1. Find articles2. Using "and," "or," "not" (YouTube)3. Web searching tips (YouTube)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Philosophy 

A guide to research resources for PHILOSOPHY. This page is updated and augmented frequently.
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/philosophy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

More Online Resources             Print Page
  
 

Types of E-resources

Oxford and Cambridge Press E-Books

Searchabe primary source texts

Phil E-books and E-journals at MU

Philosophy Databases at MU

Need Help?

 

 

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu

24/7 Live Help

Research Consultation

 

Tips for Phil Papers

Writing in Philosophy courses -- a sample of advice from Marquette Philosophy faculty members.

 

Philosopher pics (#8)

Rene Descartes

René Descartes (1596-1650)

(Image source)

 

Philosopher pics (#9)

Benedict Spinoza

Benedict Spinoza (1632-1677)

(Image source)

 

Philosopher pics (#10)

Gottfried Leibniz (1646-1716)

(Image source)

 

Philosopher pics (#11)

David Hume

David Hume ((1711-1776)

(Image source)

 

Philosopher pics (#12)

Immanuel Kant

Immanuel Kant (1724-1804)

(Image source)

 

Philosopher pics (#13)

Hegel

G.W.F. Hegel (1770-1831)

(Image source)

 

Philosopher pics (#13a)

 

Soren Kierkegaard (1813-1855)

(Image source)

 

Philosopher pics (#14)

Charles Sanders Peirce

Charles Sanders Peirce (1839-1914)

(Image source)

 
 

Books -- online and searchable titles from Cambridge and Oxford

The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture

The Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism, this online collection contains over 1100 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 100 volumes).

Each volume also includes a substantial bibliography and other elements such as glossaries and timelines.

Oxford Scholarship Online - Philosophy

Contains over 500 full-text books covering core philosophical areas such as aesthetics, history of philosophy, logic, metaphysics and many more. An ONLINE TUTORIALl is also available.

 

Online searchable texts of philosophy primary sources

Past Masters Online                    (Search Tips)

Full, searchable text of works by major philosophers, including: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Ayer, Bacon, Bentham, Berkeley, Bradley, Burke, Calvin, Collingwood, Conway, Darwin, Davidson, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Machiavelli, Marx & Engels, Mill, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Peirce, Plato, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Sidgwick, Simmel, Spinoza, Weber, Wilson, and Wittgenstein.

Click here for a 6 minute online tutorial with tips for searching and using Past Masters Online.

 

Philosophy E-books & E-Journals in MARQCAT

Check out the list of Philosophy E-Books and Philosophy E-Journals available to Marquette students and staff.

 

Philosophy Databases

 

Abbreviationes Online from Institut für Philosophie

Abbreviationes, the first database of medieval Latin abbreviations, is designed for use in both learning and teaching of medieval Latin paleography. It is also a useful reference and reference tool for scholars using medieval Latin manuscripts or early printed books. Abbreviationes consists of a database (Main Dictionary) and a database application (Abbreviationes) suitable for everyone from the novice to the expert. Furthermore, the database currently comprises over 70,000 entries, nearly five times as many as you would find in the printed dictionaries by Walther, Chassant, De la Brana, Cappelli, and Pelzer combined. The Main Dictionary will continue to grow steadily since it includes annual updates and enhancements. Internet Explorer is the recommended Web browser for use with this database.

Academic Search Elite from EBSCO Search Tips

Provides full text for over 2,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more. Coverage varies by publication. Some full-text PDFs from 1985 to present.

L'Année Philologique from L'Année-Philologique Search Tips

Index to periodicals, books, and Festschriften in classics and classical studies, including Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics, and paleography. Records are classified in a two-part system: Ancient authors and texts, Subjects and disciplines. Searching available by modern authors, full text, ancient authors and texts, subjects and disciplines, word(s) in the title, publisher, collection, and by periodical. It is possible to limit a search by year of publication or by a range of years, and also by modern language (for French, English, German, Italian, or Spanish). 1969-2002. Does not work well with pop-up blockers.

 

Aristoteles Latinus Database from Brepols (available only from Library terminals)

Provides access to the complete corpus of medieval Greek-Latin translations of the works of Aristotle which includes the texts that have been critically edited in the print series Aristoteles Latinus. Other corpuses, both published and unpublished (future) editions, will be added to those of the Aristoteles Latinus series. However, the electronic database will not be identical to the printed editions, as it will not contain the prefaces in which the manuscript tradition is described, nor will it include its apparatus of variant readings, their Greek-Latin comparative apparatus, or its bilingual indexes. The ALD provides an integrated database of medieval translations of Aristotle's works. The electronic and the printed editions are thus intended to be complementary.

Aristotle Bibliography from St. Johns Univ.

The most complete database on Aristotelian scholarship available in either print or digital form. Includes over 45,000 entries (four times more than the listings in Philosopher's Index), covers over 35,000 academic articles and book reviews, 6200 books, and over 1500 Ph.D. dissertations in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and other European languages. 1900 to present.

ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials from EBSCO

Covers the research literature of religion in over 30 languages from 1,400 international journals. Full text access is available for 100+ journals. Topics include: Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. 1949 to present.

ATLASerials Database from ATLA

The ATLASerials (ATLAS) project provides full-text, searchable access to more than 60 journals. Printing articles is available by using the print function on the web browser. Coverage varies by title. VPN required for off-campus access.

Brill's New Pauly from Brill

Der neue Pauly and its English edition, Brill’s New Pauly, are offered together online. New Pauly, as the electronic version is called, covers the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean to Late Antiquity and represents the most complete database on the subject. It includes the entire texts of Metzler’s Der neue Pauly, which was published 1996-2003 in 18 volumes (13 on Antiquity; 5 on the Classical Tradition; 1 index volume) and all volumes of Brill’s New Pauly currently in print (as of Summer 2007, vols. 1-10 [A-Phe] Antiquity and vols. I & II [A-Ius] Classical Tradition). Features: more than 27,000 entries; fully searchable; fully cross-referenced; allows for Basic and Advanced searches; browsable alphabetical index in both German and English; includes maps and illustrations; Greek text searches.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index from EBSCO Search Tips

Index to Roman Catholic periodicals as well as papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith, authored by Catholics or produced by Catholic publishers. Covers 1981 to present.

CETEDOC - see Library of Latin Texts

 

Dissertations and Theses from ProQuest

This database contains records for more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Also included is the full text content for nearly 900,000 dissertations. Includes extensive coverage of North American graduate schools, with coverage of some European universities beginning in 1989. A separate database contains the subset of Marquette University doctoral dissertations in full text.

Encyclopaedia Judaica from Gale

Electronic version of the second edition of the 22 volume encyclopaedia covering Jewish life, history, culture and religion. Includes more than 21,000 signed articles, 600 maps, charts, tables and illustrations and 168 photos. Extensive cross-references, bibliographies, place-name lists, chronologies and a comprehensive fully searchable index are useful features.

Encyclopaedia of Islam from Brill

Electronic version of the original 9 volume (plus 2 updates) set. Represents over 10 million words and thousands of articles dealing with the ancient, medieval, and modern peiods of Islamic studies. Searches are possible in both Arabic transcription and English. The search engine allows for wildcard, Boolean, and proximity searches. Includes many hyperlinks for easy cross-referencing.

Francis from Ovid

Multi-disciplinary database produced in France which indexes over 4,200 journals in the humanities and social sciences since 1984. The subject descriptors and the abstracts are in both English and French. It is particularly strong in religion, art history, literature, psychology, philosophy, education, linguistics, archeology, information science, and sociology. Included are bibliographic citations to books as well as book chapters, journal articles, conference papers, exhibition catalogs, reports, legislation, teaching materials, and french dissertations. 1984 to present.

Fuente Academica from EBSCO Search Tips

Collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text (including PDF) for more than 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Coverage varies by publication. Most are 1995 to present.

Humanities in ProQuest from ProQuest

Covers popular magazine and scholarly journal articles on a wide range of arts and humanities topics including literature, history, fine arts, performing arts, philosophy, religion, communications, and linguistics. 1986 to present.

Index Islamicus from CSA

An international bibliography of publications on all aspects of Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world--including accounting, archaeology, architecture, arts, bibliography and scholarship, economics, education, geography and travel, history, law, libraries, natural and applied sciences, philosophy, politics and current affairs, religion, social sciences, theology, and zoology. Search criteria include: subject, author, title, keyword in title, keyword, year, place of publication, type of literature, and publisher. 1906 to present.

Index Thomisticus (Web version) from Fundación Tomás de Aquino

Full text (in Latin) of the works of Aquinas and 61 other related Latin works.

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text from Chadwyck-Healy Search Tips

Includes over 181,000 current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from popular and scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean—and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. Covers humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, sociology, and others. Full text coverage begins in 1998.

International Medieval Bibliography from Univ. of Leeds

Contains over 300,000 full bibliographical entries of articles, review articles, scholarly notes notes and similar literature on all aspects of medieval studies (1967-2003). Using familiar, multilingual terminology defined by professional medievalists for medievalists, this database employs 120,000 index terms classified into six types (subjects, persons, texts, places, manuscripts, etc.). Covers publications in over 30 languages. Relevant to Classics, English language and literature, History and archaeology, Theology, Philosophy, Medieval European languages and literatures, Arabic and Islamic studies, Art history, etc.. Coverage begins in 1967.

International Philosophical Bibliography from Université catholique de Louvain

Contains a list of books and articles listing the philosophical literature published in the following languages: Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish and Catalan. Works best with FireFox on PCs or Firefox or Safari on Macs.

Intra-Text Digital Library from Intratext

IntraText Digital Library includes books, periodicals, complete works and archives. Religious, philosophical, literary, and scientific texts are available in more than 30 languages.

Issues and Controversies@Facts.com from Facts On File

This full-text database contains in-depth and balanced articles dealing with contemporary issues and controversies. Keyword and subject searching is available as well as being able to browse by topic. A list of current hot topics is provided. This resource (in addition to CQ Researcher) is an EXCELLENT starting point for research on contemporary topics. September 25, 1995 to present.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance from Univ. of Toronto

A bibliography of scholarly materials on the Renaissance (1300-1700) and the Middle Ages (400-1500) published in over 300 journals since the 1840s.

JSTOR from JSTOR from JSTOR Search Tips

Full-text back files of nearly 400 of the most important journals in Business, Ecology, Economics, Finance, Management, History, Mathematics, Political Science, Population Studies, Language, Literature and Science. Entire text of each journal is searchable. VPN required for off-campus access.

Library of Latin Texts (formerly Cetedoc) from Brepols

Contains the complete Latin texts of the following series: Corpus Christianorum Series Latina and Corpus Christianorum Continuation Medievalis. Also contains important full-text works taken from other collections, such as the Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum, Sources Chrétiennes, Migne’s Patrologie Latina, Acta Sanctorum, and Analecta Hymnica Medii Aevi. Complete Latin works of patristic and medieval writers, including Ambrose, Augustine, Bernard of Clairvaux, Cassian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Thomas à Kempis and Thomas of Celano. Also contains the complete Latin texts of the Biblica Sacra Iuxta Vulgatam Versionem (the 1975 Fischer edition), Concilia Oecumenica et Geralia Ecclesiae Catholicae, and Corpus Pseuepigraphorum Latinorum Veteris Testamenti. VPN required for off-campus access.

Migne's Patrologiae Graecae from Religion and Technology Center

Patrologiae Graecae is a collection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. It includes, for example, the early writings collectively known as the Apostolic Fathers, such as the Epistles of Clement and The Shepherd of Hermas, the church historian Eusebius, the controversial theologian Origen, and the Cappadocian Fathers Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa. PG's coverage extends to 1439, the date of the Council of Florence. The texts are generally interlaced, with one column of Greek and a corresponding column on the other side of the page that is the Latin translation. Where the Greek has been lost, such as in Irenaeus, the full text appears only in Latin, and the extant Greek fragments of the work are interspersed throughout the Latin text. In one instance, the original is preserved in Syriac only and translated into Latin. 1st century A.D. to 1439. VPN required for off-campus access.

 

New Catholic Encyclopedia from Gale

The second edition of the New Catholic Encyclopedia appeared in 2003, thoroughly updating and revising the 1967 publication. The new edition contains almost 12,000 articles in fifteen volumes, as well as maps, illustrations, tables, photos, and bibliographies. The Encyclopedia contains information on persons, institutions, cultural phenomena, religions, philosophies, scientific developments, and social movements affecting the life of the Catholic Church over two millennia. The online version permits searching by title and author of the entry, as well as by keyword in the full text.

Patrologia Graecae see - Migne's Patrologica Graecae

 

Patrologia Latina from Chadwyck-Healy Search Tips

Full text of Jacques-Paul Migne’s 19th century work of patristic and medieval Christian Latin texts from the 2nd to the 13th centuries, with related humanistic and ecclesiastical scholarship from the 16th to the 19th centuries.

Periodicals Archive Online from Chadwyck-Healy

Contains the full text content of 350 periodicals journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (some dating back 200 years) to 1995.

Periodicals Index Online from Chadwyck-Healy

Index of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It indexes every issue of over 4700 journals from their inception to 1995, across 37 subject areas and 44 languages and dialects.

Philosophy Online (formerly POIESIS) from InteLex

Contains the full text of current, recent, and back issues of a growing number of philosophy journals. Every word in every journal issue in the database is fully searchable, including all articles, book reviews, footnotes, announcements, and notices. Users can view up to a paragraph of text around each "hit;" many journal titles also allow full text display. More than 70 journals are currently licensed for the project, and current and/or recent issues of 55 philosophy journals are now in the POIESIS database.

ProQuest Research Library from ProQuest

Indexing, abstracts and selected full text or full images of articles in a wide range of magazines and journals. It includes general interest and news publications as well as selected scholarly journals. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles; some full text and full image articles. Coverage varies by title with good coverage for late 1980's to present, some earlier coverage.

Religious and Theological Abstracts from Religious and Theological Abstracts, Inc.

Covers articles in Christian (mainly Protestant), Jewish, and Muslim journals. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of journal articles. 1958 to present.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae from Univ. of California-Irvine.

Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, plus historiographical, lexicographic, and scholiastic texts from the period between 600 and 1453. Includes the Septuagint and Greek New Testament. NOTE: Best viewed with Internet Explorer (ver. 5.0+) using the "GreekKeys" font. Requires downloading and installation of a Polytonic Greek font available on TLG's font page.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae from Univ. of California-Irvine (this version available only from Library terminals)

Contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, plus historiographical, lexicographic, and scholiastic texts from the period between 600 and 1453. Includes the Septuagint and Greek New Testament. All necessary fonts have been installed on Raynor Memorial PC workstations.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae from K.G. Saur Electronic Publishing (this version available only from Library terminals)

A searchable, electronic version of the world's largest monolingual Latin dictionary. Users can easily find detailed documentation of usage, etymology, and history of Latin words, as well as the survival of Latin words in other languages. The TLL documents and describes the use of Latin in surviving texts to A.D. 600, and is used by Latin scholars, researchers, and students worldwide.

Thomae Aquinatis Opera Omnia from Editoria Elettronica Editel (this version available only from Library terminals)

Full text (in Latin) of the works of Aquinas and 61 other related Latin works. An electronic version of the printed concordance, Index Thomisticus.

Thomae Aquinatis Opera Omnia (Web version) from Fundación Tomás de Aquino

Full text (in Latin) of the works of Aquinas and 61 other related Latin works. An electronic version of the printed concordance, Index Thomisticus.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait