Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Dictionaries & Thesauri 

Last update: Aug 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/dictionaries  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Dictionaries in Print             Print Page
  

Quick Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Borrow a dictionary

To borrow a dictionary, you need to find one in the General Collection. Go to MARQCAT's Advanced Keyword Screen below and follow these steps:

1. In the first search window enter terms connected by AND, such as: dictionary and english and french (to borrow a French/English dictionary). 

2. Under "Limit to" below the search windows enter years in the date limit field, e.g. 1990 to 2009. This will control for excessively large numbers of hits.  (If you don't get enough hits, clear the date limit boxes.)  Click on Submit.

3. Scroll down the list until you find one you want and are allowed to borrow. Some dictionaries are in the Reference Collection and cannot be taken out.

 

Search in MARQCAT for dictionaries

MARQCAT Advanced Keyword Searching

Advanced Keyword Search

Please fill in the boxes, select limits, and click
Submit (or choose a Simple Keyword Search):

 
 

To use in Raynor/Memorial

Just look for a dictionary stand. They are usually near the elevators, in the quite study areas, and by computer clusters. The stands have standard English as well as Spanish/English, French/English, and German/English dictionaries. Please return the dictionaries to the stands.

 

OED Word of the Day


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait