly 1990's to present, though there are some journal titles for which coverage goes back to the 1980's and a very few going back to the 1970's.
- Accounting & Tax Periodicals from ProQuest Features cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts to 300 key publications in accounting, auditing, and financial management from the U.S. and overseas, including AICPA and FASB publications. Also includes citations to relevant articles from over 800 newspapers, business journals, dissertations, and news magazines,making this database an authoritative resource for accounting and financial information. There is only limited full-text (~200 titles).
- Adflip from AdflipThis archival site contains images of major print advertisements for a variety of commercial products. Print ads are in digital format and can be searched by category, decade, year, brand name and title of magazines in which the print ads appeared. Covers 1940 to present.
- Banking Information Source from ProQuestProvides information about the financial services industry, banking trends, topics, issues, and operations with comprehensive coverage of important industry sources.
- Business Insights: Essentials from GaleFormerly: Business Company Resource Center. Business, company and industry information in journal and newspaper articles; financial analysts’ reports; encyclopedias, directories and other reference books. For industry information, it allows searching by both SIC and NAICS codes. Indexing of articles 1980 to present. Full-text starts mostly in the 1990s. Financial analysts’ reports: a rolling 3 years, embargoed 3-4 weeks. Reference books: current editions.
- Business in ProQuest from ProQuestAll business databases available through ProQuest. Find information on accounting, taxes, banking, business in Europe and Asia, and more. Search in The Wall Street Journal and ABI-INFORM. Coverage varies by database.
- Business Journal from The Business JournalFull text access to weekly publications covering business in 40 cities across the U.S.
- Business Knowledge Research -- See: Conference Board Research Online Collection
- Business Source Premier from EBSCO
Provides full text from over 2,150 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more. - Compustat Global & EMDB (Emerging Markets Data Base) -- See: WRDS
- Conference Board Research Online Collection from Conference Board Research on the latest issues in business management and on US and global economics, covering topics such as business outlook, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, human resource management, productivity, economic indicators and analysis/forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions. Full-text materials only, also some webcasts. No time-series data.
- Corporate Affiliations from LexisNexisProvides corporate linkage information (hierarchy and ownership of corporate affiliates, subsidiaries, divisions, etc.) for major private and public companies in the US and abroad. It corresponds to the print publication Directory of Corporate Affiliations. Current data only.
- CultureGrams: World Edition from Axiom PressBrief information on the cultures in 181 countries. Includes 25 categories such as Land & Climate, People, Customs & Courtesies, Lifestyle, Society, History, Religion, Family, and Economy. Also has multimedia content such as typical greetings and the national anthem. Current information only.
- Directory of Corporate Affiliations -- See: Corporate Affiliations
- DRI Basic Economics -- See: Global Insight
- Duns Million Dollar Database from MPLThis resource is available to all residents of Milwaukee, including Marquette students who reside on or near campus. You must have a valid Milwaukee Public Library card and personal identification number (PIN) to gain free access to this subscription database.
- EconLit from ProQuest A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association.
- Fuente Academica from EBSCO
Collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. - Gartner Reports from Gartner Original research related to Information Technology and Business and Industry. Includes current news, research reports, and white papers all related to information technology and how it affects various areas of business. Those focus areas include: application integration, communication services, customer relationship management (CRM), enterprise applications, health care, higher education, IT management and services, security, semiconductors, servers, wireless technologies, and more.
- General Business File -- See: Business Insights: Essentials
- Global Market Information Database -- See: Passport GMID

- Hoover's Online from MergentProvides profiles of 12 million companies, with in-depth coverage of 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises. The in-depth profiles include extracted financial information, SEC filings, and lists of people (VIP's), products/operations, and competitors. Our subscription includes only the Pro Tools.
- How Products Are Made from Gale Electronic version of seven print volumes published between 1994 and 2002. Provides information on the manufacture of a variety of items, from everyday household products to heavy machinery to sophisticated electronic equipment. Includes step-by-step descriptions of processes and explanations of technical terms and concepts.
- IHS Global Insight from Global Insight A database of economic, financial, and demographic time series data.
- IMS Software from Simmons Market Research - see Simmons OneView from Experian

- International Business in ProQuest from ProquestProQuest Asian Business provides the latest Asian and European business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asianweek, The Economist, Fortune, European Business Journal, and many more. 1986 to present.
- International Financial Statistics from IMF Statistics
This monthly publication is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. - Kompass from MPLThis resource is available to all residents of Milwaukee, including Marquette students who reside on or near campus. You must have a valid Milwaukee Public Library card and personal identification number (PIN) to gain free access to this subscription database.
- Lexis Nexis Academic: Quick Links
- Lexis Nexis Academic from Lexis Nexis
Features a rich variety of full text sources providing up-to-date information on current events, business, law, and medicine. For links to specific parts of Lexis Nexis Academic, see links below. - Lexis Nexis Statistical -- See: ProQuest Statistical Insight
- Main Economic Indicators from SourceOECD
Numeric data only. Provides access to the data published in the journal Main Economic Indicators. Works best with Internet Explorer. - Mediamark Reporter (online version) from Mediamark Research, Inc.
Interpreting Consumer Survey Data Sets
Numeric data only. Provides survey data on the demographics, media use (i.e. radio, TV, and newspapers and magazines), product usage and brand preferences of a sample of ~25,000 US consumers. - Mendelsohn Affluent Survey -- See: Simmons OneView
- Mergent Horizon from Mergent Comprehensive coverage for companies actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies in the Healthcare, Technology, Media and Finance sectors.
- Mergent Online from MergentIncludes: U.S. and international company data and archives data, U.S. and international annual reports, institutional holdings data, insider trading data, FactSheets, FactSheets Express, expanded long-term debt, Experian National Business Database, equity and corporate bond portraits.
- Mergent WebReports from Mergent Public company information; an online (.pdf format) version of the Mergent Manuals (formerly called Moody Manuals).
- MSCI ESG Manager from Riskmetrics
Provides three types of information: Company profiles: in-depth analyses of the corporate social responsibility of public companies in the S&P 500 Index and the Domini 400 Social Index (total of ~660 companies), with ratings in seven areas: community, diversity, employee relations, environment, non-US operations, product, and 'other'. - National Consumer Study -- See: Simmons OneView

- NetAdvantage from MPLThis resource is available to all residents of Milwaukee, including Marquette students who reside on or near campus. You must have a valid Milwaukee Public Library card and personal identification number (PIN) to gain free access to this subscription database.
- New York Times (1851-2008) from ProquestContains complete full text articles and images in PDF. Searchable by keywords, headlines, authors, dates, etc.
- New York Times (1980-present) from ProquestOnline full text of the daily newspaper from 1980 -present.
- Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCO
Coverage for over 1,000 full-text newspaper including newspapers from the U.S., Canada and the U.K. Also included are major television and radio news transcripts. - Newspapers in ProQuest from ProquestCoverage of 300 + National and International news sources including the following: Chicago Sun Times, Chicago Tribune, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, New York Times, Star Tribune, Times of London, Wall Street Journal, Wisconsin State Journal.
- OECD iLibrary from OECD
A portal to the publications of the OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development), an international, non-governmental organization that studies and helps to formulate economic and social policy. - Oxford Handbooks Online - Business and Management from Oxford Univ. PressEighteen full text handbooks covering the major topics in Business and Management.
- Passport GMID from Euromonitor
A portal database with the following types of content: demographic and economic data for 200+ countries; market profiles for broad consumer sectors for ~80 countries; consumer lifestyle reports for ~80 countries; company profiles; and brief country and industry news updates. - Political Risk Yearbook from PRS GroupProvides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, and prose description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts. Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Current year only.
- Polling the Nations from ORS PublishingAccess limited to 1 user at a time
Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 400,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys conducted by 700 polling organizations since 1986 in the U. S. and 80 other countries. Questions are individually indexed in one of 4,500+ topics and six search fields: topic, question text, universe, polling organization and response categories. 1986 to present. - ProQuest Asian Business & Reference from ProQuestFocuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical) from Proquest Indexing and abstracting service to a wide variety of statistical information from the U.S. government, state governments and private sources.
- PsycINFO from Ovid
Coverage varies widely by title but segments go back into the 1800's. Indexes articles and provides descriptive, non-evaluative abstracts. Provides content summaries and tables of contents for book chapters and books. - Redbooks: Advertisers & Agencies Online from Redbooks.com This is a two-in-one database, with information on advertising agencies and on companies which advertise. It corresponds to the print publications Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies and Standard Directory of Advertisers.
- ReferenceUSA from InfoGroup ReferenceUSA consists of two databases: a business directory and a consumer directory.
- Safari Books Online from Proquest Access limited to 4 users at a time
This resource offers a breadth of full-text IT and business related books. Topics include: IT management, e-commerce/business, programming languages, graphics, hardware, multimedia, security and many others. if you have difficulty accessing this resource, please try again in a few minutes. - Simmons National Consumer Study -- See: Simmons OneView
- Social Sciences Citation Index from ISI
Included in Web of Science which combines Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index in one source. Indexes can be searched individually or combined. Search by words in author, title, keyword, abstract, journal title and author affiliation fields. A unique Cited Reference Search feature allows forward searching by locating articles that have cited an older document. - Socrates; the Corporate Social Ratings Monitor -- See MSCI ESG Manager
- Sports Business Research Network from SBRnetSearchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.
- Standard & Poor's Research Insight see - Research Insight
- Survey of the American Consumer -- See: Mediamark Reporter (Online version)

- TableBase from Responsive Data Services, Inc. Provides access to tabular information (i.e. statistical and rank information, and raw figures). Subject emphasis is on business (companies, industries, products, countries and markets), but it also covers broader subject areas, such as trends and demographics.
- Thomson ONE from Thomson Financial
Thomson One Banker (T1B) is a portal to company information for approximately 12,000 US (the Disclosure dataset) and 13,000 foreign (the Worldscope dataset) public companies, representing about 96% of world market value in 50+ countries. Also includes Investext; and mergers and acquisitions (M&A), new issues and syndicated loans data. - Value Line from Value Line Value Line provides investment information about 1,700 large-cap stocks and 1,800 small- or medium-cap companies. For each company this includes: year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance; projections of key financial measures; and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects. It also provides short-term industry reviews, and a stock screening feature. Coverage: 1997 - present.
- Wall Street Transcript (1997-present) from Wall Street Transcript Corp.Wall Street Transcript is a journal (originally published in print, and it still is; it began publication in 1963) whose content consists of transcripts of interviews with CEO's and other high-level corporate executives, and transcripts of interviews with investment analysts and money managers. The transcripts are generally 2000 - 4000+ words each (except for the analyst roundtables which are considerably longer). 1997 to present.
See Also:
Need Help?
Choose a different discipline or topic:
Loading...
