Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. If you find an article you like, search Marqcat to see if MU subscribes to the journal you need.
See scholar.google.com/scholar/help.html for understanding your search results.
(search results open in a new window)
Why Articles?
Articles can be found in publications called magazines, journals, periodicals, newspapers. These are often referred to as serials and have a set, regular publishing schedule e.g. daily, weekly, monthly annually, etc.
Articles are good sources for:
- Most recent research or information on a topic
- coverage of a very narrow topic
- coverage of current events
- contemporary accounts of past events and research
Evaluting Sources
Consider the Source: A Critical Guide to 100 Prominent News and Information Sites on the Web
Call Number: PN4833 .B76 2007 Memorial Level 4 lower
Magazines for libraries
Call Number: Z6941 .M23 Raynor Information Desk
Controversial Issues
Did you know that the library subscribes to 290 databases? You have many databases to choose from to find articles for your topic. Some may contain full-text articles but some do not. Here are some top databases for you to start with. See Access from Home for info on off-campus access.
- CQ Researcher (MU only)
Articles on Controversial current events written by experienced journalists that focus on a specific topic. VPN is REQUIRED for off-campus access. - Issues and Controversies@facts.com (MU only)
This full-text database contains in-depth and balanced articles dealing with contemporary issues and controversies. Includes a hot topic list. This is a great starting point for a broad overview. - Academic Search Premier (MU only)
Provides full text for over 2,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more - Opposing Viewpoints
Available to all residents of Milwaukee, including MU students who reside on or near campus. A valid Milwaukee Public Library card and personal identification number (PIN) ir required to gain free access. - Congressional Digest (MU community only) Each issue of this JOURNAL is devoted to one topic with pro/con political viewpoints from congressional members.
Science & Medical Issues
- GenEthx (MU community only)
Indexes literature related to ethics and public policy issues in genetics. - Alcohol Studies Database (MU community only) Includes bibliographic citations to over 70,000 journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and audiovisual materials compiled by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies. 1987 to present.
- GreenFILE (MU community only) Indexes scholarly and general interest titles that offer a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Full Text for selected titles.
Alternative Perspectives
- Alt-Press Watch (MU community only) A FULL TEXT database of newspapers, magazines and journals of alternative and independent press.
- GenderWatch (MU community only)
FULL TEXT database composed primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that focus on women and women's issues. - Contemporary Women's Issues (MU community only) International coverage from 190 countries (in English) is provided from mainstream periodicals and the alternative press, including journals, newsletters, research reports, governmental agencies, non-profit groups, and pamphlets. FULL TEXT
- Ethnic NewsWatch (MU community only) FULL TEXT database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Databases for Newspaper Articles
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (MU community only)
Provides full-text retrieval from a variety of news sources. Great for international coverage. - Newspapers in Proquest (MU community only)

Subject Librarian |
Suzy WeismanNeed Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Infomation Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait