Com 161 Research GuideCommunication 1100Communication 6000
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Communication  Tags: communication broadcasting mass media journalism  

Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Communication 6000             Print Page
  

Need Help?

 

 

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu

24/7 Live Help

Research Consultation

 
 

Sources

Communication 200

 

 

 Identifying books:

MARQCAT online catalog for the two campus libraries (Raynor Memorial Libraries & the Law Library); identifies titles of books, journals, A-V materials and other items that are held; remote logon 24 hours/7 days a week.

• Note for each item: specific library location, call number, status

• Marqcat Help

Guide to locate where books/periodicals & other materials are in Raynor Memorial Libraries

• See "Catalogs of Other Libraries”to search holdings of many other libraries

WISCAT (over 1000 Wisconsin libraries’ holdings)

WorldCat (OCLC, national union catalog), over 40 million records of items

CountyCat (Milwaukee Public Library, 814 W. Wisconsin Ave.)

Click here for general information about Milwaukee Public Library

UW-Milwaukee Golda Meir Library

 

 

Indexes and Abstracts

Indexes and Abstracts are useful in conducting extensive reviews of the literature. 
The following selected list is necessarily broad because of the interdisciplinary nature of communication research.
The following databases are available via the library’s Web site at

Note: the Articles,Databases & Other E-Resources is divided by subject categories. Depending upon the topic to be researched, Communication students may need to consult various databases within the lists of the various disciplines as listed below. Some databases may appear on more than one list.


  Most electronic databases, including MARQCAT, have printing, downloading, and e-mail facilities.

 

Off-campus access to most library databases is possible.
Click here:
Accessing Library E-Resources from Home

ABI-INFORM (Includes some full-text).  Coverage of about 800 business and management journals since 1971--.  Good coverage of marketing, advertising and public relations.

America, History & Life Includes references and abstracts to journal articles pertaining to American and Canadian history and culture. Indexing includes articles published from 1968 to date.

COMMUNICATION ABSTRACTS (Includes some full-text). One of the MAJOR databases in the area of communications. Includes references/abstracts to journal articles in the areas of communication, mass media, journalism, broadcasting, electronic communication, public relations, advertising, etc. Goes back to 1978.

COMMUNICATION and Mass Media Complete (Includes some full-text).  A MAJOR database in the area of communications.  Includes references/abstracts to journal articles in the areas of communication, mass media, journalism, broadcasting, electronic communication, public relations, advertising, etc.

COMMUNICATION Studies (SAGE Collection Full-text) Full-text articles from over 20 major communication journals.  Articles are searchable by topics, authors, etc.

Dissertations and Theses (originally titled Dissertation Abstracts) Summaries of over 2 million doctoral dissertations and masters' theses from a number of universities worldwide, plus full-text of over 900,000 doctoral dissertations and master's theses.  Also, includes full-text of many (but not all) dissertations written by Marquette University doctoral students.  1861--.

ERIC Provides broad coverage of the field of education, especially useful for coverage of journalism and speech, 1969--.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Contains full-text articles published in thousands of U.S. and international newspapers; also contains full-text of articles of selective journals and magazines and transcripts from specific television and radio news programs.

Proquest Research Library Provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text or full images of articles in a wide range of magazines and journals.  Includes general interest and news publications as well as selected scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines including:  sociology, criminal justice, communications, etc.  Also, contains subset “Proquest Psychology Journals” which includes full-text articles in over 300 psychology journals.  Dates of coverage vary by periodical title.  Good coverage for late 1980's to present, with some earlier coverage.

PsycINFO American Psychological Association’s major index for almost 1450 journals, papers, and conference proceedings from more than 50 countries.

Psychology in Proquest Subset of the Proquest Research Library Database.  Provides indexing of over 300 professional and scholarly periodicals related to psychology. Some full-text included.

Sociological Abstracts Covers research in sociology and related disciplines.  Indexes over 2000 journals from approximately 55 countries, providing bibliographic citations and abstracts for the journal articles.  Electronic version covers 1972 to date.

Web of Science (1981--)  Comprehensive indexing for over 8700 journals in hundreds of disciplines; unique ability to search articles cited and articles related by references cited in common.  Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index & the Science Citation Index which can be searched separately or all together.

Worldwide Political Abstracts Covers research in political science and related disciplines.  Indexes over 1300 journals providing bibliographic citations and abstracts for the journal articles.  Electronic version covers 1975 to date.

 

HANDBOOKS

Handbooks provide a comprehensive summary of past research and thematic viewpoints in the discipline.  Handbooks generally are broad-based and treat a number of topics.  Delays in publication and the breadth of topics covered may result in handbooks being dated, but they are a good starting point for students getting background, conceptual framework, and initial bibliography. A few examples:

  • Albarran, Alan B. et.al., eds. Handbook of Media Management and Economics. (Earlbaum Associates 2006.) Memorial Library P 96 .M34 H366 2006
  • Anderson, Peter A., Laura K. Guerrero, eds.  Handbook of Communication and Emotion: Research, Theory, Applications, and Contexts. (Academic Press, 1998.) Memorial Library BF637.C45 H283 1998
  • Ashkanasy, Neal,  et.al., eds.  Handbook of Organizational Culture and Climate (Sage, 2000.) Memorial Library HD 58.7 .H363 2000  
  • Caywood, Clarke L. The Handbook of Strategic Public Relations and Integrated Communications. (McGraw-Hill, 1997.) Memorial Library HM 263 .H317 1997
  • Clegg, Stewart R. et. al. The Handbook of Organization Studies. (2nd ed., Sage, 2006.) Memorial Library HD 31 .H31257 2006
  • Davis, Kathy et al., eds. Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies. (SAGE, 2006.) Memorial Library HQ 1180 .H355 2006
  • Denzin, Norman K. and Yvonna S. Lincoln, eds. Sage Handbook of Qualitative Research. (Sage, 2005.) Memorial Library HQ 1090 .H33 2005
  • Deutsch, Morton, et al., eds. The Handbook of Conflict Resolution: Theory and Practice. (Jossey-Bass, 2006.) Memorial Library HM 1126 .H35 2006
  • Dow, Bonnie J. and Julia T. Wood, eds. The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Communication. (Sage, 2006.) Memorial Library P 96.S48 S34 2006
  • Downing, John D. H. et al., eds. The SAGE Handbook of Media Studies. (Sage, 2004.) Memorial Library P 90 .S18 2004
  • Frey, Lawrence R. Handbook of Group Communication Theory and Research (Sage, 1999.) Memorial Library HM 133 .H354 1999
  • Gelfand, Michelle J. and Jeanne M. Brett. Handbook of Negotiation and Culture. (Stanford Business Books, 2004.) Memorial Library K 2390 .H35 2004
  • Gillis, Tamara L. The IABC Handbook of Organizational Communication : a Guide to Internal Communication, Public Relations, Marketing, and Leadership. (Josey-Bass, 2006.) Memorial Library HD 30.36 .U5 I572 2006
  • Glennen, Sharon L. and Denise C. Decosta. Handbook of Augmentative and Alternative Communication. (Singular, 1997.) Memorial Library  RC 423 .H325 1997
  • Golembiewski, Robert T. Handbook of Organizational Behavior. (Marcel Dekker, 2001.) Memorial Library HD 58.7 .H355 2001
  • Gudykunst, William and Bella Mody, eds. Handbook of International and Intercultural Communication. (Sage, 2002.) Memorial Library P 94.6 .H36 2002
  • Hellinger, Marlis and Anne Pauwels, eds. Handbook of Language and Communication: Diversity and Change. (Mouton de Gruyter, 2007.) Memorial Library P40 .H3424 2007
  • Jablin, Fred.  New Handbook of Organizational Communication. (Sage, 2001.) Memorial Library HD 30.3 .H3575 2001
  • Jensen, Klaus Bruhn. A Handbook of Media and Communication Research: Qualitative and Quantitative Methodologies. (Routledge, 2002.)  Memorial Library P 91.3 H34 2002
  • Kaid, Linda Lee. Handbook of Political Communication Research. (Erlbaum, 2004.)  Memorial Library JA 85 .H36 2004
  • Kimmel, Michael S. et al, eds. Handbook of Men and Masculinities. (SAGE, 2005.) Memorial Library HQ 1090 .H33 2005
  • Klingemann, Hans Dieter and Andrea Roemmele. Public Information Campaigns & Opinion Research: A Handbook for Students and Practitioners. (Sage, 2002.)  Memorial Library JF 2112 .C3 P83 2002
  • Knapp, M.L., Handbook of Interpersonal Communication. (Sage, 2002.) Memorial Library BF 637 .C45 H287 2002
  • Kotthoff, Helga and Helen Spencer-Oatey, eds. Handbook of Intercultural Communication. (Mouton de Gruyter, 2007.) Memorial Library P 94.6 .H356 2007
  • Landis, Dan. Handbook of Intercultural Training. (Sage, 1996.) Memorial Library GN 496 .H36 1996
  • Lange, Bernd-Peter and David. Ward. The Media and Elections: a Handbook and Comparative Study. (Erlbaum, 2004.) Memorial Library P 95.82.E85 M42 2004
  • Lievrouw, Leah A. and Sonia Livingstone, eds. Handbook of New Media: Social Shaping and Social Consequences of ICTs. (SAGE, 2006.) Memorial Library P 96 .T42 H36 2006
  • Manusov, Valerie and Miles L. Patterson, eds. The SAGE Handbook of Nonverbal Communication. (SAGE, 2006.) Memorial Library BF 637 .N66 S24 2006
  • Mann, Chris and Fiona Stewart. Internet Communication and Qualitative Research: A Handbook for Researching Online. (Sage,2000.) Memorial Library H 61.95 .M36 2000
  • Miller, Delbert Charles Handbook of Research Design & Social Measurement.(Sage, 2002.) Memorial Library H 62 .M44 2002
  • Oetzel, John G. and Stella Ting-Toomey, eds. The SAGE Handbook of Conflict Communication: Integrating Theory, Research, and Practice. (Sage, 2006) Memorial Library HM 1126 .S24 2006
  • Raney, Arthur A. and Jennings Bryant, eds. Handbook of Sports and Media. (Erlbaum Associates, 2006.) Memorial Library GV 742 .H35 2006
  • Singer, Dorothy and Jerome Singers, eds. Handbook of Children and the Media (Sage, 2000.) Memorial Library HQ 784 .T4 S533 2001
  • Smith, Ken, et al., eds. Handbook of Visual Communication: Theory, Methods, and Media. (Lawrence Erlbaum, 2005.) Memorial Library P 93.5 .H363 2005
  • Tardy, Charles H., ed. Handbook for the Study of Human Communication. (Ablex, 1988.) Memorial Library P 91 .H36 1988
  • Thomas, Erwin K. Handbook on Mass Media in the United States. (Greenwood, 1994.)  Memorial Library P 92 .U5H36 1994
  • Thompson Teresa L. et. al. Handbook of Health Communication. (Erlbaum, 2003.) Memorial Library R 118 .H26 2003
  • Welch-Ross, Melissa K. and Lauren G. Fasig. Handbook on Communicating and Disseminating Behavioral Science. (Sage, 2007.) Memorial Library BF 77 .H27 2007
  • Wheelen, Susan A., ed.Handbook of Group Research and Practice (SAGE Publications, 2005.) Memorial Library HM 716 .H35 2005

For additional coverage of theoretical aspects, look in MARQCAT under subject headings:

Communication--Research;
or
Mass media--Research.  Examples include:
  • Berger, Arthur Asa. Media and Communication Research Methods
    (Sage, 2000.)  Memorial Library P 91.3 .B385 2000
  • Bertrand, Ina Media Research Methods
    (Palgrave Macmillan, 2005.)  Memorial Library P 91.3 .B47 2005
  • Lindlof, Thomas R. Qualitative Communication Research Methods
    (Sage, 1995.)  Memorial Library P 91.3 .L56 1995
  • Potter, W. James An Analysis of Thinking and Research about Qualitative Methods
    (Erlbaum, 1996.)  Memorial Library P 91.3 .P68 1996
  • Rubin, Rebecca B., ed. Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook
    (Guilford, 1994.)  Memorial Library P 91.3 .C62 1994
  • Singletary, Michael W. Mass Communication Research: Contemporary Methods and Applications
    (Longman, 1994.)  Memorial Library P 91.3 .S53 1994
  • Stempel, Guido H., et al. Mass Communication Research and Theory
    (Allyn and Bacon, 2003.) Memorial Library P 91.3 .M36 2003

 

Annual Reviews may help select or refine a research question; find information and sources; and update a working bibliography.  Annual reviews provide yearly summaries of current research activities and also provide a vehicle for gauging the level of research in an area.  Selected examples:

Miscellaneous

  • Encyclopedia of Communication and Information (3 vols.) New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. Raynor Reference P 87.5 .E53 2002
  • Encyclopedia of International Media and Communication (4 vols.) San Diego: Academic Press, 2003. Raynor Reference P 87.5 .E535 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Political Communication (2 vols.) Los Angeles: Sage, 2008. Raynor Reference JA 85 .E65 2008
  • International Encyclopedia of Communications (12 vols.) Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishing, 2008. Raynor Reference P 87.5 .I49 2008
  • Language and Communication:  A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1998.  Raynor Reference P 29 .F47 1998
    • Marquette Libraries have several print copies of the entire current APA manual.  Click here to get to its Marqcat record in order to determine locations and availabilty.
  • Click here for APA Style Guide for Electronic References.
    (Note: this guide can be downloaded or printed.)
    The information in this style guide SUPERCEDES the current
    5th ed. of the APA Manual in regards to citing full-text journal articles found via the online databases.
    • RefWorks -- a web-based bibliography program. This program allows you to set up your own account (at no charge to you) where you can store records from various library databases. You can then automatically create bibliographies from your stored list of citations in the citation style of your choice (for example, APA style.) 
     
     

    Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
    © 2008 Marquette University

    Description

      Loading content... please wait