APAChicago/TurabianCSE/ CBEMLANLM
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Writing and Citing  Tags: apa_style citation mla_style chicago writing plagiarism  

This guide helps with writing questions, including how to cite the work of others
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/writing_citing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citation Styles             Print Page
  
 

Citation Managers

Citation or Reference managers are software products which can store and organize your references. In addition to the organizational benefits, these products can create bibliographies formatted in any style. RefWorks also creates in-text citations or footnotes as you write your paper.

RefWorks

This Web-based citation manager allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus. Create your account at the Refworks' login screen.

RefWorks is provided to the Marquette community through MU Libraries' subscription. For more information and helpful guides, go to the Libraries' RefWorks information page

 
 

Why Style?

According to Wikipedia, a Style guide "is a set of standards for design and writing of documents, either for general use or for a specific publication or organization."  Some style guides or manuals are specific to one discipline and others are used across many disciplines. 

Style guide. (2008, March 30). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 03:01, April 2, 2008, from http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Style_guide&oldid=202074962 

Use the drop down menu in the "Citation" tab to learn more about the most-commonly used citation style guides

 

Free Citation Generators

Please keep in mind that the following free tools are not perfect; the Libraries provide campuswide access to RefWorks (see box at left) and support its use. It is highly recommended that you verify the accuracy of any citations produced by these tools using the citation style's official manual.

  • BibMe   A free online citation creator that will store more than one citation at a time. You may search their database for your resource and if it's there, a citation will be created automatically. Covers APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian.
  • Citation Machine    Another free online citation creator. Covers APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian.
  • WorksCited4U   Yet another online citation creation tool. Similar to BibMe, WorksCited4U allows you to search for the source you are trying to cite and if found, will create the citation automatically. Covers APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian.
  • Zotero  Free Firefox extension to help collect, manage, and cite your sources. 

 
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait