Com 161 Research GuideCommunication 1100Communication 6000
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Communication  Tags: communication broadcasting mass media journalism  

Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/communication  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Newspaper Articles             Print Page
  

Quick Links

Need Help?

 

 

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian

Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556

Email a Librarian

Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu

24/7 Live Help

Research Consultation

 

Newspaper Databases

Raynor Memorial Libraries subscribe to a number of full-text newspaper databases.

The most frequently used are:

  • Lexis Nexis Academic  
    Contains the full-text of thousands of newspapers from the US as well as from around the world. Also included are television news shows transcripts.
  • Newspapers in Proquest  
    Coverage of 300 + National and International news sources including the following: Chicago Sun Times, Chicago Tribune, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, New York Times, Star Tribune, Times of London, Wall Street Journal, Wisconsin State Journal.
  • Alt-Press Watch  
    Covers over 170 alternative and independant newspapers. 1995 to present.
  • Ethnic Newswatch  
    Provides full-text of minority newspapers in the US. Included are newspapers from African-American, Hispanic and Latino American, Native American, etc.
  • Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (via Proquest)  
    Full text newspaper articles from the Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel. 1997 to present.
  • New York Times Full-text 1980 to date  
    Index and full text with images of newspaper articles.
  • Wall Street Journal  
    The most frequently used daily financial newspaper in the US. Full-text from 1984 to date. (Via Proquest)
  • World News Connection  
    Foreign News Service from the U.S. Government. Provides full-text English language articles regarding current world affairs.
  • World News Digest  
    Digest of U.S. and international news. From 1940 to date.
  • Link to Additional Newspaper Databases  

Historical Newspapers

The following databases contain articles to historical newspapers:

  • America's Historical Newspapers  
    Searchable American newspapers enable exploration of America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 and Series 3, 1829-1922. (From Readex)
  • New York Times 1851-2001  
    Index and full text with images of newspaper articles. Searchable by keywords, authors, or article titles.
  • Access NewspaperARCHIVE  
    Provides historical coverage for over 2,000 newspaper titles.
  • Times Digital Archive 1785-1985  
    The complete digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985.
  • 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers  
    Containing 1270 titles and almost 1 million pages this collection represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The Topic Guide contains more information about this collection.

  • 19th Century Masterfile  
    Index to nineteenth century periodical articles, information about books, newspaper articles, and government publications. Includes he Index to the New York Daily Tribune 1875-1906.
  • World News Digest  
    Digest of U.S. and international news. From 1940 to date.
 

Searching for full-text newspaper articles

If the newspaper article is not available full text in the newspaper database and you wish to locate it, there are several ways to determine if Marquette Libraries subscribe to the full-text newspaper:

If you already have the citation to a newspaper article:

  • Use MARQCAT. Search by Title and enter the title of the NEWSPAPER, NOT the title or author of the article.

If you are looking at citations from within a database:

  • Use the FindIt@MU icon in the citation you are interested in. This will open another window and do one of two things

    • Display a list of databases with links. This indicates the FindIt widget may have found a source for electronic copy of the article. Click on the link to determine if a full text option is located.
    • Displays only a link to MARQCAT. Click the MARQCAT link to search the catalog. The journal may be available in print or fulltext through a source not searchable by the FindIt widget.

If you do not find the newspaper title using FindIt@MU or MARQCAT, request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRose Trupiano
Contact Info:
Research & Instructional Services
Raynor Memorial Libraries
Marquette University
Raynor Memorial Libraries
Milwaukee, WI
(414) 288-5998
Send Email

Subjects:
Broadcasting & Electronic Communication, Communication Studies, Journalism, Spanish and Theology

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait