E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
E-ReferenceFrequently Used JournalsPrimary SourcesWeb Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
test

   Click here for Raynor Memorial 
      Home Page

Research Guides

Ask A Librarian | Class Reserves (Ares) | Databases | MARQCAT
Click here for 
      Marquette University Home Page

History 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.marquette.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Global/World History             Print Page
  

Quick Library Links

Need Help?

IM a Librarian

AIM: askraynor
Yahoo: askraynor
MSN: askus@marquette.edu
Google: askraynor
ICQ: 385748443

Phone a Librarian: 414.288.7556

Email a Librarian

Research Consultation

 
 

Welcome to a new historical field

Global or World History has emerged as a distinct field within the last thirty to forty years.  Commonly using a comparative approach, it analyzes the interactions among peoples throughout the globe over considerable periods of time.  For useful and short introductions see the entries under "World History" in the two reference books below, both of which are in the Raynor Reference Collection.  They have useful bibliographies.

Michael Bentley, ed., Companion to Historiography (1997), D13 .C626 1997

Kelly Boyd, ed., Encyclopedia of Historians & Historical Writing (1999), D14 .E53 1999

See also the AHA Guide to Historical Literature, which is an bibliography of historical writing about all areas of the world.

 

Find Books

For detailed instructions on finding relevant books see the "Find Books" tab in this Guide.  Here are a few extra tips.

Do a Subject search in MARQCAT on world history. You will get over 150 hits.  Use the "Limit or Sort Items" button along the top of the screen to arrange them in reverse chronological order or to add another search term.

Do author searches on people noted in the bibliographies of works noted in the box above.

 

Find Articles

For detailed instructions on finding relevant articles click on the "Find Articles" tab of this Guide.  Here are a few extra tips.

Use the database Historical Abstracts.  Go to the Advanced screen and then change the top search window to Subject.  A Subject search on World History will get you over 2,000 hits.  Limit them by entering keywords in the windows below, such as the name of a country or ethnic group.  Don't change the character of these lower search windows.

 

Find Primary Sources

Put your cursor over the drop-down arrow in this tab and then click on Primary Sources.  For more detailed suggestions see the "Primary Sources" tab in this research guide.

 

Raynor Memorial Libraries | 1355 W Wisconsin Avenue | Milwaukee WI 53233 | (414) 288-7556 Info Desk
© 2008 Marquette University

Description

  Loading content... please wait