1. Find articles2. Using "and," "or," "not" (YouTube)3. Web searching tips (YouTube)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Philosophy 

A guide to research resources for PHILOSOPHY. This page is updated and augmented frequently.
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/philosophy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Writing & Citing             Print Page
  

Need Help?

IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

PLAGIARISM

What is plagiarism? How can I avoid plagiarizing? Check out this SITE prepared by MU's "Writing Across the Curriculum" program. These additional sites are recommended: PLAGIARISM (from Northwestern University);Turnitin's resouces on avoiding PLAGIARISM; and, finally, this site at Dartmouth College, Sources: Their Use and Acknowledgement.


Loading Podcast Content...
 

Tips for Phil Papers

Writing in Philosophy courses -- a sample of advice from Marquette Philosophy faculty members.

 

Ott Writing Center

Need help writing your paper?

The Ott Writing Center offers one-to-one tutoring to all Marquette students, staff, and faculty on all kinds of writing projects, from first year English papers to graduate theses, from history papers to personal statements for law school. The Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of Raynor Library.

 

Research Tutorial

SEARCHPATH is an online tutorial that will help you learn to find and critically evaluate information sources. It is customized for Marquette University users, and it includes modules on search tips, using MARQCAT, the Web, finding articles, and citing sources.

 

Writing at Marquette

Writing Across the Curriculum is designed to help you

succeed as a writer in courses

across the Marquette curriculum.

 

Philosopher pics (#21)

W.V.O. Quine

W.V.O. Quine (1908-2000)

(Image source)

 

Philosopher pics (#22)

G.E.M. Anscombe (1919-2001)

(Image source)

 
 

Style Guides/Manuals

According to Wikipedia, a style guide "is a set of standards for design and writing of documents, either for general use or for a specific publication or organization."  A style guide generally covers everything about writing a document for publication, e.g., how to format the title page, where to set the margins, how to use tables or figures, how to cite your references, etc.

Style guide. (2008, March 30). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 03:01, April 2, 2008, from http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Style_guide&oldid=202074962

For research papers, PHILOSOPHY FACULTY are likely to require the formats of either the Chicago Manual of Style (CML) or the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed. (2003). The Chicago Manual of Style is available online; the MLA Handbook is available (in print only) in the Raynor Library Reference collection.  See below:

  • Chicago Manual of Style
    Available ONLINE only to Marquette University students and staff
  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (6th ed.)
    Raynor Reference Collection: LB2369 .G53 2003

    Available in print only

 

Additional ONLINE writing and citing resources

Although the 6th ed. of the MLA Handbook is not available online, online help with MLA citations along with guidance about citing and other format matters is available through the following:

  • Build a Citation, Signpost at Raynor Memorial Library

 

These sites will provide assistance with citing Internet Resources:

Additional resources that may be of value for writing your papers:

 

Citation Manager Software

Citation or Reference managers are software products which can store and organize your references. In addition to the organizational benefits these products can help create bibliographies formatted in any style. Some can also create in-text citations or footnotes as you write your paper.

RefWorks

This Web-base citation manager allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus. Create your account at the Refworks' login screen.

RefWorks is provided to the Marquette community through MU Libraries' subscription to the service. For more inormation and helpful guides go to the Libraries' RefWorks information page

EndNote Web

This Web-based reference management tool allows you to create a personal database of references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.

Endnote Web is provided free of charge to Marquette students and faculty as part of our subscription to Web of Science. If you don't have a personal Web of Science account, you can sign up for an Endnote Web account at myendnoteweb.com. You must be on campus in order to create an account. Once registered, you can access your Endnote Web account from on or off campus. You will need to login while on campus at least once every twelve months in order to maintain your account.

 

Why RefWorks??

See how RefWorks can make your life easier. This short video was prepared by the University of Notre Dame. For more info on RefWorks at Marquette, click HERE.

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography database manager that allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus.


Loading Video Clip...
 

Why RefWorks?, another short video

Another short video highlighting RefWorks.


Loading Video Clip...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait