Assoc/Org/SocietiesDatabase Design / ManagementDebugging ToolsEmbedded SystemsFAQsHardware EngineeringHistory of ComputingJobs / Employment OpportunitiesJournals and NewsgroupsMisc. Web SitesNetworksOpen SourceOperating SystemsOraclePatentsProgramming LanguagesSecurityTechical ReportsTutorialsVirusesWorld Wide Web
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

Computer Science  Tags: programming_languages java perl php sql computer_viruses open_source computer_networks  

Are you looking for • information on computer terms • programming languages • is Java something other than caffeine? If so, this is the place to start.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/computer_science  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Misc. Web Sites            Print Page
  

Miscellaneous Sites

  • Center for Women and Information Technology
    The Center for Women and Information Technology (CWIT), located at the University of Maryland Baltimore County, was named "the best resource on women and technology on the Web" by ABCNews.com. The center's primary goal is to promote women's involvement in the IT industry. CWIT's Web site provides a wealth of information for women, ranging from learning the basics of computers to IT training and certification.
  • CNET
    Need help getting started with your PC? Looking for developers tips, downloadable software, sources for memory chips, software, peripherals? Look no more! CNET is the place to begin your search.
  • Computer Science Bibliography Collection Database
    Site maintained by Alf-Christian Achilles a Ph.D. student in Computer Science at the University of Karlsruhe in Germany.
  • Computer Vision
    Test images, FTP & Gopher archives, source code, newsgroups, conferences and publications can be found on this site.
  • Developer.com
    This comprehensive site contains a wealth of references (over 150 full-text books online), tools, tutorials, scripts, programs, etc. regarding ActiveX, ASP, C/C++, CGI, HTML/DHTML, Java/Javascript, Perl, Visual Basic, XML and many more.
  • Digital Bibliography & Library Project DBLP
    Provides bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings.
  • Dot What!?
    DotWhat.net is dedicated to providing detailed file extension information. This site is based on a huge database of file extension information, mainly (but not exclusive to) the Microsoft Windows, MAC OS X and Unix based operating systems.
  • Ethics in computing
    Dr. Edward F. Gehringer, associate professor in the Department of Eelectrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University maintains this site. Included in this site are materials on anonymity, chain letters, cybersquatting, vaporware, anticompetetive practices, and encryption exportation.
  • EventSeer
    Searchable library of computer science events. It currently indexes calls for papers (CFPs), proposals, demos, posters, participation, etc. for conferences, journals, books, and tutorials.
  • Font Pool
    Launched in January 1996 Font Pool offers over 1,000 freeware and shareware true-type fonts for all major platforms.
  • Guide to the Web's Best Technical Support Sites
    Here you'll find guides to the very best sites on the web all independently reviewed and rated.
  • InformIT
    InformIT is an online community and technical solutions source. This site has comprehensive information about computer hardware, OS configuration, programming & development, software, networking, and much more.
  • Innovations@Georgia Tech
    Interesting news stories of developments at Georgia Tech such as "wearable computers", "eye on adaptive computing", etc.
  • IT Conversations: New Ideas Through Your Headphones
    Contains dozens of compelling interviews, discussions, and heated debates with a number of fascinating individuals. Some of the themes addressed by these sessions include social innovation, technology development, and global security.
  • Martindale's The Reference Desk
    An incredible resource containing dictionaries (generic and specific), calculators (16,000+), maps, translators and a whole lot more. This site is hosted by the Univ of California-Irvine Library.
  • Multilingual Web at ACF
    New York University's Academic Computing Facility (ACF) provides a wealth of links to worldwide multilingual computing resources.
  • Online Coverters
    A great site linking to other sources for online programs that will convert document, graphic, audio, and video files from one format to another. Check out Zamzar.
  • Really Big.com
    This "complete resource for all Web builders" offers CGI/Java scripts, clipart, buttons and icons. There are over 3,000 resources available from this site as well as 1000+ links to help you to build and maintain your Web site.
  • ResearchIndex (NECI Scientific Literature Digital Library)
    Contains over 5 million citations and over 400,000 documents.
  • Review Booth
    This site contains links to over 5,300 hardware and software product reviews from well known sources.
  • Software Technologies
    A developers resource for resources and tutorials on C++, Corba, Java, Javabeans, Scripts, Server/Client development, Web development, and XML.
  • Techtutorials.net
    TechTutorials is the Internet's only search engine solely dedicated to providing links that "point" directly to the free tutorials and whitepapers across a broad spectrum of computer related topics.
  • Typetester
    This site allows you to see what Mac's and Windows' operating system's defaults are for your chosen fonts, and how those fonts would look like if you change the different defaults.
  • The Universal Troubleshooting Process
    The Universal Troubleshooting Process (UTP) is an abbreviated version of the book Troubleshooting Techniques of the Successful Technologist by Steve Litt. UTP consists of ten steps designed to help modern workers diagnose the system in question and ultimately repair it. The process is very general and can be applied to virtually any well-defined system.
  • World Lecture Hall: Computer Science
    Links to course materials developed by faculty worldwide.
  • Yahoo: Computer Science
      
     
     

    Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
    © 2008 Marquette University

    Description

      Loading content... please wait