Background on Testing & MeasurementTests for Children, Adults, Family IssuesTests for Health IssuesTests for Psychiatry, Disorders, Mental Health IssuesTests for Social, Cultural, Educational Issues
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Psychological Tests and Measures  Tags: assessment psychology testing measurement  

Need an assessment tool? This guide will help you identify tools to assess various conditions and obtain a copy to use.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/tests-measures  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background on Testing & Measurement             Print Page
  
 

Why background sources?

Background sources are encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc. that provide summary and factual information. These sources generally contain well established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding on which to build. Use Background sources to:

  • find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic
  • get the historical context and relationships to other topics
  • identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
  • find or verify data, facts, formulas, etc.
 
 

Background on Testing and Measurement

BF 176 .K575 2000    
Handbook of psychological testing. (2nd ed.)  Kline, P.
Covers psychometric theory, kinds of psychological tests, applied testing, & evaluation of the published tests.

H 62 .M44 2002    
Handbook of research design & social measurement. (6th ed.)  Miller, D. C. et al.
Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of design and analysis; Pt. 7 discusses specific scales and indexes.

LB 3051 .H3199 1997    
Handbook on testing.  Dillon, R. F.
Background on all aspects of testing.

BF 176 .L64 2001    
An introduction to psychological tests and scales. (2nd ed.)  Loewenthal, K. M.
Step-by-step guide to constructing reliable and valid measurement tools.

BF 176.A48 2003    
Psychological testing and assessment. (11th ed.)  Aiken, L. R.
Comprehensive background on construction and use of tests in psychological, educational, and employment settings.

BF 176 .M87 2001    
Psychological testing: principles and applications. (5th ed.)  Murphy, K. R. et al.
Covers theory, methods, and applications of psychological testing.

BF 39 .A433 1997    
Questionnaires and inventories: surveying opinions and assessing personality.  Aiken, L. R. et al.
Covers skills needed to construct assessment tools; disk contains programs for designing, constructing, administering, scoring, and evaluating all types of questionnaires and inventories.

 

Something Missing?

Know of a book that would be a good addition to this list?  Let us know and we will consider adding the title.  Provide a MARQCAT or Amazon URL.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait