1. Find articles2. Using "and," "or," "not" (YouTube)3. Web searching tips (YouTube)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Philosophy 

A guide to research resources for PHILOSOPHY. This page is updated and augmented frequently.
Last update: Oct 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/philosophy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Start Here             Print Page
  

Need Help?

IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 

Philosopher pics (#1)

Socrates

Socrates (496 BC-399 BC)

(Image source)

 
 

Welcome

Welcome--

The purpose of this guide is to assist you in finding and using resources in PHILOSOPHY. The tabs above will help you find articles, books, and other information. Each tab introduces a range of resources, both print and electronic, but is not intended to be exhaustive.

If you need additional help, check out the "Need Help?" box located in the left sidebar of many of the Philosophy Research Guide pages to contact a librarian by IM, phone, or email.

Included on this "Start Here" page is a short list of resources--some available online and some available only in print format in the Raynor Library Reference Collection--that may help you get started with your research.

Good Starting Points--Online resources

A selection of online Philosophy encyclopedias and dictionaries for a quick overview of a philosopher or topic:

             Print copy also available in Raynor Reference: B51.E53 2006

             Print copy also available in Raynor Reference: BX841.N44 2003

             Print copy also available in Raynor Reference: CB9.N49 2005

             Print copy also available in Raynor Reference: B51.B53 1994

      
     

    Good Starting Points--Print resources

    A selection of print resources available in the Reference Department of Raynor Library for a quick overview of your topic.

    • A Companion to the Philosophers
      Raynor Reference: B72.C595 1999

      A Companion to the Philosophers surveys the major philosophical thinkers in Western and non-Western traditions. Multicultural in its approach, it provides authoritative coverage of the major Chinese, Indian, Japanese, African, Jewish, and Islamic philosophers, as well as European and American thinkers.

    • Blackwell Companion to Philosophy
      Raynor Reference: B21.B56 2003

      The 2nd edition of this distinguished and popular Companion introduces new chapters on the philosophy of biology; bioethics, genethics, and medical ethics; environmental ethics; business ethics; ethnicity, culture and philosophy; Plato and Aristotle; medieval philosophy; Francis Bacon, Nietzsche; Husserl and Heidegger; and Sartre, Foucault and Derrida. It also revises several existing chapters to extend its comprehensive and authoritative exploration of the issues, controversies, and problems that arise from the study of philosophy.

    • Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
      Raynor Reference: B51.C35 1999

      "The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy is a superb reference work that will help philosophers and non-philosophers alike to understand major figures and ideas in the history of philosophy. Superbly cross-referenced and meticulously edited it will also provide students and teachers with leads to follow, and guides for further reading and research." Edward Said, Columbia University

     

    Subject Librarian

    Profile ImagePat Doyle
    Contact Info:
    Technical Services
    Raynor Memorial Libraries
    288-8742
    email me

    Subjects:
    Philosophy, Medieval Studies

     

    Tips for Phil Papers

    Writing in Philosophy courses -- a sample of advice from Marquette Philosophy faculty members.

     

    Ott Writing Center

    Need help writing your paper?

    The Ott Writing Center offers one-to-one tutoring to all Marquette students, staff, and faculty on all kinds of writing projects, from first year English papers to graduate theses, from history papers to personal statements for law school. The Writing Center is located on the 2nd floor of Raynor Library.

     

    Writing at Marquette

    Writing Across the Curriculum is designed to help you

    succeed as a writer in courses

    across the Marquette curriculum.

     

    Research Tutorial

    SEARCHPATH is an online tutorial that will help you learn to find and critically evaluate information sources. It is customized for Marquette University users, and it includes modules on search tips, using MARQCAT, the Web, finding articles, and citing sources.

     

    Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
    © 2008 Marquette University

    Description

      Loading content... please wait