Background on Testing & MeasurementTests for Children, Adults, Family IssuesTests for Health IssuesTests for Psychiatry, Disorders, Mental Health IssuesTests for Social, Cultural, Educational Issues
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Psychological Tests and Measures  Tags: assessment psychology testing measurement  

Need an assessment tool? This guide will help you identify tools to assess various conditions and obtain a copy to use.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/tests-measures  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Get a Copy of the Test             Print Page
  
 

Getting the test

Obtaining a copy of a test can take time and may be problematic. Tests and other measurement tools are generally considered either 'published' or 'unpublished'.
Published. Generally commercially available, thus you may need to purchase a copy or permission from the publisher. Many tests require professional credentials or oversight to administer.
Unpublished. Unless specified otherwise, obtain permission from author to use. Copies of tools can sometimes be found in books, journal articles or other collections and can be reproduced.

Permission to use: all testing tools are considered copyrighted, thus you must obtain permission from the copyright holder before using the tool.

Need Help?

IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556

Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu

Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation

Stop by In-person:
Service Hours

 
 

MU Test Collections

Marquette Libraries do not maintain a collection of of published tests. A collection of 'unpublished' tests is available:

Tests in Microfiche. 1974-2004. Raynor Library, Lower Level, Media and Reserves Room MICROFICHE G-845
Copies of over 1000 unpublished assessment tools in microfiche format, updated annually. Tools in this collection may be reproduced; original authors should be credited; other permitted uses are explained on the fiche. Identified in TestLink record as 'TIM' in the Test Acronym field or 'Tests in Microfiche' in the Availability field.  The Call Number field provides the number of the fiche on which the test is reproduced, e.g. TC 210655. Print index of tests in this collection in Reference Collection LB 3051 .T45

MU owns many books in the following index produced by University of Texas at Austin.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes Indexes 10,800 tools located in 121 books, listed by author and keyword; check MARQCAT by title of book to locate.

See also the books listed in the Books About... tab. Many have sample or copies of tests included.

If you use a test from any of the above sources, 'permission to use' may be implied. Check the usage/agreement/license statement if there is one. For obtaining permission and/or copies of tests from other sources see the box below.

 

Obtaining Permission to Use

Obtaining permission to use an assessment tool is essential and may take time.

'Published' tools are generally available from the publisher and may require professional credentials or supervision to administer. Contact information for publishers can be located in TiP, MMY, TestLink or HaPI.  ETS sells copies of tests, see below.

Permission to use 'unpublished' tools is generally sought from the author/creator of the tool. Current contact information for authors is sometimes more difficult to ascertain. Begin with the information in the sources listed in the 'Finding' sources like MMY, try additional online directories, Google, etc.

Behavioral Measurement Database Services (BMDS), which produces the HaPI database, offers a fee-based service to obtain a copy of a tool or seek permission from authors on your behalf. Prices range from $20 and up and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks. Contact BMDS at 412-687-5213 or email at bmdshapi@aol.com

ETS Store Some tools can be purchase through the Educational Testing Service Tests on Demand service. Most are available in pdf format and down-loadable upon payment. Cost is $25 per test. Caution: many are available free in MU's Tests in Microfiche collection, see details above. (Note: these are tests developed by other entities, NOT ETS's own tests e.g. SAT, GRE, etc.)

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait