Search MARQCAT
Suggested "subject" terms to search in MARQCAT:
World Wide Web
Accessibility
- Center For Applied Special Technology (CAST)
- Designing More Usable Web Sites
- Disabled Accessibility: The Pragmatic Approach
- Federal IT Accessibility Initiative
- HTML Writers Guild
- Introducing Web Accessibility
- IBM Accessibility Center
- Making Educational Software and Web Sites Accessible
- MIT Web Accessibility Guidelines
- Typetester
This site allows you to see what Mac's and Windows' operating system's defaults are for your chosen fonts, and how those fonts would look like if you change the different defaults. - WebABLE
- World Wide Web Consortium
- Checkpoint List
- Evaluation, Repair, and Transformation Tools for Web Content Accessibility
- Techniques for Web Content Accessibility Guidelines
- WAI Resources on Introducing Web Accessibility
- Web Accessibility for All
This site is maintained by the Center on Education and Work (CEW) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in collaboration with the university's McBurney Disability Resource Center. - Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
Active Server Pages
- ASP 101
- ASP.NET (official site)
- ASP Resource Index
Tutorials, code, and general information regarding active server pages (.asp) and ASP.net - ASP Tutorial
Cascading Style Sheets
- Browser Chart
Which browser software (Internet Explorer or Netscape) will accept your style sheet commands? Use this chart from Webmonkey.com to find out. - CSSShark Answers FAQs
For users interested in learning more about Cascading Style Sheets, this informative and well-constructed site answers some of those frequently asked questions regarding CSS. The site also explains some of the basics of CSS, provides tips and tricks, offers a tutorial concerning positioning with CSS (CSS-P, Web design without tables), and gives links to other related sites. - Cascading Style Sheet Tutorial
- Comprehensive Guide to Style Sheets
Cookies
- Cookie Central
While not a recipe site Cookie Central does include comprehensive information about Internet Cookies, what they are and how to block or stop them. - Electronic Privacy Information Center - Cookies
- How to Opt-Out of Cookies That Track You
- How to Understand Cookies
- HTTP Cookie Library Frequently Asked Questions
- Netscape Cookie Specification
- Spyware, adware, and internet cookies. What's good and what's bad. Privacy and removal tips and help.
Curl/Surge Software Platform
- Curl Technology
Curl Corporation is the developer of the Curl programming language. - CurlUnit 1.0
- CurlUnit Cookbook
- MIT Curl Research Project
- Surge Software Platform v. 1.2
- Taking Curl for a Whirl
A Wired News article.
General
- A List Apart (ALA)
A website for Web Masters. - Code Style: Open Standards Web Design with CSS, XHTML, Java Servlets and Javascript
This site tries to answer basic questions for web developers. - Designers Toolbox
This site contains some interesting information hard to find elsewhere such as envelope sizes and die templates, CD cover and label patterns, etc. Die lines/patterns are mostly available in encapsulated postscript (.eps) format and users are required to register (free) before downloading the files. Some files are available in Quark or InDesign format. - Glossary of Graphic Design and Web Page Design Terms
- Internet2
This site contains information about the new hybrid version of the Internet being developed for universities. - Internet Traffic Report
Ever wonder what's the speed of the internet? Is the reponse the same worldwide? Internet Traffic Report answers these questions. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the FAQ to get an explanation of the charts and graphs. - iWeb Webmasters Toolkit
- LivingInternet - Guide: Comprehensive Internet Information
The net's most comprehensive source of information about the Internet. - Michele-Web.com
(Formerly known as MWS Webmaster Resources) Aspiring Web Masters will find this site useful. Tutorials offer a number of tips for improving web sites. - Really Big.com
See description under "Mega Sites" above. - Technobuff
Good starting point for learning web development. - W3Schools
W3Schools is a great resource for experience Internet developers as well as those who are just getting started. This e-learning portal provides information on ASP, CSS, DHTML, DOM, DTDs, HTML, SQL, XHTML, XML, XSL and more. - Web Design References
Maintained by Information Technology Services and Systems at the University of Minnesota-Duluth campus this site contains links to a wide variety of resources related to web pages and web design. - Web Developer's Virtual Library
Click on the "index" button to begin your tour of this site that contains tutorials, sample scripts, programming language tips, authoring tools, images and much more. - Webmastering 101
David Reilly, a recent graduate of Bond University, Australia has written a number of tutorials for the Web. - Webmaster Reference Library
- Web Design References: Tools
This site maintained by the University of Minnesota-Duluth IT department offers a wealth of resources on a number of topics including: accessibility, browsers, CSS, color, HTML, images, link and list creators and more. - World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
For information on new specifications for HTML 4.0, XML, Dynamic HTML (DHTML), cascading style sheets, markup languages and more, this site will keep you up-to-date. - THE LAST LINK
Enough said.
Graphics
- Absolute Background Textures Archive
With over 2,400 textures available this site is billed as "The largest collection of free background textures on the Internet." - Clip Art Index
- ColorBlender
Using RGB sliders create a color scheme for web pages or use it to determine color hex codes. - Cool Archive
Free vault of over 6,000 fonts, icons, GIF animations, bars, bullets, etc. - Creating Graphics for the Web
This site is updated every two weeks. - Design Tech
Design resources for beginners. - Ender's Realm Graphics
Containing over 340 page backgrounds, 380 bullets, 130 buttons, 510 icons, and 350 lines this site offers a wealth of graphics and ideas for Web page designers. - Open GL This site contains information for OpenGL software which is used to create 2D and 3D graphics.
- PC Webopedia: Graphic Standards
- Scream Design
Thousands of images available for downloading. - Using Web Color
An 4 page article from Project Cool that covers color theory, color wheels, and the use of color on the Web.
History
- Brief History of the Internet
- History of the Internet
- History of the Internet,
Internet for historians (and just about everyone else)
Five chapters on the history of the Internet are presented by Richard T. Griffiths, professor of economics and social history at the Historical Institute of Leiden University, Netherlands. - Hobbes Internet Timeline
Covers the history of the Internet from the launch of Sputnik (1957) to the present. - Learn The Net
Complete guide to the Internet for new users. Available in English, French, Italian and Spanish. - Living Internet
This site provides in-depth information about the Internet and its main technologies. - Nerds 2.0.1, a brief history of the Internet
- Roads and Crossroads of Internet History
HTML/DHTML
- The Bare Bones Guide to HTML
Written by Kevin Werbach this guide includes all of the tags associated with HTML 4.0. - BigNoseBird
A strange name for a web site but the useful contents more than make up for that. Scripts, html tag reference, tutorials, webmaster tips and much more can be found on this site. - CSS Pointers Group
A good resource for Cascading Style Sheet beginners. This site contains tips, links to CSS standards, tutorials, demos, bug reports, and browser support information. - Developer.com
See description under "Mega Sites". - HTML Codes, Tags, Tutorial, Help, Tags
- HTML Help
The Web Design Group maintains this site for html developers. Tips, FAQ's, tools, and additional links to other sites are included. - HTML Code Tutorial: The Idocs Guide to HTML
Developed by Miko O'Sullivan this site contains sections on links, Java applets, fonts, images, scripts, style sheets, and tables. - HTML Station
- HTML Writer's Guild
Homepage of the international organization of Web page authors and Internet publishing professionals. - Meta Tag Tutorial
- RGB Color Chart
A useful chart that gives hexadecimal and RGB values. - Simply the Best
SimplyTheBest.com has a broad variety of categories ranging from back-end development to DHTML. In fact, its listing of ready-to-go DHTML/Java Menu scripts are the best on the Net. - Typetester
This site allows you to see what Mac's and Windows' operating system's defaults are for your chosen fonts, and how those fonts would look like if you change the different defaults. - Web Design From Scratch
- Web Developer's Virtual Library: Color
- WWW Consortium HTML Page
- Web Design Resource
A collection of tutorials on various aspects of HTML.
XML (Extensible Markup Language)
- Cover Pages: online resource for markup language technologies
- ebXML - Enabling a Global Electronic Market
Designed to allow businesses of any size in any geographic location to conduct business over the Internet, ebXML (electronic business extensible markup language) is an XML styled language sponsored by the United Nations Centre for Trade Facilitation and Electronic Business (UN/CEFACT) and OASIS (non-profit international consortium). - Extensible Markup Language (XML) - Standards
Get the latest standards data from the source - W3C. - Extensive Stylesheet Language (XSL) - W3C
- IBM Developers Portal: XML Zone
XML Zone contains a good selection of pointers to XML tools and source code, annotated pointers to educational and reference resources, an XML email newsletter, and more. - An Introduction to ebXML
- Introduction to RSS
- A Look at XML
A basic tutorial on XML from Developer.com - Perfect XML
Whether you are getting started using XML or learnning about advanced applications Perfect XML is a good place to begin. Sample book chapters from numerous books can be viewed, covering a wide range of XML topics. There are also links to XML editors, conversion tools, and many other software resources. - RDF Rich Site Summary (RSS)
- RDF Rich Site Summary (RSS) 1.0 Specification
- RSS Headline Syndication
- ThinkXML
- Understanding ebXML
- Using WSDL in SOAP Applications
- Voice eXtensible Markup Language
- World Wide Web Consortium
- XML.org The XML Industry Portal
- XHTML The Extensible HyperText Markup Language version 1.0 version 2.0
In order to bridge the gap between XML and HTML the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) has developed and written an XHTML standard. - XML Cover Pages
A bibliography of resources related to SGML and XML. - XML From the Inside Out
XML is the next big Web language. This site has recent technology developments, definitions, white papers, news, and developer notes. - XML: It's Not Your Father's HTML
HTML is about the display of content, XML is about creating, sharing and processing information. Author Bruce Sharpe provides an insight into the differences between HTML and XML. - XML School
Concise introduction to key topics. - The XML Toolkit
This site is maintained by the Center for Technology in Government (University at Albany, SUNY) and includes code samples, reports, tools, tips, and other publications. - X-VRML for Advanced Virtual Reality Applications
Written by Krzysztof Walczak and Wojciech Cellary, this article appeared in the March 2003 issue of IEEE Computer Magazine
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait