Need Help?
IM a Librarian
AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443
Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556
Note
These Web sites are also available under the tabs for regions. Move your cursor over the drop-down arrow for the region you want and click on Web sites.
Selected Web Sites
Africa
Asia
Europe
Latin America
Mideast and Mediterranean (+Ancient World)
United States
AdmiNet's African Resources
Based in France, AdmiNet provides an excellent gateway to internet resources in French, English, and other languages. It lists general sites as well as those by country and selected topics.
Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources
Developed by a subgroup of the African Studies Association and operated by Stanford University Libraries, this metasite organizes items by region, country, and 35 various topics. It also offers links to book dealers, discussion groups, libraries, and archives.
African National Congress
The African national Congress reproduces an impressive array of documents on its homepage, including letters, constitutions, photographs, speeches, and constitutions.
African Studies WWW Virtual Library
Maintained by Columbia University, this gateway has links to electronic journals and newspapers, an international directory of African Studies scholars, bibliographies, libraries, and organizations. It also organizes links by region and country.
Afrique francophone
Although based at Lehman College of CUNY, this site is in French and concentrates on Francophone Africa. Its sites are organized by topics and countries.
Digital Imaging Project of South Africa
Based at the University of Natal, this project provides online access to three journals central to the struggle against Apartheid between 1960 and 1990—Clarion Call, Pro Veritae, and Sas. Digitizing of additional journals is planned.
ELDIS African Resources
Operated by the Institute of Development Studies at the University of Sussex in the UK, ELDIS provides links to documents produced by research instiutes and international organizations. In addition, it lists organizations, news sources, bibliographies, and libraries.
H-AFRICA Home Page
This site is maintained by H-Net Humanities and Social Sciences Online based at Michigan State University. H-Net supports numerous List-Servs, including the 7 on Africa accessible through this home page. These List-Servs promote international discussion through e-mail.
General and Transnational Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library AsiaSource Association for Asian Studies PAIR: Portal to Asian Internet Resources National Bureau of Asian Research Central Asia Central Asia Caucasus Analyst Harvard Forum for Central Asian Studies East and Southeast Asia Bibliography of Japanese History up to 1912 China Bibliography Council on East Asian Libraries (CEAL) Homepage East and Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources Korean History: A Bibliography UCLA Center for East Asian Studies Women in Chinese History South Asia Digital Dictionaries of South Asia Gateway to the Subcontinent: The Digital South Asia Library SARAI: South Asian Resource Access on the Internet
This comprehensive site is an excellent place to begin any online research on Asian subjects. It conveniently breaks down its material by regions and individual countires.
The Asia Society has built a comprehensive source for news and resources on Asian culture, business, politics, and history. Historians should consult its "AsiaLinks" and then "Society & History."
The largest organization of academics studying Asia, the Association provides an online gateway to the field. Be sure to click on the "Bibliography of Asian Studies Online" and "Links & Resources."
Supported by three large mid-western university libraries, this catalog of internet resources offers sophisticated search options. All entries are annotated, and users can save entries and email them to themselves.
The Bureau is a non-profit organization promoting research on policy-relevant issues in Asia. Its site has a searchable index of over 300 Asia-related research institutions as well as a fair number of full-text publications.
Published by an institute affiliated with Johns Hopkins, this online journal aims to "link the business, governmental, journalistic and scholarly communities." Each issue has short articles, reports, and news.
The Forum concentrates on the Central Asian countries formerly part of the Soviet Union. Be sure to click on its gateway to the field located at the bottom of the first page—"The Central Asian Studies World Wide Website."
This excellent bibliography was produced by Prof. Peter Kornicki of Cambridge University in 1996.
Produced by Marilyn Shea of the University of Maine, this bibliography includes reference resources as well as links to sites organized by topics and ruling dynasties.
Created by East Asian librarians in North America, this site contains useful "Guides to Research on East Asia." When you look at them be sure to check out the online journals.
Maintained by the University of Redlands, this site is easy to navigate, organizing its links by country and by political, historical, and cultural topics. The annotations help in selection.
Produced by Kenneth R. Robinson of the University of Hawaii, this bibliography includes sources on political, economic, diplomatic, and cultural history.
Standing out on this site is its annotated guide to Asian Studies journals. See also its links to statistics on Asia, K-12 curriculum materials, full-text historical documents, and films.
Produced at the University of Maine, this bibliography organizes its entries alphabetically by author.
A consortium of universities is creating online dictionaries of 26 South Asian languages. They can be downloaded for free.
Major libraries in the United States and South Asia, particularly India, are jointly creating online information sources on the region. The project promises to build the main gateway for information on South Asia.
Sponsored by Columbia University, this site organizes its items by region, country, and current "hot topics" It also has links to libraries, organizations journals and newspapers, as well as a directory of South Asia scholars.
General and Transnational, including Middle Ages
ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies
Based at the University of Illinois-Urbana, this site covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations, and selected government documents.
Cold War International History Project
Supported by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, this site publishes transcribed versions of documents from previously inaccessible archives in Russia, Eastern Europe, and China.
Eighteenth-Century Resources
This multi-disciplinary site provides a window into the culture and history of eighteenth-century Europe and America. You can search it by key word or explore subject categories such as art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science.
Encyclopedia of 1848 Revolutions
Compiled by Prof. James Chastain of Ohio University, this site contains articles written by scholars from around the world on the European upheavals of 1848. Entries include bibliographies.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
This site organizes its documents by two large sets--"Medieval and Renaissance" and then "Europe as a Super-national Region," followed by chronological listings for the continent's several countries. No country is missing, not even the Vatican, but the holdings on each varies greatly.
IEG Maps: Digital Maps on German and European History
The Institute of European History in Mainz, Germany, provides free downloadable historical maps on modern central European history.
ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarly materials on the Renaissance (1300-1700) and the Middle Ages (400-1500) published in over 300 journals since the 1840s. The site has ambitious plans for expansion.
Labyrinth
Georgetown University's sophisticated guide to medieval studies allows searching by key words and subject categories. It also has links to bibliographies, pedagogical resources, professional organizations, and online texts and images.
ORB: On-Line Reference Book for Medieval Studies
Created by teachers, "ORB" includes an encyclopedia of peer-reviewed articles, as well as sources and guides for teaching, links to related Web sites, and primary sources especially useful in teaching.
World War I
The BBC has put up this huge, multi-media site. Of special interest are primary sources in the form of letters, radio clips, and newsreels.
World War II: Primary Documents
Southern Methodist University offers this collection of over 500 government documents on World War II. The site has a sophisticated search utility. Includes links to other sites.
France
Cataloque Collectif de France
Supported by the French Ministries of Culture and Education plus the Bibliotheque National de France, the CCFR allows searches by institution and by document. Currently information on 3,900 institutions is provided, and over two million documents can be searched.
Histoire de France: The WWW Virtual Library
This gateway is an excellent place to begin research. It organizes over 600 sites by historical periods, themes, and types of sources, such as gataeways, search engines, and databases. It also has links to libraries, archives, museums, and journals.
H-France Home Page
One of H-Net's many listservs, H-France offers e-mail discussion, course syllabi, bibliographies, links to Web sites, and a searchable archive of its discussions.
Napoleon Series
The International Napoleonic Society offers an attractive site with three major sections. "Military" provides encyclopedic coverage of battles. "Research" has bibliographies and articles. The third section reviews publications of all types, including electronic, on Napoleon.
Germany
H-German Home Page
In addition to its ongoing discussion, this listserv provides reviews, links to relevant sites, including archives, and some primary documents.
History of Germany: Primary Documents
Based at Brigham Young University, this site has an extensive set of primary documents, some translated into English. Its coverage begins with the fall of the Roman Empire.
Holocaust Memorial Museum
This well organized site by the United States Memorial Museum has an impressive number of archival materials available for downloading, including photographs. It also includes valuable teaching materials.
Primary Sources in German Research Libraries
This site provides links to freely accessible primary sources put on the Web by German Research Libraries. It is sponosred by the libraries of the University and State of Goettingen.
Virtual Library Geschichte
The most comprehensive gateway to German history, this site organizes its links by epoch, geography, and theme. Also included are descriptions of periodicals, a guide to history departments, and a database of the contents of journals and collections of essays.
Great Britain
British History From 1800 by BUBL Information Service
Maintained at Strathclyde University in Scotland, this gateway provides an annotated list of excellent sites from libraries, museums, universities, and organizations of educators. Highlights include an index to the Quarterly Review and a collection of over 52,000 images.
British Library
This homepage of The British Library introduces you to its catalog and other services.
British Newspapers Online
The British Library plans to offer selected portions of its immense historic newspaper collection to the public online. It started with seven dailes, such as the Daily News and Manchester Guardian. There's more to come.
British Official Publications Collaborative Reader
This collaborative project of numerous research libraries provides a catalog of 16,000 key official documents from 1833 through 1983. The project plans to provide locations and abstracts for all its documents as well as reproduce selected ones full-text.
H-Albion Home Page
Besides its ongoing e-mail discussion list, this site provides reviews, announcements, course syllabi, and links to related sites.
Victorian Web
This encyclopedia of 19th-century Britain offers essays, primary sources, time lines, bibliographies and images. Its excellent search engine makes it easy to use. See also the "Victoria Research Web" listed on the BUBL site noted above.
Italy
Medici Archive Project
This project is putting the archives of Medici Grand Duke Cosimo on the Web. Occupying almost a kilometer of shelf space, this huge archive has never before been catalogued or indexed.
World Wide Web Virtual Library - Italian History Index - Home Page
This site offers a wealth of sites organized by chronoloogy, geography, and topic. There are also guides to Italian search engines, libraries, universities, and maps.
Russia
H-Russia Home Page
Like other H-Net groups, H-Russia offers teaching aids including bibliographies, reviews, guides to links, and a searchable archive of its discussions.
Russian and East European Network Information Center
Based at the University of Texas at Austin, this site organizes its sources by country and type of information, such as Current News, Libraries & Archives, and Databases. It is excellent for the newly independent states formerly included in the Soviet Union.
Russian and East European Studies (REESWeb)
Comprehensive and well-maintained, this gateway based at the University of Pittsburgh offers information by type, country, and discipline, such as Government and Politics, Business, Economics, and Law.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
A standard resource since the Library of Congress began publishing it in 1935, the Handbook provides entries on anthropology, art, economics, geography, government and politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. The entire run of the Handbook is available on this sophisticated site.
H-LatAm
H-LatAm is "an international forum for the scholarly discussion of Latin American History." Its site includes book reviews; online resources such as research papers, bibliographies, and syllabi; and a set of links to related Web sites.
Latin American and Caribbean Government Documents Project
Maintained by Cornell University's library, this site "organizes and describes the many Latin American Caribbean official documents appearing on the Internet." It lists them by country and type of information and document.
Latin American Network Information Center
This gateway to Internet sources on Latin America links the user to reference information, full-text periodicals, library catalogs, books, other Web sites, and more. It has an excellent set of sites organized by country.
Mexico History Directory
This comprehensive site includes links to sites on major events and personages in Mexican history, as well as documents, including the constitution of the federal government and individual states.
United States-Mexican War
Created to accompany a PBS series, this site includes text and images and links to related Web sites.
Diotoma: Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Both students and scholars can profit from this well-designed site, which includes bibliographies, essays, translations of texts, visual images, and couse syllabi on women and gender in the ancient world.
Exploring Ancient World Cultures
This site provides introductions to the Ancient Near East, Ancient India, Ancient Egypt, Ancient China, Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, Early Islam, and Medieval Europe. Its essays and bibliographies are good overviews for undergraduates.
Islamic Studies, Islam, Arabic, and Religion
Prof. Alan Godlas of the University of Gerogia provides scholarly resources divided into twelve subject areas, such as maps, women, history, the Qur'an. He annotates his links.
MENALIB: Middle East Virtual Library
Over six international libraries, coordinated by the University and State Library Saxony-Anhalt-Halle, provide this virtual library of materials on the Middle East and North Africa. Promises to be a major gateway.
Oriental Institute: Map Series
The University of Chicago's prestigious Oriental Institute has put up maps of the ancient Near East including Egypt, Sudan, The Levant, Syria, Turkey, Iraq, and Iran. The maps include archaeological sites, modern cities, and river courses.
Oriental Institute: Recommended Readings on the Ancient Near East
The Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago has set up a bibliography of introductory readings on the Ancient Near East. They are grouped under Ancient Egypt, Ancient Nubia, and Ancient Mesopotamia.
Perseus Project
This highly-regarded site provides a gateway into classical studies, with a concentration on ancient Greece. Its resources include guides to Greek art and archeology as well as to ancient Greek texts and scholarly literature.
Roman Empire in the First Century
This companion site to a PBS series provides information on everything from Roman divorce and marriage laws, to Caesar's murder to Ovid's poems. Also contains a timeline and lesson plans.
African-American Mosaic
The Library of Congress's gateway into its collections on African-American history provides acccess to books, periodicals, prints, photographis, music, film, and recorded sound. Its sources cover 500 years of history.
American Family Immigration History Center at Ellis Island
This massive government-supported site contains the records of 22 million passengers and ship crew members who passed through Ellis Island between 1892 and 1924. Free registration is required to use the database.
American Indian History and Culture: H-AMINDIAN
A joint project of H-NET and Arizona State University, this site offers a gateway into its subject, incliding links, discussion lists, book reviews, and news of the field.
"American Memory Project" of the Library of Congress
This huge database includes photos, sound recordings, film, and texts on American history from the Library of Congress's unparalleled collections. The various collections in American Memory are individually catalogued in MARQCAT.
American Revolution: National Discussions of our Revolutionary Origins
Created by H-NET to complement a PBS series, this site offers a selected bibliography, scholarly essays, maps, images, documents, and secondary sources. Also includes links to colonial history.
American Women's History: A Research Guide
This is an excellent bibliographical guide for graduate students and advanced undergraduates. Contains citations for sources only in print as well as links to Web sites. It also has sections on strategies for finding additional material.
Annotated Constitution
Contains annotated references to Supreme Court decisions about the meaning of the constitution, arranged by constitutional provisions.
Asian-Americans: Ancestors in the Americas
This companion to a PBS series provides sites on the history of Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, Pacific Islander, and Southeast Asians who settled in the New World.
Census Data Browser
The University of Virginia Libraries have created an easily browsed site providing census data on the people and economy of each state and county from 1790 to 1960.
Center for Military History
The army's extensive site has a well organized bibliography on all aspects American military history. Also included are finding aids and references to related Web sites.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
The Library of Congress plans to provide access to documents and debates of Congress from 1774 to 1875.
Children in Urban America
A project based at Marquette's History Department produced this site. It provides primary sources from over 150 years on children in Milwaukee. Bibliographies are also included. For scholarly and general users.
Civil War Center at LSU
This comprehensive site on the American Civil War provides access to archives, biographies, documents, and other Web sites.
Documenting the American South
Based at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this site offers primary source materials "documenting the cultural history of the American South from the viewpoint of Southerners." It includes diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, travel accounts, and narratives on slavery.
Gilded Age and Progressive Era
The Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (H-SHGAPE) provides a gateway to American history between 1877 and 1918. Its links are to both primary and secondary sources.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
Paul Halsall of Fordham University provides links to general history pages, collections of textual material, museums, and archives. Some of this material is difficult to find on most U.S. history sites.
Literature and Culture of the American 1950s
Designed to support a course at Penn State, this site provides an excellent collection of 1950s literature and iconography. Its resources range from posters to court cases, all of which can be searched by key word.
Making of America: Cornell University
Offering primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this site includes nineteenth-century books and journal articles on education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. These are different sources from MOA below.
Making of America: University of Michigan
Offering primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, this site includes nineteenth-century books and journal articles on education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. These are different sources from MOA above.
National Archives
Gateway to the vast holdings of the Archives. Many items can be retrieved electronically.
National Security Archive
Sponsored by George Washington University, this extraordinary site publishes digital versions of declassified government documents. This is not a U.S. government funded project.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
This is a Web version of the standard resource for finding manuscript materials. Its more up-to-date than the print edition.
NativeWeb
NativeWeb addresses the history and culture of indigenous peoples in the Americas, Europe, New Zealand, and Australia. Information is arranged by subject, geographic region, nation/people, language, education, law and legal issues, and literature.
Naval History Bibliography Series
The Naval Historical Center provides six bibliographies on all aspects of the U.S. Navy's history, including Desert Storm.
New Deal Network: the Great Depression and the Roosevelt Administration
Columbia University Teacher College has developed this guide for undergraduate research. It provides 700 articles, speeches, and letters organized by subject, date, and author. Also includes over 4,000 images.
Sixties Project and Viet Nam Generation
An excellent introduction to the sixties for undergraduates, this site offers a wide range of secondary and primary sources. The latter include an extensive set of personal narratives.
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
This project interweaves the histories of two communities on either side of the Mason-Dixon line during the era of the American Civil War. It combines a narrative and an electronic archive of the sources on which the narrative is based.
Vietnam War: Ed Moise Bibliography
This is a comprehensive annotated bibliography on all aspects of the Vietnam War, organized into broad subject cateogries. Its coverage begins in World War II.
Virtual Library: United States History
This excellent gateway sponsored by the University of Kansas provides an overview and guide to US history. Its numerous sites are divided into Research Tools, Historical Topics, and Chronological Periods.
Wars for Viet Nam, 1945-1975
This site contains invaluable primary documents, some of which are difficult to obtain any other way. It also includes bibliographies and descriptions of Vietnamese geography, history, and culture.
Wisconsin Electronic Reader
This site is brimming with primary sources and information on the history of Wisconsin. It is produced by the State Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin in honor of the state's Sesquicentennial.
Wisconsin Labor History Bibliography
Sponsored by the Wisconsin Labor History Society, this site provides an introduction to research on workers, unions, and work in Wisconsin. The bibliography can be arranged by author, title, subject, or location.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait