Hardware Engineering
General
- Chip Directory
Need a pinout for a particular chip? Chip Directory has that information in its numerically and functionally ordered chip lists. - The Computer Comes Home: a history of personal computing
- Contextual Computing Group
This site from George Tech College of Computingfocuses on the field of contextually-aware, wearable computing systems. - Digital Logic
A very good overview of digital logic for electrical or computer engineering students. - IBM Research
Includes a searchable database. - ExpressCard
The Personal Computer Memory Card International Association, has developed a new standard for removable PC cards (PCMIA). This site has a great deal of information on the ExpressCard, including physical dimensions, performance characteristics, and other specifications. - Hardware Central
This site features opinions, reports, and product reviews on numerous computer related products. - IBM Almaden Research Center
The Almaden Research Center conducts research in the areas of: Computer science software, computer science storage systems, science and technology, services research and WebFountain. - Magnetic Core Memory Principles
Magnetic RAM (MRAM) is a non-volatile memory storage system similar to Flash memory except that it uses less power and switches faster. The website, maintained by a researcher from the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Glasgow, provides some basic information on magnetic memory and binary notation, as well as sections on: the Principle of the Magnetic Memory, The Rectangular Hysterisis Loop, A Magnetic Memory Element, Arrangement of Magnetic Core Memories, Relation between the Decimal and Binary Codes, How Numbers Are Stored in a Memory, How a Binary-Coded Decimal Digit is 'written in,' How a Digit is 'read out,' and a Complete Wiring Diagram of a Matrix Plane. - Maximum Hardware
Created by Michael Verstichelen, an engineering student at McGill University (Montreal, Canada), this site provides up-to-date information on computer hardware performance. - Museum of Computer History
- Old-Computers.com
- SPEC: Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation
SPEC devlopes standardized benchmarks used to measure and compare different computer systems. This site contains downloadable benchmarks and a large database of test results. - Systems Research at Harvard
This website features Systems Research at Harvard University. Projects described focus on distributed computing, sensor networks, file systems, and systems integration. - Top 500 Supercomputer Sites
Updated twice a year this site shows the trends in high-performance computing.
Universal Serial Bus (USB)
- 2.0 Specification
This is a .zip file containing the 650 page specification. Be sure to also view the Errata page (PDF) - Everything USB
News items, forums, faqs, etc. - PortableApps.com
Software applications (apps) that run on USB flash drives. Many of these portable apps have been developed by John T. Haller a leader in the industry. - USB Central
- USB Documentation
This site has various specifications, guidelines, etc. provided by the USB Implementers Forum. - USB Frequently Asked Questions
- USB In a Nutshell
This 30 page PDF explains USB in detail.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait