Why Internet sites?
Some Advantages of Web Sites
- Web sites provide immediate information. Information can be shared instantly, unlike books, magazines, journals or even newspapers that have some publishing lag time.
- Many Web sites are open to everyone, so ideas, theories, or news stories that might be overlooked by other media as being too controversial can be found here.
- There are numerous organizations like community action groups that do not publish their own journals or magazines but are likely to have a web page.
Some Disadvantages of Web Sites
- Unlike other sources, such as refereed journals, there is no quality control on the Internet. Information can be totally inaccurate, out-of-date, and/or manipulated and misleading. Sources and information from Web sites must be verified, which takes additional time and effort.
- The Web is extremely vast and there is no single search engine or tool that gives you access to all the information available; therefore, in order to really find most of the information on a given subject, you have to use multiple search engines and/or directories.
- As an information resource, Web sites can be extremely unstable. Links go dead and web pages disappear. There is no archive to look up information that was on the Internet at one time, so once the site has been changed or the server crashes or the link goes dead, the information you were once using can be gone forever. You cannot go back to it later, and you will be citing a source that no longer exists.
Need Help?
IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation
Stop by In-person:
Service Hours
General ('Mega') Philosophy Sites
- EpistemeLinks
Includes over 19,000 categorized links to philosophy resources on the Internet and has several additional features. Online since early 1997, this site is free to use, and doesn't require user registration of any kind. Begin browsing the site by using the Philosophers or Topics links, or by using the link category or special feature links. - Philosophy around the Web
- Voice of the Shuttle
- Philosophy @ large
A guide to philosophy resources on the web. The site was founded by Prof. Stephen Clark and is edited and hosted by the Department of Philosophy at the University of Liverpool. - PhilPapers
A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers; monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages; also accepts articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies. Still in the beta version. This site is maintained by David Bourget and David Chalmers of the Centre for Consciousness at the Australian National University. - Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
A collection of digital documents in the subject areas of English literature, American literature, and Western philosophy. Unique features include: (1) users can search for and display texts from the collection, as well as search the content of those texts; (2) you can search the contents of multiple documents simultaneously; (3) you have the ability to convert documents to .pdf files "on-the-fly." (Alternately, users can download the whole collection of philosophy texts and the tools to search the texts.) - Erratic Impact
Categorized by history, subject and author, this meta-index integrates text resources with the best online resources. Based upon visitor participation, the Philosophy Research Base serves as both a study guide and a platform for a wide variety of community services for students and teachers in philosophy and related subjects. - American Philosophical Association--Philosophy Web Resources
- Intute: Philosophy
A database of Philosophy resources which have been selected, evaluated, and described by subject specialists. Staff are based in the University of Oxford, Manchester Metropolitan University, and the University of the Arts London. The group is led by the Research Technologies Service at Oxford University Computing Services. - NOESIS : Philosophical Research On-line
The merger of Hippias and Noesis. The target of this resource is academic scholarship in philosophy that is freely available online. - Paideia Project On-Line
Here you have access to nearly 1000 papers (organized by subject) presented at the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy (1998) held in Boston. - Philosophy Pages from Garth Kemerling
- The Philosophy Pages by Dieter Koehler
- Guide to Philosophy on the
Internet (Suber)
Still a good resource, but has not been updated since February, 2003. As a result, there are numerous dead links.
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries for Philosophy
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Sites by Philosophical Subject Area
Only those sites judged to be somewhat comprehensive are listed here. If the subject area or individual philosopher you are researching is not listed, it still may be possible to find Web sites dealing with that subject/individual by way of the "General sites" included above.
Aesthetics
Ancient Philosophy
Chinese Philosophy
- Chinese Philosophical Etext Archive
- Chinese Philosophy
- Chinese Philosophy (Washington State University)
Contemporary Continental Philosophy
- Continental Philosophy (Baylor)
Critical Theory
Ethics
- Ethics Updates Home Page
Designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relate to ethics.- Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
Located at Santa Clara University and dedicated to research and dialogue on ethical issues in critical areas of American life. The focus is on business, health care and biotechnology, character education, government, global leadership, technology, and emerging issues in ethics. Includes articles, cases, briefings, and dialogues in all fields of applied ethics.- National Catholic Bioethics Center
- National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
Islamic / Arab Philosophy
- Islamic Philosophy Online
Dedicated to the study of the philosophical output of the Muslim World. This site contains hundreds of full-length books and articles on Islamic philosophy, ranging from the classical texts in the canon of Islamic philosophy to modern works of Muslim philosophy.The Lublin School of Christian Philosophy
Medieval Studies (Including Medieval Philosophy)
Philosophy of Mind
Philosophy of Religion
- Philosophy of Religion (Baylor)
Philosophy of Science
- PhilSci Archive
An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science.Political Philosophy
Pragmatism
Individual Philosophers
Some of these sites include access to electronic texts.
Aquinas (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
- The Summa Theologica of St. Thomas Aquinas
English translation of the Summa theologiae (Fathers of the English Dominican Province, c.1947). - Thomas Instituut
Homepage
Dedicated to the thought of St. Thomas and maintained by the Thomas Instituut te Utrecht. Included are: a searchable list of the works of St. Thomas with info about editions and translations; lists of thematical publications, biographies, bibliographies, etc.; includes links to additional related Websites. - Corpus Thomisticum
This project aims to provide scholars with a set of instruments of research on Thomas Aquinas freely available via the Internet. It has five parts: a full edition of the complete works of St. Thomas according, where possible, to the best critical texts; a bibliography covering all the studies on Aquinas and his doctrine, from the 13th century to the present; an index of the main tools of Thomistic research, and the edition of the most important among them; a database management system implemented to search, compare, and sort words, phrases, quotations, similitudes, correlations, and statistical information; a digital edition of the main manuscripts of Aquinas' works. - Thomistica.net
This site is designed to provide ready access to up-to-date information about resources for scholars of Aquinas via a constantly-updated news page, which in turn is the source for an RSS newsfeed. In addition, about once every quarter, the site will also sport a downloadable newsletter detailing research ideas, suggestions, and other items of note. The site is owned and operated by Mark Johnson of the Theology Department at Marquette University. - Thomas Aquinas in
English
Extensive bibliography; includes links to additional related Websites. - Tradere
The Latin text with parallel French translation of the De potentia. - Stephen Loughlin's Home Page - St.
Thomas Aquinas
Provides access to biographies, books, and essays available on-line; links to English translations of several titles in the thomistic corpus, including both Summae and the De ente et essentia; links to other Aquinas sites. - Aquinas Translation Project
Augustine (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
Jeremy Bentham (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
John Dewey (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
Robert Grosseteste (1175?-1253)
The Hume Society (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
Immanuel Kant
- North American Kant Society (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
- Kant on the Web (SEE ALSO
"IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
Includes access to electronic text versions of some of Kant's works
Soren Kierkegaard
- Soren Kierkegaard Resources World Wide (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
- D. Anthony Storm's Web Site on Kierkegaard (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
Marx and Engels
- Karl Marx and Frederick Engels Internet Archive (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
- Marx and Engels' Writings
Includes electronic text versions of the works. (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW) - Marxists.org : Internet Archive (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
The Nietzsche Page at USC (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
Charles S. Peirce Studies (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
Benedict Spinoza (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
Ludwig Wittgenstein (SEE ALSO "IMPORTANT NOTE" BELOW)
IMPORTANT NOTE
The searchable works of many major Western philosophers and theologians (including those individual philosophers listed above with a "SEE ALSO" reference to this note) are now available to Marquette faculty, students, and staff via various networked or Internet databases. These full text online databases include: PAST MASTERS ONLINE, THESAURUS LINGUAE GRAECAE, THE LIBRARY OF LATIN TEXTS, and INDEX THOMISTICUS.
SEARCH AIDS AND BIBLIOGRAPHIC TIPS
- Search the Internet
Want more? Here you'll find a collection of search engines, indexes and directories. - Internet Resources Citation Guides
Learn how to cite information found on the Net in a bibliography. - Evaluating Information Sources
- Writer's Handbook
Produced by the Writing Center at UW-Madison. Contains tips on style, grammar, punctuation, and citing sources. - Research and Documentation Online
Information on finding and documenting sources in the humanities, social sciences, history, and the sciences.
Organizations/Jobs for Philosophers
ORGANIZATIONS
- ACPA Home Page
Home page of the American Catholic Philosophical Assocation. - Society of Christian Philosophers
- The American Philosophical Association
- Association Canadienne de Philosophie/Canadian Philosophical Association
- The Philosophy Documentation Center
- Scholarly Societies in Philosophy
- The Society for Women in Philosophy
A much longer list of Philosophical organizations is available here.
PHILOSOPHY JOB SEARCHING
Evaluting Internet Sites
The Web has little quality control and critical evaluation of internet sites is crucial. Some criteria t use when examining a Web site are:
1. Authority
- Is the document author or site sponsor clearly identified?
- Does the site identify the occupation, position, education, experience, or other credentials of the author?
- Does the home page or a clear link from the home page reveal the author's or sponsor's motivation for establishing the site?
- Does the site provide contact information for the author or sponsor such as an e-mail or organization address?
2. Objectivity or clear disclosure of advocacy
- Is the site's purpose clear (for example, to inform, entertain, or persuade)?
- Is the site explicit about declaring its point of view?
- Does the site indicate whether the author is affiliated with a specific organization, institution, or association?
- Does the site indicate whether it is directed toward a specific audience?
3. Coverage
- Are the topics covered by the site clear?
- Does the site exhibit a suitable depth and comprehensiveness for its purpose?
- Is sufficient evidence provided to support the ideas and opinions presented?
4. Accuracy
- Are the sources of information stated?
- Do the facts appear to be accurate?
- Can you verify this information by comparing this source with other sources in the field?
5. Currency
- Are dates included in the Web site?
- Do the dates apply to the material itself, to its placement on the Web, or to the time the site was last revised and updated?
- Is the information current, or at least still relevant, for the site's purpose? For your purpose?
(Criteria list taken in whole from: Ramage, Bean, and Johnson. The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Writing. 5th ed., customized for Marquette University. Boston: Pearson, Education, Inc., 2009: 602.)
Tips for Phil Papers
Writing in Philosophy courses -- a sample of advice from Marquette Philosophy faculty members.
Philosopher pics (#15)
Philosopher pics (#16)
Philosopher pics (#17)
Philosopher pics (#18)
Philosopher pics (#19)
Philosopher pics (#20)
Description
Loading content... please wait










Loading content... please wait