Subject-Specific Databases
These are the best starting place for scholarly books in a particular academic field. These are just examples; for more suggestions, use the drop-down menu on the library's listing of databases.
- ABI/Inform Global Broad coverage of business, 1971 to present
- America: History and Life Journals in American history, 1964 to present
- ATLA Religion Database 1949 to present
- CINAHL (Nursing) Nursing and allied health fields, 1982 to present
- IEEE Xplore Coverage of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics journals, 1988 to present
- MathSciNet Pure and applied mathematics and statistics, 1940 to present; books from Current Mathematical Publications (CMP) and Mathematical Reviews (MR)
- PsycInfo Broad coverage of the field of psychology, 1872 to present
- SciTech Book News Coverage of scholarly books in technology, engineering, computer science, medicine, agriculture, and the physical & biological sciences. Full text coverage March 2000 to present.
Broad Subject Databases
These sources are best for general and contemporary books, published in the past few decades. For books in a specific academic discipline, begin with sources in the following box, Subject-Specific Databases. These subscription deatabases are available off campus; see "Access from Home."
- Academic Search Elite Coverage of over 2,000 scholarly journals; dates vary, as far back as the mid-1980s
- Book Review Index Database includes citations to review in academic and popular journals 1965 to present
- JSTOR Complete backfile of about 400 key scholarly journals in sciences, business, political science, literature, etc. To search for a particular book review, select "Advanced Search" then limit type to "Review."
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Excellent coverage of US newspapers as far back as the 1980s. Begin search in the "News" tab.
- New York Review of Books Current books in American life, politics, culture, and the arts, 1963--to present.
- New York Times (ProQuest backfile) Full text backfile 1851-2001
- New York Times Full Text 1980 to current
- Project MUSE Current content from prestigious scholarly humanities and social sciences journals. Use "Advanced Search" and change limit "By Type" to "Review"
- ProQuest Research Library Broadest coverage of general interest, news, and scholarly journals, generally beginning in the late 1980s. Use "Basic Search" option, enter book title or keywords; click on "More Search Options" tab and under "Document Type" select "Review/Book Review
- Web of Science Good starting place for reviews in the sciences. Use general search; select desired database component; restrict search by language and document type.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait