E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

History 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Full-text Collections

JSTOR
   Multi-disciplinary collection of primarily American academic journals.

Military & Government Collection
   Journals pertaining to all aspects of the military and government.

Periodicals Archive Online
   Multidisciplinary and multilingual collection with coverage ending in 1995.   

Project Muse
   Journals primarily in the humanities published by Johns Hopkins

Fuente Academica
   Multi-disciplinary collection of Spanish-language academic journals.

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

First Stop Gateways

America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts are the best places to get started finding historical articles in academic journals.  Both of them contain some full text, although they are primarily indexes.  For items that are not full-text enter the title of the journal or book into the title field of MARQCAT to see if we have it.  Both AH&L and HA index articles, book reviews, and dissertations.  Try the Quick Search link in this box if you're not sure where to start or if you have a multidisciplinary topic.

America: History & Life
   For scholarship on the United States and Canada.

Historical Abstracts
   For scholarship on the rest of the world outside of the United States and Canada.  Since coverage begins with scholarship on the early modern era (about 1400 onward), you will need to consult other sources for the middle ages.  See box below.

Quick Search in History and Political Science
   This feature searches several databases in history and political science at the same time, including AH&L and HA.  Be sure to check the box by History & Political Science before you search.

See Citation TrackingFind Articles by Geographic Area and Middle Ages below.

 

Citation Tracking

Historians have often found books and articles by looking for items cited in other relevant sources. This traditional research process has been automated in the several databses below.  Explore this function in each one.  Arts and Humanities Citation Index is the most comprehensive, but also the hardest to use.  Click on Cited Reference Search and use the Help menu.

America: History & Life
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Historical Abstracts
JSTOR
Google Scholar

 

Find Articles by Geographic Area

Africa 
Asia
Europe 
Latin America 
Middle East and Mediterranean 
United States

 

Middle Ages

International Medieval Bibliography
   This is the standard gateway to medieval studies.

Iter
   Idexes scholarly materials on both the middle ages and the Renaissance.

 
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar offers an eclectic but rich range of scholarship.  To see if Marquette has an item search on the title of the book or journal in MARQCAT.

Google Scholar

 

Frequently Used Journals

These are journals consulted regularly by Marquette history faculty specializing in particular areas.  Go to the tab for an area and move your cursor over the drop-down arrow on the right.  Click on Frequently Used Journals.

 

AHA Guide

The AHA Guide to Historical Literature will get you started on any time period anywhere in the world.  The link is to both online and print versions.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait