Background on Testing & MeasurementTests for Children, Adults, Family IssuesTests for Health IssuesTests for Psychiatry, Disorders, Mental Health IssuesTests for Social, Cultural, Educational Issues
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Psychological Tests and Measures  Tags: assessment psychology testing measurement  

Need an assessment tool? This guide will help you identify tools to assess various conditions and obtain a copy to use.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/tests-measures  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles about...             Print Page
  

Article Databases

Databases provide a systematic method of searching for articles, and other documents, on your topic. Some databases include full text of the documents they index but many do not. The top databases for locating articles about tests and measurements in various fields are:

  • PsycINFO  
      
    The most comprehensive database for psychology research covers scholarly international literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes articles in more than 2000 journals as well as book chapters and dissertations.
  • HaPI: Health and Psychosocial Instruments  
      
    Indexes articles with descriptions and analyses of assessment tools used in health and psychology, i.e., questionnaires, checklists, indexes, rating scales, tests, etc. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.
  • ERIC  
      
    Comprehensive database in Education, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, indexes journal articles and specialized reports in educational fields back to 1960s. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.
  • MEDLINE  
      
    International coverage of over 3,800 journals in the fields of medicine, including psychiatry, public health, pharmacology, and clinical sciences. 1966 to present. VPN required if off-campus and also using RefWorks.
 
 

Articles about Test and Measurement Tools

Databases provide a variety of options for focusing your search results to articles measurement tools or tests.  Below are some tips for options available in PsycINFO.  Similar techniques may be used in other databases

PsycINFO - extensively covers psychology including sources from education and health disciplines.

  • To find articles about a specific measurement tool, first search the name of the tool as a subject search. Some well known tools have specific subject headings. If no subject heading is identified, un-check the box labelled 'Map to Subject Heading' and search the name of the tools as a keyword search. If this set is large, search the subject/condition you want to research and combine the two concept sets with AND.
  • To find articles about tools used to measure a subject, condition, etc., first seach the subject/condition.

e.g. search a broad category (e.g. measures) and view the subject headings suggested:

Ovid mapping measures

Select the heading that closely defines your search topic (e.g. Personality Measures). Click on the phrase to view the narrower and related headings, some of which refer to specific tools. Select one or more terms that define your 'personality measures' concept.

Ovid personality tree

 

  • For either of the above methods you can limit a set of articles in one of the following ways (you may want to try both). Click on 'Additional Limits' and select:
    • 'Tests & Measures' option in the group at top, then click Limit A Search
      Ovid limit tests


    • In the Classification Codes drop-down box, select the categories most relevant to your measurement need from '2220 Tests and Testing' through the more specific 2221-2229 categories.
    Ovid Limit Categories
  • To find articles containing the actual measurement tool, start by using one of the methods described above. then, search the word appended as a keyword search (turn off 'Map to Subject Heading'). Combine the 'Appended' results with the results of the previous search using AND to combine the sets.

 

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait