Evaluating Books
Finding Full-text
Evaluating Websites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Controversial Issues 

Guide to finding information on alternative viewpoints on controversial issues.
Last update: Sep 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/controversies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Start Here             Print Page
  

Need Help?

 

 

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Infomation Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

24/7 Live Help

Research Consultation

 
 

WELCOME

Are you looking for an INTERESTING topic for your next paper?  Perhaps you need to support a position or to understand BOTH SIDES of a controversial issue?  The items listed below are excellent starting points.  Use the TABS above to find additional ARTICLES, BOOKSWEBSITES and other information to support your ideas.

DATABASES

These databases are a good place to start when researching CONTROVERSIAL issues:

See ACCESS FROM HOME for info on how to connect if you are not on campus.

 

SPECIALIZED SERIES

                    

Current Controversies

Excerpts from articles, newspapers, and books are used to present authoritative opinons on issues of national and interational interest.   PRO/CON format.  Examples: Abortion,  Free Speech, Garbage and Waste, Pollution, Violence Against Women.

***Organize your results chronologically by clicking the blue LIMIT/SORT button on the top of the page.

Contemporary World Issues

Each book deals WITH a single topic and contains relevant statistics and a bibliography.  Examples: Affirmative Action, Crime, Juvenile Justice, Religious Right, Work and Family.

***Organize your results chronologically by clicking the blue LIMIT/SORT button on the top of the page.

Current Issues

Annual Publication which gives a PRO/CON perspective on about 20 key domestic and foreigh policy issues.

Opposing Viewpoints

Each title explores many aspects of a broad issue using expert opinions from comtemporary and historical authors.  PRO/CON format.  Contains bibliographies, glossaries, cartoons and chronologies.  Examples: Catholic Church, Death Penalty, Epidemics, Police Brutality, Terrorism, Values.

***Organize your results chronologically by clicking the blue LIMIT/SORT button on the top of the page.

Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues

Adjacent PRO/CON arguments excerpted from journal articles and books, focusing on diverse topics surrounding a broad issue area.  Examples:  Abnormal Psychology, Bioethics, Business Ethics, Health and Society, Psychological Issues. 

***For a full listing of titles in this series perform a TITLE search in MARQCAT entering "Taking Sides Clashing Views."  Organize your results chronologically by clicking the blue LIMIT/SORT button on the top of the page.

***View the table of contents for individual titles.  SCROLL DOWN. 

 

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageSuzy Weisman
Contact Info:
Raynor Memorial Libraries
414-288-6594
Send Email

Subjects:
Fine Arts, Turnitin

 

RSS Feed

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait