Why background sources?
Background sources are encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc. that provide summary and factual information. These sources generally contain well established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding on which to build. Use Background sources to:
- find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic
- get the historical context and relationships to other topics
- identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
- find or verify data, facts, formulas, etc.
Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian
Call the Information Desk at 414.288-7556
Email a Librarian
Email the Infomation Desk at askus@marquette.edu
Encyclopedias
International Encyclopedia of Communication - Wolfgang Donsbach, Ed.
Call Number: Raynor Reference P87.5 .I49 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 9781405131995
12 vol. set.
The International Encyclopedia of Communication represents the definitive reference work in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. A ground-breaking collection of 1,339 original entries within a 12 volume set, spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information (available online) - Jorge Reina Schement, Ed.
Call Number: Raynor Reference P87.5 .E53 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0028653866
Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication & Technology - Steve Jones, Ed.
Call Number: Raynor Reference QA76.575 .E5368 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0761923829
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: Electronic Resource - 2008 edition
ISBN/ISSN: 9780028659657
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition in 1979. Features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences,
From Talking Drums to the Internet: an Encyclopedia of Communications Technology
Call Number: Raynor Reference P96. T42 G374
ISBN/ISSN: 0874368324
Encyclopedia of Television News
Call Number: Call Number: Reference PN4888.T4 E53 1999
ISBN/ISSN: 1573561088
Provides background on the broadcasting of news via the televised media.- History of the Mass Media in the United States: An Encyclopedia - Margaret A. Blanchard
Call Number: Raynor Reference P92 .U H55
ISBN/ISSN: 0874368324 - Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia - Michael Shaw Findlay
Call Number: Raynor Reference P29 .F47 1998
ISBN/ISSN: 0874369460
Dictionaries, facts and data
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies - James Watson and Anne Hill
Call Number: Raynor Reference P887.5 /W38 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 034091338X
7th ed. Provides definitions and historical perspectives on thousands of terms in all areas of communication.
Dictionary of Media and Communications - Marcel Danesi
Call Number: Raynor Reference -- Currently being processed
ISBN/ISSN: 076568098X
Provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Contains over 2,000 entries.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait