- ABZU from Etana
Guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
- Academic Search Complete from EBSCO
Provides full text for over 7,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more. Coverage varies by publication. Some full-text PDFs from 1985 to present
- Acta Sanctorum from Chadwyck-Healy
Complete Acta Sanctorum published over a period of 300 years, including prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus, indexes, Biblioteca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers. Covers 1643-1940.
- Art Museum Image Gallery from EBSCO
Access limited to 1 user at a time
The Art Museum Image Gallery is a digital resource of over 155,000 art images and related multimedia from distinguished museums around the world. The images are rights-cleared for educational use.
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) from Association of Religion Data Archives
Relying on an archive of over 500 religion data collections, ARDA offers recent national and international survey findings and statistics on local, national and global profiles of religion, as well as detailed reports and maps on church membership and religious denominations in America.
- Bibleworks 9 from BibleWorks
BibleWorks is an original languages Bible software program. It includes 90 Bible translations in 28 languages, 9 original language texts with 7 morphology databases, 6 Greek lexicons and dictionaries, 4 Hebrew lexicons and dictionaries, and 11 practical reference works. New modules feature The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament, 4th edition, and A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature, 3rd edition.
- Biblical Archaeology Society Archive Online from Biblical Archaeology Society
Contains the full-text for Biblical Archaeology Review from March 1975 to the present.
- Bibliografia Bíblica Latino-Americana from Universidade Metodista de São Paulo
Provides citations to books and journal articles dealing with the Bible from a number of Brazilian and other Latin American countries. Variety of languages are represented Coverage is 1988 to date.
- Bibliographical Information Base in Patristics (BBIP) from Université Laval
Contains references to materials dealing with various aspects of Patristic Christianity from the 1st century up to the mid-9th century. Search interface is in French.
- Bibloi (formerly Bible Windows) from Silver Mountain Software
A Microsoft Windows program for reading, studying and searching the Bible. Includes Greek, Hebrew, Latin, and English language versions as well as Greek and Hebrew language reference dictionaries. The Greek and Hebrew texts include full grammatical tags and dictionary forms coded in the text. Also provides links to some related Internet resources.
- Black Studies Center from Chadwyck-Healey
The Black Studies Center is comprised of several databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, the full text of the Chicago Defender 1910-1975 an influential black newspaper, and Black Literature Index.
- Blackwell Reference Online - Religion
Thirty volumes containing background information on Christian, Islamic, Jewish, Hindu, Roman and Greek religions. Each book is searchable for keywords.
- Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture from Cambridge Collections Online
Contains 1000+ essays addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
- CETEDOC -- See: Library of Latin Texts: Series A from Brepolis
Series A contains CRITICAL EDITIONS of over 3,200 Latin texts from antiquity, the patristic period, the Middle Ages, and the Neo-Latin (1501-1965) era.
Also see Library of Latin Texts: Series B
for NON-CRITICAL editions of over 300 various Latin Texts.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library from CCEL
Contains selected full-text English language / English translations of Christian writings from a variety of time periods. Searchable by keywords, authors and titles.
- Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative from ATLA
Repository of digital resources collected from ATLA member institutions; provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
- Corpus Thomisticum from Fundación Tomás de Aquino and the University of Navarra
Full-text of St. Thomas of Aquinas' works in Latin, containing critical editions, an index, bibliographies and other resources.
- Digital Karl Barth Library from Alexander Street Press
Features the entire corpus of Barth’s Gesamtausgabe. Digital version of the definitive Theologischer Verlag Zürich edition of Barth’s works in German, which currently comprises more than 40 volumes of sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writing. Future additions to the collection will include: the 14-volume Kirchliche Dogmatik, English translations of selected works, photographs, audio files, and other archival content.
- Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation from Alexander Street
Papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises and systems, liturgical writings, saints' lives, and devotional works.
- Cambridge Companions to Religion
The Cambridge Companions includes online full-text volumes discussing theologians such as Aquinas, Anselm, Augustine, Martin Luther, etc. as well as volumes discussing religious and biblical topics: the Gospels, Biblical Interpretation, Christian Doctrine, Christian Ethics, American Judaism, etc.
- Dissertations and Theses from ProQuest
Contains records for more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Extensive coverage of North American graduate schools, with coverage of some European universities beginning in 1989. Includes bibliographic records of dissertations written in the UK and Ireland from 1716, with full abstracts, for titles from 1986. SEE ALSO: Marquette Dissertations
- Early American Imprint Series 1: Evans, 1639-1800 from Readex
Also known as the "Evans Bibliography". Full text database of publications from colonial America and the early republic (1639-1800). Users can do a field searches—author, title, genre, place of publication, publisher —as well as keyword queries in the full text. They can also take advantage of a sophisticated subject category system.
- Early Church Fathers from CCEL
Full-text electronic English language translations of the Early Church Fathers covering first 800 years of the Church including Anti-Nicene, Nicene, and Post-Nicene Fathers.
- Elenchus Bibliographicus from Peeters
Does not work well with Internet Explorer.
Extensive annual bibliography covering numerous areas of theology including Old Testament and New Testament exegesis. Indexes books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and 500 theology journals, many in foreign languages. Database is searchable from 1998 and browsable by content.
Online version of the bibliography published annually as issues 2-3 of the print journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica from Gale
Electronic version of the second edition of the 22 volume encyclopaedia covering Jewish life, history, culture and religion. Includes more than 21,000 signed articles, 600 maps, charts, tables and illustrations and 168 photos. Extensive cross-references, bibliographies, place-name lists, chronologies and a comprehensive fully searchable index are useful features.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam from Brill
Electronic version of the original 9 volume (plus 2 updates) set. Represents over 10 million words and thousands of articles dealing with the ancient, medieval, and modern periods of Islamic studies. Searches are possible in both Arabic transcription and English. The search engine allows for wildcard, Boolean, and proximity searches. Includes many hyperlinks for easy cross-referencing.
- ETHXWeb from Georgetown Univ.
Indexes literature related to bioethics and professional ethics. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books and book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news and audiovisual materials.
- Europa Sacra Online from Brepols
Provides information on all 1,300 medieval bishoprics, Archdioceses and patriarchates of the early, patristic and medieval Church. It also has prosopographical information on 18,507 bishops, archbishops, and patriarchs for the period 1198-1503. Although based on two standard print resources by C. Eubel and P. B. Gams, it will be enhanced to include information on members of individual religious orders and members of universities.
- FRANCIS from ProQuest
Access limited to 4 users at a time
Multi-disciplinary database produced in France which indexes over 4,200 journals in the humanities and social sciences since 1984.
- Fuente Academica from EBSCO
Collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.
- GenETHX from Georgetown Univ.
Indexes literature related to ethics and public policy issues in genetics. Includes citations and abstracts to articles, books and book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news and audiovisual materials. Covers 1976 to present.
- Index Islamicus from ProQuest
An international bibliography of publications on all aspects of Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world including accounting, archaeology, architecture, arts, bibliography and scholarship, economics, education, geography and travel, history, law, libraries, natural and applied sciences, philosophy, politics and current affairs, religion, social sciences, theology, and zoology.
- Index Theologicus from Ubtübingen
The Index Theologicus database is a cumulation of the monthly issues of the theological periodical index, ZeitschriftenInhaltsDienst. Contains over 140,000 article records from more than 1000 sources worldwide going back to 1990. Subject headings and class titles are in German, while help screens are in English. Includes full subject cataloging and classification beginning with records of March 1996; earlier literature provides subject headings for persons and biblical texts only.
- Index Thomisticus (Web version) from Fundación Tomás de Aquino
Full text (in Latin) of the works of Aquinas and 61 other related Latin works.
- International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text from Chadwyck-Healy
--Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean as well as full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
--Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary--spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline.
- International Medieval Bibliography from Univ. of Leeds
Contains over 300,000 full bibliographical entries of articles, review articles, scholarly notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies (1967-2003).
- Intra-Text Digital Library from Intratext
IntraText Digital Library includes books, periodicals, complete works and archives. Religious, philosophical, literary, and scientific texts are available in more than 30 languages.
- Issues and Controversies@Facts.com from Facts On File
This full-text database contains in-depth and balanced articles dealing with contemporary issues and controversies. Keyword and subject searching is available as well as being able to browse by topic. A list of current hot topics is provided.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance from Univ. of Toronto
A bibliography of scholarly materials on the Renaissance (1300-1700) and the Middle Ages (400-1500) published in over 300 journals since the 1840s.
- JSTOR from JSTOR
Full-text back files of nearly 400 of the most important journals in Business, Ecology, Economics, Finance, Management, History, Mathematics, Political Science, Population Studies, Language, Literature and Science. Entire text of each journal is searchable.
- Library of Latin Texts - Series A from Brepols
Series A contains CRITICAL EDITIONS of over 3,200 Latin texts from antiquity, the patristic period, the Middle Ages, and the Neo-Latin (1501-1965) era. Many were originally published in the Corpus Christianorum Series Latina,Corpus Christianorum Continuation Medievalis. Also contains important full-text works taken from other collections, such as the Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum, Sources Chrétiennes, Migne’s Patrologia Latina, Acta Sanctorum, Analecta Hymnica Medii Aevi and Biblioteca Teubneriana Latina. Also includes the Vulgate and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament.
- Library of Latin Texts - Series B from Brepols
Series B contains NON-CRITICAL editions of over 300 various Latin Texts from various genres and time periods and includes some texts from the Biblioteca Teubneriana Latina
Both Series A and Series B can be search together with the Cross Database Search Tool
- Luthers Werke in WWW from Chadwyck-Healy
Reproduces the Weimar Edition of Martin Luther's complete works in electronic form. The pivotal Weimar Edition consists of over 117 quarto volumes. It provides a historical-critical tool for theologians, historians, linguists, literary critics. The first volume of the Weimar Edition was published in 1883.
- Mango Languages from Mango
Mango is an online language learning system teaching conversational and grammar skills for 48 languages and 15 ESL courses. Languages include Spanish (Spain), Spanish (Latin America), French, German, Italian, Japanese, Hebrew, Mandarin Chinese, Farsi, Arabic, Irish (Gaelic), Russian and many more. Also includes pronunciation practice for Latin, Biblical Hebrew, Biblical Greek (Koine) and Ancient Greek. Includes English as a Second Language lessons for non-native speakers.
- Migne's Patrologiae Graecae from Religion and Technology Center
Patrologiae Graecae is a collection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century.
- Motif Index of Folk Literature from Indiana Univ. Press
Based on the the index by Stith Thompson, this index classifies and indexes motifs (such as characters, actions, or events) in folk literature. The index is an elaborate classification of these motifs into broad categories and will refer to pieces of literature where these motifs occur.
- New Testament Abstracts from EBSCO
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to New Testament studies.
- Old Testament Abstracts from EBSCO
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - Religion from Oxford Univ. Press
Sixteen full text handbooks covering the major areas of Religion.
- Oxford Handbooks Online - Religion
Contains 21 handbooks covering major topics in Religion and Theology including Biblical Studies, Theological Ethics, Global Religions,Religion and Ecology, Religion and Science, etc.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online from Oxford Univ. Press
Over 3,000 references, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines. Includes material from several reference works including: Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Oxford History of Islam, and What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam.
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Religion
Search over 600 online full-text books about various areas of religion and theology -- Biblical Studies, Early Christian Church, Buddhism, World Religions, Philosophy of Religion, Church History, etc.
- Papal Encyclicals Online
Created, maintained and supported by a Catholic layman, this non-official Catholic website site contains full-text papal encyclicals, apostolic constitutions, apostolic letters and other important Catholic documents beginning with 1226 A.D. Documents can be searched by popes, councils, and by keywords.
- Papal Letters/Lettres Pontificales -- See: Ut per litteras apostolicas
- Past Masters from InteLex
Full text of works by major philosophers and philosophical groups: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Calvin, Dewey, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Locke, Luther, Nietzsche, Ockham, Peirce, Plato, Santayana, Sidgwick, Wittgenstein; British Philosophers (1600-1900), Continental Rationalists, and Political Philosophers.
- Patrologia Graecae -- See: Migne's Patrologica Graecae
- Patrologia Latina from Chadwyck-Healy
Full text of Jacques-Paul Migne’s 19th century work of patristic and medieval Christian Latin texts from the 2nd to the 13th centuries, with related humanistic and ecclesiastical scholarship from the 16th to the 19th centuries.
- Peace Research Abstracts from EBSCO
Includes bibliographic citations covering areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas relevant to the discipline.
- Philosopher's Index from ProQuest
Covers writings on a wide range of philosophical topics including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, history of philosophy, logic, metaphysics, political and social philosophy, and the philosophy of other disciplines, such as education, history, language, law, religion, and science.
- ProQuest Central from ProQuest
Multidisciplinary database with 11,000+ titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
- ProQuest Research Collections from ProQuest
Enhanced indexing, abstracts and selected full text or full images of articles in a wide range of magazines and journals from numerous disciplines. Includes general interest and news publications as well as selected scholarly journals. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles; some full text and full image articles. Coverage varies by title with good coverage for late 1980's to present, some earlier coverage.
- RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies from the Jewish National & University Library
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish religious and biblical studies and in the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. Material indexed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals, in print and electronic format. Searchable by subject, author, title, source or keyword from any field. Coverage begins with 1942.
- Theological Investigations [PDF] from Centre for Culture, Technology and Values
The complete text of Karl Rahner's 23-volume Theological Investigations in PDF format. Entire set or individual volumes can be searched by keyword.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae from Univ. of California-Irvine
Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, plus historiographical, lexicographic, and Scholastic texts from the period between 600 and 1453. Includes the Septuagint and Greek New Testament.
- Thomae Aquinatis Opera Omnia (Web version) from Fundación Tomás de Aquino
Full text (in Latin) of the works of Aquinas and 61 other related Latin works. An electronic version of the printed concordance, Index Thomisticus.
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought from Alexander Street Press
Covers the major strains and new directions in religious questioning that have often altered the very framework of given traditions. In addition to studying scholars' ideas separately, researchers can explore broader schools of thought to examine how different theories, denominations, faiths, and political and cultural groups have intersected, differed, and influenced one another.
- Ut per litteras apostolicas (Papal Letters/Lettres Pontificales) from Brepols
Information on the most varied aspects of medieval society: church institutions, the clergy, the Papal States, politics, the legal system, taxation, government and finance, secular society, the religious life, intellectual and artistic life, the economy, wars, law and order, the environment and natural disasters, and daily life.
- Vetus Latina from Brepols
Latin Biblical texts which were used by the early Church fathers in existence and use from the 2nd century AD until the predominance of the Vulgate. Search results are viewed in archival card format which include updated information as is provided by the Vetus Latina Institute in Beuron.
- Zeitschriften InhaltsDienst Theologie -- See: Index Theologicus