Why Style Guides?
According to Wikipedia, a Style guide "is a set of standards for design and writing of documents, either for general use or for a specific publication or organization." Style Guides or Manuals can be very specific to the discipline you are writing in or some are used across disciplines. A style guide generally covers everything about writing a document for publication from how to format the title page, to setting margins, to use of tables or figures, to how to cite your references. The American Psychological Association has developed such a guide which is the standard for the field of psychology and is used for nursing and many other disciplines.
Style guide. (2008, March 30). In Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 03:01, April 2, 2008, from http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Style_guide&oldid=202074962
Writing Guides
- MU Writing Across the Curriculum - Citation Formats
Brief explanations and recommended resources (paper and electronic) for citation formats in a wide variety of disciplines. - OWL at Purdue University - Documenting sources
The Online Writing Lab at Purdue provides an exhaustive list of style guide information for documenting sources in different disciplines. - AMS Author Resource Center
The American Mathematical Society invites all mathematicians to use the tools provided on the Author Resource Center to prepare their work for publication. Tools available for book, journal and conference publications. - A Primer of Mathematical Writing - Steven G. Krantz
Call Number: Memorial Lvl 5 QA42 .K73 1997
While the book is nominally about writing, it's also about how to function in the mathematical profession. - Handbook of writing for the mathematical sciences - Nicholas J. Higham
Call Number: Memorial Lvl 5 QA 42 .H54 1998
Provides information on the issues faced when writing a technical paper or talk, from choosing the right journal in which to publish to handling your references.
How to Import Google Scholar Into Refworks
Style Manuals
Here are some popular style guides. For information about our online citation managers see the following content box.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83
Several copies are available in Memorial library for check out as well as one copy at the Reserve Desk, one copy in the Raynor Reference Collection and one copy at the Raynor Information Desk.
APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Call Number: BF76.7 .P832 2007
Outlines newly approved style rules for citing electronic sources. These rules are not covered by the Publication Manual. Several copies of this item are available in Memorial for check out. Additional copies are available in the Reference collection, Reserve collection and at the Information Desk. Any MU student, faculty or staff member may download their own copy from our server. Click on the title above.
Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Reference Z 253 .U69 2003
A universally used style guide, CMS presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences.
Scientific Style and Format: CSE Manual for Authors - Council of Science Editors
Call Number: Reference T 11 S386 2006
Formerly the CBE (Council of Biology Editors) Manual, a guide to writing and citing style used in the biological and other science fields. Like the Chicago Manual of Style, it offers two approaches for documenting sources: 1) a citation/sequence system and, 2) a name/year system.
Citation Manager Software
Citation or Reference managers are software products which enable you to store and organize your references. In addition to the organizational benefits these products can help create bibliographies formatted in many styles. Some can also create in-text citations or footnotes as you write your paper.
This Web-based citation manager allows you to create a personal database of book and/or article citations by importing references from online databases or text files. You can quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles. You can access your own RefWorks account anywhere on or off campus. Create your account at the Refworks' login screen.
RefWorks is provided to the Marquette community through MU Libraries' subscription to the service. For more inormation and helpful guides go to the Libraries' RefWorks information page
This Web-based reference management tool allows you to create a personal database of references by importing citations from online databases or text files. You can organize references into folders, and quickly and easily create and format bibliographies using a wide choice of citation styles.
Endnote Web is provided free of charge to Marquette students and faculty as part of our subscription to Web of Science. If you don't have a personal Web of Science account, you can sign up for an Endnote Web account at myendnoteweb.com. You must be on campus in order to create an account. Once registered, you can access your Endnote Web account from on or off campus. You will need to login while on campus at least once every twelve months in order to maintain your account.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait