Agencies and OrganizationsClinical Laboratory ScienceComplementary and Alternative TherapiesConsumer HealthGovernment SitesHealth PolicyInternational HealthMega SitesMinority HealthNursingPhysical TherapyPhysician Assistant StudiesSpeech Pathology and Audiology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Health Sciences  Tags: nursing physical_therapy physician_assistant clinical_laboratory speech_pathology audiology  

A guide to research sources in the health sciences.
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/healthsciences  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Why articles?

Articles are good sources for the most recent research on a topic, coverage of very narrow topics, coverage of current events, and contemporary accounts of past events and research.

Need Help?

 

 

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu

Research Consultation

 
 

Quick Search in Health Sciences

Search several health sciences databases simultaneously.

Quick Search in Health Sciences Article Databases
for:

Searching for Articles

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles and other documents on your topic. Some databases include full text of the articles they index but many do not. The top databases for health sciences are:

  • CINAHL with Full Text  
      
    Indexes journals in nursing and allied health, selected healthcare books, dissertations, audiovisual materials, standards of practice and conference proceedings. Includes full-text of over 600 journals.
  • Evidence Based Medicine Reviews  
      
    Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and other evidence-based resources.
  • HaPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments  
      
    Indexes articles with descriptions and analyses of assessment tools used in health and psychology.
  • Health Sciences in ProQuest  
      
    Includes citations and abstracts for hundreds of scholarly journals and other publications in nursing, psychology, and allied health, often with full-text. Also includes over 12,000 dissertations and resources from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
  • Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition  
      
    Nursing/Academic Edition includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals, full-text articles for almost 550 journals, and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
  • Medline  
      
    Provides international coverage of over 3900 journals in medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and preclinical sciences.
  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source  
      
    This subset of Health Sciences in ProQuest, includes over 650 full-text journals, more than 12,000 dissertations in nursing and related fields, and easy access to evidence–based content from the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI.) Click Browse to view evide
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Covers scholarly international literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes articles in more than 2000 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations.
  • PubMed  
      
    Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 4600 biomedical journals published in the United States and worldwide.
  • SPORTDiscus  
      
    Indexes book and journal literature in exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, and physical fitness.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Combines Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index in one source. A unique Cited Reference Search feature allows ‘forward’ searching by locating articles that have cited an older document.
  • Other Health Sciences Databases  
 

Getting the articles

The Libraries subscribe to over 24,000 journals, most in electronic format. There are a variety of ways to find out if the Libraries subscribe to the journals you need.

If you already have the citation to an article:

  • Use MARQCAT. Search by Title and enter the title of the journal, NOT the title or author of the article.

If you are looking at article citations from within a database:

  • Use the FindIt@MU icon in the citation you are interested in. This will open another window and do one of two things:

    • Display a list of one or more databases with links. Click on one of the links to determine if FindIt can connect you to an electronic copy of the article.
    • Display only a link to MARQCAT. Click the MARQCAT link to search the online catalog. The journal may be available in print or full text through a source not searchable by the FindIt widget.

If you do not find the journal using FindIt@MU or MARQCAT, request the article through Interlibrary Loan. This can be done directly from the FindIt window, or from the article citation within some databases.

 
 

Search Strategies

Write down research questions for your topic and underline key concepts and keywords. Think of broader or narrower terms depending on what search results you retrieve from those concepts and keywords.

Think of synonyms and alternative terms to search and refer to a Thesaurus for more ideas.

Remember most databases will have a list of suggested subject terms. By choosing these you can narrow your search to those articles related to what you are searching for.

Search Guides

RefWorks

RefWorks allows you to create a personal database of article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. Click the "Cite your sources" tab above for more information.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait