Social Welfare and Justice: SOWJ 1001

Print and online resources in Social Welfare and Justice.

Need Help?

Find Article @ MU: Sociology & Social Welfare Databases

When entering a search in a database, try entering 2 or more keywords that represent the main concepts of your topic, connecting them with the word AND. For example: "global hunger AND food supply." When you find a relevant article, look at its subject headings and click on those for more articles.

Social Sciences in ProQuest from Proquest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, with some full-text of sources in social science. 1986-present.
Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and some full-text for the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. Includes Social Services Abstracts. Dates of coverage: 1952-present.
SAGE Journals Online from Sage This link opens in a new window
Searches full text articles of SAGE journals (approximately 900 titles). Emphasis on the health and social sciences. 1982 - present.

Find Books @ MU

MARQCAT is the Marquette Libraries catalog. Search for books on a topic using the 'Subject' search or the 'Keyword' search modes. You can also determine if MU Libraries' subscribe to a specific print or electronic journal by entering the title of the journal. However, you cannot use MARQCAT to search for articles within the journals.

Some suggested subject searches:

Poverty
Public Welfare (or Welfare Recipients)
Health Care
Homelessness
Child Welfare (or Child Development)
Hunger
Immigrants (or Emigration and Immigration)

RESEARCH TIP: If you don't find your topic in the Subject search, try your terms as Keyword searches instead. A Keyword search will also pick up books that have a chapter on your topic For example, there is no subject heading for global hunger. But if you do a keyword search of those terms, you will find many books. If you find a book that is dead on, check its subject headings for more books on that topic.

Find Articles @ MU: Cross-Disciplinary Databases

CQ Researcher from CQ Press This link opens in a new window
Original full-text articles on controversial issues and current events. Each includes overview, background and bibliography. Excellent starting point. 1960-present
Issues and Controversies@Facts.com from Facts On File This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains in-depth articles about contemporary controversial issues. Designed for initial research or debate prep. 1995 - present.
This resource (in addition to CQ Researcher) is an EXCELLENT starting point for research on contemporary topics. September 25, 1995 to present.

Think Tanks, Research Institutes, etc.

Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC whose mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research.
The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (Health)
A leader in health policy and communications, the Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
The Shriver Center (Poverty)
The Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law provides national leadership in identifying, developing, and supporting creative and collaborative approaches to achieve social and economic justice for low-income people and communities.
Education Sector
Education Sector is an independent think tank that challenges conventional thinking in education policy.
Rand Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision making through research and analysis. Areas of concentration include such critical social and economic issues as education, poverty, crime, and the environment, as well as a range of national security issues.
Public Agenda
"Helping Americans explore today's issues." Public Agenda is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization. Check out the Issue Guides and the Articles & Speeches.