Com 161 Research GuideCommunication 1100Communication 6000
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Communication  Tags: communication broadcasting mass media journalism  

Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Com 161 Research Guide             Print Page
  

Need Help?

 

 

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu

24/7 Live Help

Research Consultation

 
 

Sources

Communication 161

Ethical Problems in Mass Communications

Raynor Memorial Libraries Resources

This page contains lists of databases, reference materials, web sites, etc. which deal with ethics in Communications.

Also included are possible subject headings to use in Marqcat to search for books as well as links to web pages that deal with ethics in various disciplines and fields. Last portion of page contains information about InterLibrary Loan as well as Library Research Consultations.

 

The following list of databases is taken from the list of Articles, Databases & Other E- Resources from the Marquette University Libraries' web site.  This guide can be used as a starting point to locate journal, magazine and newspaper articles regarding ethics in communication, broadcasting, advertising, public relations, electronic communication, journalism, business, etc.
NOTE: For those periodical indexes that DO NOT contain full-text of articles, you will need to check the Marqcat to see if Marquette University Libraries own the journals that the articles are in.  Remember to search Marqcat by TITLE and type in the TITLE of the JOURNAL.

•        ABI-INFORM Global – Provides citations and abstracts for business articles in over 1,000 journals plus full text for more than 600 periodicals.– Emphasis is on scholarly literature, but it does include general business magazines, practitioner journals and some trade publications.  1971 to present.

•        ABI-INFORM Trade & Industry – Provides citations and abstracts and some full-text for business articles in trade magazines as opposed to scholarly journals. 1971 to present.

•      Academic Search Elite – -- Broad, interdisciplinary database covering academic journals, magazines and newspapers.  Includes references to both scholarly and general sources.  Some full-text is included.

•        America, History & Life -- Covers research on American and Canadian history, political science and culture.  Includes indexing and abstracts.

•        Business and Company Resource Center – Index to 950 business journals, full text of 460 journals.  Includes 50,000+ full-text investment reports; directory listings for 180,000+companies; full-text press releases from PR Newswire; indexing for local business journals such as The Milwaukee Business Journal.  1980 to present.

•       Business Dateline – Index to local and regional business magazines, newspapers, and newswires focused on business. Especially good for researching smaller, local, and private companies.  1985 to present.

•        Communication and Mass Media Complete – Excellent database to begin communication & communication related research.  Contains some full-text journal articles.

•        Communication Abstracts – Indexes and provides summaries  books, articles and reports in broadly defined fields including broadcasting, journalism, speech, public opinion, television, and advertising.

•       Ethnic NewsWatch – full-text articles from over 170 newspapers from minority presses in the U.S.  Represented are newspapers from the African-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Arab-Americans, Native American, etc. communities.

•        GenderWatch – Full-text coverage of gender studies with an emphasis on women and women’s studies, within journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.; 1974 to the present.

•       Lexis-Nexis Academic – Full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, wire services, transcripts, business and legal information, polls, etc.  Newspapers include national, international, regional, state and local.

•       Milwaukee Journal Sentinel – Full-text of the newspaper’s locally generated stories – 1997 to the present via Proquest’s Wisconsin Newspapers.  (Also, 1990 to the present via Raynor Memorial PC workstations.)

•        Newspapers in Proquest – Full-text of major U.S. newspapers. (Note:  there is some overlap of newspaper titles with Lexis-Nexis, however, this source indexes and contains full-text articles from Wall Street Journal, whereas, the Lexis-Nexis Academic service does not.)

•       Proquest Research Library – Broad, interdisciplinary database covering academic journals, magazines and newspapers, over 1,500 sources carry articles in full-text format.  Contains both scholarly and general sources.  Indexes a good number of scholarly communications and journalism journals (many with full-text.)

•        Statistical Universe – Index/abstracting service to a wide variety of statistical information from government and private sources, covering such topics as demographics, crime, economics, health, education, international trade, labor, environment, energy, etc.

•        Tablebase – provides access to tabular information (i.e. statistical and rank information, raw figures).  Subject emphasis is on business (companies, industries, products, countries and markets), but it also covers broader subject areas, such as trends and demographics. US emphasis, but worldwide coverage.

•        Worldwide Political Science Abstracts – Indexing/abstracting service to locate articles regarding politics.  Is worldwide in scope.

 

 

Print Sources in Raynor Library Reference Collection

 

•        Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics Raynor Reference HF5387 .B55 1998

•        Codes of Professional Responsibility: Ehic Standards in Business, Health and Law Raynor Reference BJ 1725 .C57 1999

•        Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media Raynor Reference PN 4756 .C645

Includes such articles as: Freedom of the Press in the USA, ethics and media quality, courtroom proceedings (reporting of), national security issues, campaign journalism, civil disobedience, violence in television and films, sexual content in films and television, etc..

•        Dictionary of Ethics, Theology and Society Raynor Reference BJ 63 .D45 1996

•        Encyclopedia of Advertising Raynor Reference HF 5803 .A38 2003 vols. 1-3.

•        Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics Raynor Reference BJ 63 .E53 1998 vols. 1-4.

Provides lengthy overview articles on a wide variety of topics dealing with ethics:  broadcast journalism, sexism, sexual content in films and television, whistle-blowing, workplace ethics, undercover investigations, tabloid journalism, business ethics, environmental compliance by industry, media depiction of ethnic minorities, violence in films and television, etc.  Short bibliographies are included.

•        Encyclopedia of Ethics Raynor Reference BJ 63 .E45 2001 vols. 1-4.

•        Encyclopedia of Television News Raynor Reference PN4888 .T4 E53 1999

•        Encyclopedia of Values and Ethics Raynor Reference BJ 63 .H47 1996

Contains overview article of ethical issues dealing with television news and journalism among other articles dealing with television news in general.

•        Ethics  Raynor Reference BJ 63 .E54 1994 vols. 1-3.

Articles include topics such as:  Freedom of Information Act, insider trading, journalistic ethics, accuracy in media, work, computer crime, privacy, etc.

•        Encyclopedia of Television News Raynor Reference PN4888 .T4 E53 1999

Contains overview article of ethical issues dealing with television news and journalism among other articles dealing with television news in general.

•        History of the Mass Media in the United States  Raynor Reference P 92 .U5 H55 1998

Includes such articles as: public journalism, public access to the media, criticism of advertising, criticism of broadcasting, criticism of newspapers, mass media and children, mass media and tobacco products, etc.

•        International Encyclopedia of Ethics  Raynor Reference BJ 63 .I58 1995

Provides articles on such topics as:  Americans with Disabilities Act, affirmative action, consumerism, Clean Air Act, warranties and guaranties, First Amendment, white-color crime, etc.

•        Keyguide to Information Sources in Media Ethics  Raynor Reference P 94 .M22 1998

Provides overviews and bibliographies on various topics such as:  ethics in advertising, media ethics, government and the media, privacy, media imperialism, censorship, values of journalists, freedom of speech, etc.

 

Possible Marqcat Subject Headings To Locate Books --

 

Advertising Moral and ethical aspects

Business ethics

Communication Moral And Ethical Aspects

Corporations Moral And Ethical Aspects

Corporations Public relations Moral and ethical aspects

Deceptive AdvertisingFreedom of the press 

Journalistic ethics

Journalism objectivity

Mass Media Moral And Ethical Aspects

Public relations Moral and ethical aspects

Public relations consultants Professional ethics

Radio Broadcasting Moral and Ethical Aspects

Reality Television

Social Responsibility of Business

Television broadcasting United States Moral and ethical aspects

 

 

Related Web sites dealing with Ethics in Communications:

 

These are additional Web pages which can be used to supplement the research done in the above periodical indexes and resources.

The ETHICS portion of the Communication -- Recommended Internet Sites is divided into FOUR different areas:  media, advertising, public relations and general.

 

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait