"Mental illnesses are medical conditions that disrupt a person's thinking, feeling, mood, ability to relate to others and daily functioning.  Mental illnesses can affect persons of any age, race, religion, or income. Mental illnesses are treatable."  This guide includes selected resources that provide information on mental illness for patients, family members, and friends.  Please contact Martha Jermé if you have comments, questions or suggestions.

National Alliance on Mental Illness.  Retrieved June 29, 2010 from http://www.nami.org/Content/NavigationMenu/Inform_Yourself/About_Mental_Illness/About_Mental_Illness.htm

American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry - For Families
Includes a glossary, statistics, resource centers, expert videos, ParentsMedGuide, and a Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist Finder.

American Psychological Association
Topics include aging, anxiety, bipolar disorder, depression, and workplace issues.

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance
Subject categories include In Crisis, Signs & Symptoms, Just Diagnosed, Recovery Steps, and Helping a Loved One.  Also includes information on support groups, "Find a Pro", and the DBSA Wellness Tracker.

HealthyMinds.org
Includes a blog, brochures, and other resources from the American Psychiatric Association covering the signs of mental disorders, treatment options, and prevention.

MedlinePlus: Mental Health and Behavior
Links to information on signs and symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and coping for a broad range of mental health disorders.

Mental Health America
Includes information on mental health and disorders, getting help, and advocacy.

National Alliance on Mental Illness
Provides information on mental illnesses, programs and services for people with mental illness, and support groups for those affected by mental illness.

National Institute of Mental Health - Health Topics
Provides information on mental health disorders and their treatments.

National Mental Health Information Center
Includes online publications on mental health topics, a mental health services locator, and hotline numbers for English and Spanish language assistance.

MARQCAT, the Marquette Libraries catalog, lists books, DVDs, videos, and CDs the library owns in print or electronic format.

To locate additional resources, enter relevant keywords, for example, depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, etc.

More search options

Consumer Health Complete
Includes evidence-based reports, encyclopedias and other reference books, pamphlets, news, drug and herb information, images and diagrams, and videos and animations on diseases, conditions, and procedures.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Includes the full-text of almost 80 consumer health magazines, over 1000 pamphlets, and over 130 health reference books.  Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  Off-campus access restricted to individuals with current MU ids.

Other Health Sciences Databases