Com 161 Research GuideCommunication 1100Communication 6000
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Communication  Tags: communication broadcasting mass media journalism  

Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Communication 1100             Print Page
  
 

Why background sources?

Background sources are encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc. that provide summary and factual information. These sources generally contain well established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding on which to build. Use Background sources to:

  • find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic
  • get the historical context and relationships to other topics
  • identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
  • find or verify data, facts, formulas, etc.

Need Help?

 

 

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu

24/7 Live Help

Research Consultation

 
 

Encyclopedias, Books and Database Links

  • Proquest Research Library
    ]Indexing, abstracts and selected full text or full images of articles in a wide range of magazines and journals. It includes general interest and news publications as well as selected scholarly journals. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of periodical articles; some full text and full image articles. Coverage varies by title with good coverage for late 1980's to present, some earlier coverage.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides full text for over 7,000 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and much more. Coverage varies by publication. Some full-text PDFs from 1985 to present.
  • Biography Resource Center
    Full-text biographical information on more than 250,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Biographies can be located by subject name or by one or more personal facts such as birth and death years, places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender.
  • CQ Researcher
    Contains full text articles on controversial current events and social, political, economic, and international issues. Each issue includes topic summaries, historical perspectives, recent developments, opposing viewpoints, and sources for additional research. This resource is an excellent starting point for research on contemporary topics. 1960 to present. VPN required for off-campus access.
  • Issues & Controversies@Facts.com
    This full-text database contains in-depth and balanced articles dealing with contemporary issues and controversies. Keyword and subject searching is available as well as being able to browse by topic. A list of current hot topics is provided. This resource (in addition to CQ Researcher) is an excellent starting point for research on contemporary topics. September 25, 1995 to present.
  • Newspapers in Proquest
    Coverage of 300 + National and International news sources including the following: New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Star Tribune, Times of London, Wall Street Journal, Wisconsin State Journal, etc.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Call Number: Electronic
    Contains full-text of hundreds of subject specfic encyclopedias and dictionaries.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Encyclopedias
    Call Number: Online
    Provides access to Encyclopedia of Religion, New Catholic Encyclopedia, International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences, and hundreds more specialized encyclopedias.
  • Credo Reference
    Online reference library providing full-text articles from 100 encyclopedias and dictionaries in a variety of subject areas: psychology, history, literature, business, medicine, law, technology, philosophy, art, popular culture, etc. Keyword searching can be performed in individual titles, titles grouped by subject, or within the entire Credo Reference 100 collection.
  • Marqcat Library Catalog
    Search for your topics by keyword.
  • Google Books
    Call Number: Online
    Search through thousands of digitized books.
 

Search in MARQCAT for dictionaries

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Searching

Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the boxes, select limits, and click
Submit (or choose a Simple Keyword Search):

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRose Trupiano
Contact Info:
Research & Instructional Services
Raynor Memorial Libraries
Marquette University
Raynor Memorial Libraries
Milwaukee, WI
(414) 288-5998
Send Email

Subjects:
Broadcasting & Electronic Communication, Communication Studies, Journalism, Spanish and Theology

 

Why Books?

Books are useful for in depth information, including historical context, overview, synthesis and analysis of information. Often a chapter or two, rather than the entire book, are all that may be needed for your topic. The process of writing, editng, and publishing a book is lengthy, thus even the most recently published book may not contain the most current information on a topic.

Tips for searching MARQCAT

  • Identify single words or short phrases that represent the major idea of your topic
  • Try these as "Subject" searches in MARQCAT, follow the catalog's suggested headings
  • Try the same words/phrases as "Keyword" searches.
  • Look at the subject headings on the records of books good for your topic and search any that you haven't tried yet.
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait