Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page
Admin Sign In 

Math and Statistics  Tags: mathematics statistics academic_writing writing  

Guide to finding books, articles, web sites, podcasts and more. This page is updated and added to frequently.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/mathematics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries             Print Page
  
 

Why background?

Background sources  (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well established information and can be used to:

•  Find basic concepts and viewpoints of topic

•  Get the historical context and relationships to other topics

•  Identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics

•  Find or verify data, facts, formulas

 
 

Encyclopedias

  • CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics
    Call Number: Reference QA5 .W45 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 1584883472
    Comprehensive presentation of usable information for mathematics, physics, biochemistry, chemistry, biophysics, and engineering. Each article in the book presents a definition, formula, illustration, and bibliographic information.
  • MathWorld - Eric W. Weisstein
    The virtual version of CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics. Includes standard mahtematical definitions and descriptions and is updated daily with new, scholarly discoveries.
  • Encyclopedia of Mathematics
    Call Number: Reference QA5 .T34 2005
    Comprehensive coverage of significant discoveries in mathematics, definitions of basic terms, thought-provoking essays, and capsule biographies of notable scientists in mathematics.
  • Access Science
    Electronic version of the "McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology". Comprehensive treatment of science, applied science and technology topics.
 
 

Dictionaries

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait