Why background sources?
Background and fact sources are what libraries often call Reference Books. They can be encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, biographies, etc. These sources provide summaries, explanations, definitions and factual information including important people, events, concepts and terminology. They contain what is generally considered well-established knowledge and can provide a basic understanding in which to fit the more specific information you learn through your research. Exploring your topic in background sources can:
- 'place' the topic within the disciplines involved
- summarize basic concepts and viewpoints
- provide historical context
- identify and define special terms used to discuss the topics
- provide data, facts, formulas, etc. to support your research
Facts & Data
Encyclopedias
A Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
Call Number: Raynor Ref H41 .R41 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 1579580912
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN/ISSN: 9780631216810
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
Britannica Online
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
Call Number: MEM LVL 4 UPPER HV 40 .C635 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0471752223
Click here for Marqcat Record
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Call Number: Raynor Ref HM 671 .E53 2007
Click here for Marqcat Record
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Call Number: Raynor Ref HN 57 .E594 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 0765680459
Click here for Marqcat Record
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
Call Number: Raynor Ref HV 12 .E497 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0761925848
Click here for Marqcat Record
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: Raynor Ref HV 35 .S6
ISBN/ISSN: 0195306619
Click here for Marqcat Record
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict
Call Number: Raynor Ref HM 291 .E625 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 9780123695031
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
Call Number: Raynor Ref HQ 1115 .E43 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0122272455
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
Call Number: Raynor Ref HQ 1236 .R29 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 9781576075814
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
Call Number: MEM LVL 4 UPPER HQ 1061 .H336 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0120883880
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
Social Work Almanac
Call Number: Raynor Ref HV 90 .G53 1995
ISBN/ISSN: 0871012480
Click here for Marqcat Record
Social Work Dictionary
Call Number: Raynor Ref HV 12 .B37 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 087101355X
Click here for Marqcat Record
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
ISBN/ISSN: 0195334027
Click here for Marqcat Record
(Online access available to Marquette University users only)
Subject Librarian |
Research and Instructional Services
Raynor Memorial Libraries
1355 W. Wisconsin Ave
P.O. Box 3141
Milwaukee, WI 53201-3141
414-288-1995
414-288-8821
Send Email
Subjects:
Funding Information, Social Work
Need Help?
IM a Librarian:
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian:
Call the Information Desk at
414.288-7556
Email a Librarian:
Email the Information Desk at
askus@marquette.edu
Request an Appointment:
Research Consultation
Stop by In-person:
Service Hours
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait