Background on Testing & MeasurementTests for Children, Adults, Family IssuesTests for Health IssuesTests for Psychiatry, Disorders, Mental Health IssuesTests for Social, Cultural, Educational Issues
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Psychological Tests and Measures  Tags: assessment psychology testing measurement  

Need an assessment tool? This guide will help you identify tools to assess various conditions and obtain a copy to use.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/tests-measures  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Tests and Measures             Print Page
  
 

Finding a test

Finding information about specific tests is usually not difficult. There are a variety of 'finding aids' that list and review hundreds of different tests and measurement tools. Some of these finding aids are available electronically, others are in print format. No one source is totally comprehensive, thus you may need to check several.

If you don't know of a specific test to use for your research, these tools will also help you identify what tests would be appropriate for your need. Consult several for a wide variety of choices.

 

Identifying Tests and Measures - Electronic Sources

No one aid is completely comprehensive, thus you may need to use several to locate the assessment tool you need. Additional print sources are described in the next 'box'.

Online Sources:
Tests in Print (TIP) a comprehensive database of all known, commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. When available, TiP records link directly to the critical test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (see below). SEARCHING: For best results, avoid complicated search terms and combinations. With the basic, somewhat abbreviated records in this database the best practice is to search broadly and filter the results by browsing through the records.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides descriptions of published assessment tools, including title, author, audience, publisher, validity, reliability, norming data and scoring information. Most entries also include one or more reviews. Earlier paper editions (1938-1978) available in Raynor Reference BF431 .M44.

TestLink Index of over 25,000 assessment tools from the early 1900s to the present, compiled by Educational Testing Service. Tests indexed in the collection are generally from 3 sources:

  • Tests in Microfiche - Copies of over 1000 unpublished assessment tools in microfiche format, rom 1975-2004. May be reproduced. Raynor Library, Lower Level, Media and Reserves Room MICROFICHE G-845
  • ETS Store – Some tools can be purchase through the Educational Testing Service Store
  • Published Tests – Tools available from various publishers. Contact publisher for availability.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes Index of 12,000 tools located in 126 books, listed by author and keyword. Produced by University of Texas at Austin. MU Libraries have many of the books; check MARQCAT by title of book.

See the Books About... tab above for books containing assessment tools for various topics

HaPI, Health and Psychosocial Instruments: Indexes journal articles with description and analyses of assessment tools used in health and psychology; 1985 – present

PsycINFO: Indexes journal articles, book chapters, dissertations. Can limit results of a search to articles about a test as opposed to articles mentioning a test in the methodology. See Articles about... tab for more information

 

Finding Tests - Print sources

Raynor Reference BF176 .T43 2003
Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business. 5th ed. Directory of published tests for use in psychology, education, and business. Descriptions include test title, author, intended population, major features, scoring method, cost, availability and primary publisher. Indexed by title, author, publisher/distributor index, and special populations.

Raynor Reference BF431 .G625 v.1-8
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures.
Published periodically, each volume identifies tests in psychology, education, sociology, and business that are not commercially available but have been cited in journals and other reports.

Raynor Reference BR 176 .T418
Test Critiques.  1984-2005.
This multi-volume set contains critical reviews of frequently used assessment tools as well as the basic information tool information found in other sources.

Raynor Reference BF176.C65 2000
Commissioned reviews of 250 psychological tests.
Provides 300 reviews of tests covering most areas of psychology.

Raynor Ref. BF 698.5 .C45    Chun, K. et al.
Measures for psychological assessment: a guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications.  1975. Brief description of tool, citations to first description in literature and subsequent uses.

 
 

Getting the test

Obtaining a copy of the test can be a challenge. Tests are generally either 'published' or 'unpublished'. All testing tools are considered copyrighted and you must obtain permission from the copyright holder before using the tool.

Published. Generally available commercially, thus you may need to purchase a copy or obtain rights from the publisher. Many tests require professional credentials to administer.
Unpublished. Unless specified otherwise, obtain permission from author to use. Copies of tools can sometimes be found in books, journal articles or other collections and can be reproduced.

For more information on obtaining copies of tests or assessment tools go to the 'Get a Copy...' tab.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait