Communication Research
DATA SETS via the WEB:
- American Religion Data Archive
The American Religion Data Archive collects quantitative data sets for the study of American religion. Data is freely available and can be downloaded in SPSS format.
- The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research(ICPSR) provides access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Located within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. Marquette University is a member of this consortium. The ICPSR database contains a wealth of statistical studies covering a wide variety of topics and from a wide variety of sources:
- Panel Study of Income Dynamics
Located at the University of Michigan, the PSID is a longitudinal survey of a representative sample of US individuals and the families in which they reside. Starting with 1968, the data has been collected annually. PSID data can be used for cross-sectional, longitudinal, and intergenerational analysis and for studying both individuals and families. Data can be downloaded in ASCII text with SPSS documentation.
- University of California, San Diego Social Sciences Data Center
Although not all data sets are freely available, this site does include access to some free data sets to the public.
- University of California at San Diego Data on the Net
Convenient method to search through or browse a listing of 848 Internet sites of numeric social science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.
- University of Virginia Library Geospatial and Statistical Data Center Interactive Data Resources
Excellent web site providing access to a multitude of data sets including: census, domestic economic data, social, demographic, behavioral, educational, historical, criminal data, etc. Format of downloaded data varies from data set to data set: SPSS .por file, ASCII file, Excel file, etc.
- University of Wisconsin - Madison Data and Information Services Center (DISC)
Central repository of data collections used by the social science research community at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Not all data sets are freely available for downloading, however, there is a subset (containing data in SPSS format) which is freely available to the public.
- University of Wisconsin - Madison's Internet Crossroads in the Social Sciences
Univ. of Wisconsin Data and Program Library Service's Internet Crossroads contains over 650 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.
- Yahoo! Social Research Data Collections
Government web sites providing data:
Sample of Web Sites containing data in SPSS portable format (.por):
- Clemson University Survey 2000
Data from Survey 2000 has been placed in the public domain and is available at no charge to interested researchers. There are two sets of data: adults and youth. Data can be downloaded and are in zipped format.
- INTERNATIONAL SOCIAL SCIENCE SURVEYS/ AUSTRALIA 1987/88
Contains data in zipped format which can be downloaded. Link to codebook is provided from web site.
- "National Context, Parental Socialization, and Religious Belief: Results From 15 Nations"
Jonathan Kelley and Nan Dirk De Graaf. American Sociological Review 62 (August, 1997) 639-659. Provides data in zipped format. Codebook is available from web site.
- National Election Studies (NES)
Located at the University of Michigan, this site provides data on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Not ALL of the data is available freely, but there is a section of the website, The NES Data Archive which allows one access to data that is available for free download. One must first register to access this portion, however, registration is free.
- Vietnam Life History Survey 1991
From the Center For Studies in Demography And Ecology, University of Washington. Contains codebook in Adobe PDF file and data in SPSS portable file.
Ethics - Media
- Accuracy in Media
Accuracy In Media is a non-profit, grassroots citizens watchdog of the news media. Their goal is to ensure fairness, accuracy and balance in news reporting.
- Association for Practical and Professional Ethics
- Codes of Ethics Online
This site, maintained by the Illinois Institute of Technology, contains the code of ethics for many media organizations and newspapers.
- The Drudge Report
Official site of Web columnist Matt Drudge.
- Ethics on the World Wide Web
A vast web site maintained by Journalism professor, Paul Martin Lester of the University of California Fullerton.
- History of RTNDA Codes of Ethics (1946 - present)
Vernon Stone, Professor Emeritus at the Missouri School of Journalism, presents a brief history of the evolution of the Radio-Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) Code of Ethics.
- Journalism Ethics
This set of links is maintained by the San Francisco State University Department of Journalism. Expansive coverage of mass media ethics. Also provides links to other useful sites.
- Media Codes of Ethics
On this page, the Illinois Institute of Technology has compiled an extensive list of codes of ethics from international broadcasting and newspaper organizations.
- Media Matters
This site is a supplement to the PBS series of the same title. Ethical reporting, the relationship between business and journalism, voluntary vs. involuntary censorship, and the impact of electronic media are among the issues that are examined on this site. Transcripts of the television series, which delves into current trends in mass media ethics, are also provided.
- Media Ethics Research/Resources File
From the Poynter Institute, this site includes case studies and articles on media stories which raise serious ethical questions.
- Media Ethics Resources on the WWW
This site is maintained by the Centre for Applied Ethics at the University of British Columbia. Provides links to web sites dealing with media ethics.
- Media Research Center
A conservative media watchdog site.
- National Union of Journalists' stand on Photomanipulation
- Online NewsHour: Media|Watch
A site sponsored by PBS Online News Hour which provides current analyses of the methods used by the media to gather and present information to the public.
- Poynter Online
This home page for the Poynter Institute provides current links and articles related to ethics and excellence in journalism and photojournalism.
- Public Radio Online Styleguide: Ethical Guidelines
This NPR sponsored site provides a compilation of recommendations and policies regarding ethical dilemmas faced by journalists today. Organizations contributing to the suggestions include the Canadian Broadcasting System (CBC), Public Radio International (PRI), Society of Professional Journalists (SPR), and Public Radio News Directors, Inc. (PRNDI).
Ethics -- Advertising
- Ad Council Home Page
The Ad Council is a nonprofit organization that funds public service advertising campaigns on television and radio. Past campaigns have addressed the following issues: pollution, recycling, drugs, drunk driving, crime prevention, gender equality in education, voting, fitness, and domestic violence prevention among others.
- Advertising Law
The Arent Fox Law Firm in Washington DC maintains this site, which showcases links related to advertising law. Includes useful links to government, Better Business Bureau, and addtitional advertising law sites.
- Advertising Law & Ethics
This site, maintained by the Advertising Department at the University of Texas at Austin, provides a wealth of information on advertising law and ethics. Included in this site are valuable links to additional sites, bibliographies, quotes, etc.
- Consumer Protection: Advertising
The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) sponsors this informative site which is devoted to advertising law, ethics, and the FTC's stand on current advertising issues. Great source for paper topics.
- Federal Communications Commission
The broad focus of the FCC is to regulate interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable. This can also include advertising. This site does not have a designated link for advertising ethics but does offer the option to search. A search using the terms "advertising and ethics" or "advertising and children" or a similar search may yield useful information.
- Federal Trade Commission Home Page
The FTC, whose self proclaimed mission is to ensure consumer protection and a competitive marketplace, maintains a website that is a good source of information for current news. Like the FCC home page, this site does not have a designated link for advertising ethics but does offer the option to search.
- Supreme Court Decisions Related to Ethical Advertising
Compiled by the University of Texas at Austin, this site provides links to major Supreme Court decisions related to unethical advertising.
Ethics - Public Relations
- CPRS Code of Professional Standards
The Canadian Public Relations Society's code of professional conduct is outlined on this page. Included in the code are the issues of: public interest, the media, truth, disclosure, confidences, conflict of interest, promises, and gifts.
- In Praise of Secrecy
An article, written by a member of the Canadian Public Relations Society, that critiques the CPRS Code of Professional Standards.
- International Public Relations Association
The IPRA was founded in 1955 with the goal of raising the standards of the practice of public relations. This site includes IPRA code of ethics and organizational history.
- PR Codes of Ethics
This site, maintained by Northern Kentucky University, contains links to codes of ethics from three major organizations.
- Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)
Includes PRSA declaration of principles, member pledge, and code of professional standards.
- Spinning the Moral Compass
An article, published by PR Watch, that examines the role of ethics in public relations.
Ethics - General
- Cookie Central
Web site devoted to providing and explaining information about Internet cookies
- Electronic Frontier Foundation
EFF, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, is a non-profit, non-partisan organization working in the public interest to protect fundamental civil liberties, including privacy and freedom of expression, in the arena of computers and the Internet.
- Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)
EPIC is a public interest research center in Washington, D.C. It was established in 1994 to focus public attention on emerging civil liberties issues and to protect privacy, the First Amendment, and constitutional values. Excellent site to locate information on current issues and topics regarding the Web.
- Librarian's Guide to the Best Information on the Net -- Hot Paper Topics -- Media
Locate resources on the Web which provide information on ethics in the media.
Journalism
- Accuracy in Media
Non-profit, grass-roots organization which pursues inaccuracies as reported by media. Stories slanted by media are also investigated by this watchdog group.
- AJRNewslink - American Journalism Review
One of the most comprehensive newspaper sites on the Web; provides access to over 9,000 newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and news services worldwide on the Web.
- American Society of Journalists and Authors
Leading organization for non-fiction freelance writers.
- Beat Page
Jumping off point for journalism resources, organized by newsroom beat. From the organization Investigative Reporters and Editors.
- Codes of Ethics Online
This site contains the code of ethics for many media organizations and newspapers. Is maintained by the Illinois Institute of Technology.
- Columbia Journalism Review
- Crime News
Site devoted to latest crime news. Collects crime news stories from a variety of sources.
- Dow Jones Newspaper Fund
Information on careers and internships in journalism and articles from the organization.
- Editor & Publisher
Collection of data and links to online newspapers.
- FACSNET
Excellent starting point for journalists and researchers: provides background information on top news issues; educates journalists in using the Internet in locating information; and provides access to Internet resources by newsroom beats.
- Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting
National media watch group providing criticism of media bias and censorship.
- Freedom Forum
Non-profit organization dedicated to free press and free speech.
- Freedom of Information Center (U. of Missouri)
- Gallup Poll
Produced by the Gallup Organization, this is one of the most authoritative polling systems in measuring and analyzing people's attitudes, opinions and behaviors. Gallup makes available roughly a year's worth of poll data. Many of the polls include partial comparisons to earlier years.
- Investigative Reporters and Editors
Networking tool and forum for journalists throughout the country, dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting.
- JournalismNet
Created and maintained by investigative reporter, Julian Sher, JournalismNet is a working journalist's guide to the Net; it contains over 80 web pages with over 3,000 links designed to help journalists to locate information on the Internet.
- Journalist's Guide to the Internet
A comprehensive guide to many web sites, discussion lists, newsgroups, which are relevant for up-to-date reporting. Compiled and maintained by Christopher Callahan, associate dean of journalism at the University of Maryland at College Park and author of the book, National Press Club
- National Writers Union
Trade union for freelance writers in all genres.
- Newseum
Interactive museum of news in Arlington, Virginia, operated by the Freedom Forum.
- Newspaper Association of America
- Pew Center for Civic Journalism
Civic Journalism is based on the belief that journalism has an obligation to the public that goes beyond just relaying the facts. The Pew Center supports this philosophy by maintaining this web page that promotes civil journalism.
- Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
- Power Reporting Resources and Training for Journalists
This site is compiled and maintained by Bill Dedman, a Pulitzer Prize winning journalist. Included are links to a variety of web sites dealing with journalism including how to do research on the Web.
- Project for Excellence in Journalism
This research organization specializes in using empirical mehods to evaluate and study the performance of the press. It is non partisan, non ideological and non political.
- Radio-Television News Directors Association
- Reporter
Site of the Investigative Reporters and Editors (IRE) organization.
- Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
Legal help for reporters and news organizations.
- Reporter's Network
Formed by Bob Sablatura,a reporter for the Houston Chronicle, to promote the Internet as a research and communications medium for working journalists. The goal of Reporters Network is to provide a variety of services to the journalism community and to the general public it serves.
- Slot: A Spot for Copy Editors
Provides a guide to good journalistic writing.
- Society of Professional Journalists
Also links to the Society's Freedom of Information site.
- Statistics Every Writer Should Know
This site is maintained by Robert Niles, Senior Producer at latimes.com, the web site of the Los Angeles Times.
- Total NEWS
Search engine and directory of news sites. Provides links to numerous news webs sites.
- NewsVoyageur
Maintained by the Newspaper Association of America, this site provides links to thousands of newspapers in the U.S.
- Yearbook of Experts, Authorities, and Spokespersons
Interview sources and contacts for journalists.
Search Aids and Bibliographic Tips
This page compiled and maintained by: Rose Trupiano, 288-5998 or E-mail
Mail your comments and suggestions about this site to our Webmaster
|