Where to Start
Broad Subject
Try an encyclopedia or similar reference site
Well-Known Specific Subject
Try a Directory
Google Tips & Tricks
- Use the Advanced feature of Google to be more specific in your search
- Type "intitle:" to search only page titles.. Try intitle:digital divide (no space!)
- Type "inurl:" to search only the web address of a page. Try inurl:raynor
- Type "related:" to find pages that Google thinks are related in content. Try related:www.marquette.edu/library
- Type "search tips site:" to specify a site to search within. Try search tips site:www.usps.com international shipping
- Access Google Directory at directory.google.com
- Type "site:" to return results from a specfic domain. Try site:.org library
- Type "intext" in Google News to pull terms from the body of the story
- Type "define:" to access the built-in dictionary
- No Calculator handy? Type 12*78 and hitting search will give you the answer
- The calculator also converts measurements and currency. Try 200 pounds in euros
- Type weather and a location or zipcode to get a four day forecast.
- By attaching a postcode at the end of your search will give you results for your inquiry
- Type time and a name of place to find the time anywhere in the world
- Enter a statistics-based query like "population of Britain" and it will show you the answer on top of the results
- You can search foreign sites by clicking "language tools" on the right of the search box which allows you to choose what countries sites to translate your query to.
Selected Internet Sources for Controversial Issues
- Arts Journal Links to articles on the arts and culture. Of particular interest are the Arts Issues, ArtsWatch, and Issue Tracks sections
- Best Infomation on the Net from St. Ambrose University. Resources for about 25 topics with links to articles, position papers and advocacy groups.
- Online Newshour Special Reports Reports from the Public Broadcasting System. Has national and international coverage.
- University of Southern Indiana Research Guides-Current Issues Check here for more book and articles on selected topics.
- Librarians Index to the Internet A great site with websites picked out by librarians on many subjects and topics.
- Multnomah County Library - Social Issues Links to Megasites on many important social issues
Non-Partisan Websites
- National Issues is a non-partisan, issue-oriented research web site that provides information on the major issues facing our nation today.
- Brookings Institution Policy Briefs The Brookings Institution is a nonpartisan organization that conducts research on public policy. The site contains analysis an commentary on many issues.
- ProCon.org ProCon.org is a nonpartisan, nonprofit, 501(c)(3) public charity whose mission is "Promoting education, critical thinking, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format."
- Public Agenda "Helping Americans explore today's issues." Public Agenda is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization. Check out the Issue Guides and the Articles & Speeches.
- CRS Reports "The Congressional Research Service is the public policy research arm of Congress." This University of NorthTexas Libraries site makes some of the CRS reports available to the general public.
Science & Technology Websites
- NewScientist.com For a wide-variety of scientific topics in the news, you can find articles and links to other resources
- Science in the Headlines From the National Academies. Check the ARCHIVES for back issues.
Statistics and Government Information Websites
- Social Statistics Briefing Room The purpose of this service is to provide easy access to current Federal social statistics. It provides links to information produced by a number of Federal agencies.
- Public Policy Issues and Groups Covers many issues and included links for government sites, indexes and directories, interest-group and other political sites, news and media coverage, research centers and other educational sites, and statistics.
- HotDocs:Government Documents in the News From Columbia University Libraries. "Full Text documents or reports on major governmental activities."
- Docs in the News From the University of Michigan Libraries Document Center.
Subject Librarian |
Suzy WeismanNeed Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Infomation Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait